We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time disappointed in Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chanalai Flora Resort
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mondorf-les-bains, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“first time disappointed in Thailand”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We came from Koh Samui, we we stayed at le Le Murraya (great hotel) to spend the rest of our vacation on Kata.
We stayed in Serene Resort from 27.12.2013 til 31.12,2013 i an superdeluxe room whatever that means. ohmy, we travel a lot in Asia and this seems to be worst hotel i have stayed so far, hostels were 5 star hotels compared in cleaninless of the room and friendliness of the staff.
Pro: i have to think hard to fine any..maybe the fact that we had a connecting room with my kids. Breakfast was good, transfert to airport was ok as well
Cons: i dont kow where to beginn there are so many...
1)frontdesk: unfriendly, unpersonal...their smartphones were more important than caring about their customers. Keep your reservation at hand as theirs showed wrong booking date.
2)instrucions only in russian as the hotel seems gear towards russian tourists 98 % (nice people by the way) warnings everwhere, do not this, do not do that or else you will pay.... if you loose your key 3000 baht, if you loose your bathtowel 400 bath, no swimmingpool after 7 pm.. forgodsake.. we are paying customer on vacation, if break or loose something just charge us. 3) our rooms: no 3102 and 3103 on arrival it was so dirty and filthy i cannot describe...stained bedsheet and old damp bathtowels. The shower...moldy and dirty.. well i should have taken pictures. roomsafe was so flimsy that i trusted more my locked luggage. wifi was free but connection was so bad in room that it was anyway useless.
4)pool: i didnt dare to swimm in it as the water seems to cloudy to be safe. Supposed to have 2 pools but only one available as they had built a stage on of them (just great in peak season)
5)the cesspit smell everywhere: corridor to our room, ... the worst, the entrance to their restaurant....definetly something wrong with their epuration system.
6)Tv had three channels from which one was russian.
After all these cons, why did we stay there?.. well we made a non-refundable booking for 4 nights as they had good room rates.
We got fooled by the good tripadvisor reviews and i think only the bad ones applies to this hotel. Not recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anton_Isa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacelle_Jazzy, Guest Relations Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for giving review to our hotel. We want to say sorry for disappointment that we gave you at the moment you spend your holiday in Phuket. It will helps us to improve more and enhance our services to meet your satisfaction and also for our upcoming guests. We are thankful that you tells us what we should improved and maintained about our services. We 're still hoping to see you again soon. Good day and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    191
    82
    41
    24
See reviews for
143
214
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a disappointment... There is nothing nice to say about this hotel!!! Dirty,dirty,dirty.... It's disgusting... When we first arrived I was so tired that I haven't noticed the dirty lobby and corridor with dirty plates few days old outside the room... Than after I saw my room I understood... The sheets were all stained.. I don't know what was that but was really unpleasant... Floor, dirty with sand and dust... Bathroom really bad.... There was also a previous customer (I think) toothbrush inside the shower! We went immediately at the front desk asking to change the sheets and blankets.... They did it, but we couldn't notice the difference.... So we decided to leave it and make the most out of it! It's a real pity because the building and the rooms are really big. The bathroom could be a room by itself... When we booked we asked for a room with pool view... But we had a view concrete wall! The location is ok, but you need to rent a motorbike or take a taxi anyway if you want to go visit, Karon, Patong, Kata Noi etc....
I do not recommend it ....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacelle_Jazzy, Guest Relations Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for giving review to our hotel. We want to say sorry for disappointment that we gave you at the moment you spend your holiday in Phuket. It will helps us to improve more and enhance our services to meet your satisfaction and also for our upcoming guests. We are thankful that you tells us what we should improved. We 're still hoping to see you again soon. Good day and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Every one seem to know this hotel as Serena Resort not Tropical Serene Resort. It's not quite like the photos as well. Rooms are dated and not very well maintained. Pool water didn't look very clean. The breakfast was OK, however you have to get their before 9am before the food is gone. Food seems to be Russian orientated and the resort is full of Russian Groups. Staff not overly helpful.

Room Tip: Pay bit more and look else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

if you are thinking a nice relaxed beach away from the bustle of Patong,
Kata is a great happening & beautiful beach.
And Serene is only a short wander away. . past plenty of shops & restaurants!

Our stay at Serene was only a short 4 nights, but we loved the place.
Small enough to care and cater for your needs, but big enough to get away from the crowds
& tourists!

We had an issue with the TV reception on the only english channel we could find,
the manager was kind enough to offer us an upgrade. .

breakfast was great. . .plenty of options. . . .but a visit to one of the local coffee houses is recommended if you want a decent brew!

We thought Serene was both good value & an excellent choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed 3 weeks @ Serene Resort located round the corner from main road old resort but quiet & clean, room staff excellent, expecially Noi who cleaned our rooms she went out of her way to help my 33 year old daughter and son for several days when she was sick, 2 pools swim up bar & spa, buffet breakfast great variety, short walk to minimarkets ATMS unlimited choice of restaurants great shopping for everything We strolled down to Kata Beach daily for early morning swim water was magic not many at beach then. Only complaint large group of loud Russians who liked to party to all hours of the morning. Many people complained but they continued. Excellent spot away from the noise and main shops etc would go back there & recommend it good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SZQOOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for three nights, front desk was not helpful in booking any activities, they just handed the phone to us, you are better of going to town to one of the booking agencies which are great. Room was not very clean, sheets were stained. No wifi in the guest rooms you have to sit in the lobby. However it is centrally located in Kata Beach and very cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spent 1 night at this hotel before we proceed to Phi Phi, my review as follows:

1) Location:
Approximately an hour journey from Phuket Airport, this hotel is located on higher ground with plenty of shops nearby including 24 hrs minimarket. Kata beach is about 5 minutes walk the most with plenty of restaurants along the way.

2) Check in and Hotel Building:
Very small lobby, doesnt look classy at all. Hotel building is old. They have 2 swimming pools - the pools look ok/normal. As the hotel is located on higher ground, one need to climb/walk-up few stairs to get to their respective room/block. However, this is still manageable, stairs are not challenging even for elderly couples. Check in was fast. Welcome drink is too sweet for my liking. Not refreshing at all.

3) Deluxe Room:
Very spacious, Nice deco using solid woods. Bathroom is very clean. Our room balcony overlooking Kata Beach. Overall, the room is good and clean.

4) Wifi:
Strong/Reasonable signal and speed throughout the resort and it is free.

5) Buffet Breakfast:
Quite good spread considering the room price that we are paying.

6) Staff Performances:
Quite friendly mostly - as expected in Thailand.

Overall, for the price we are paying (under USD35), definitely this resort is brilliant and totally worth the price. This resort is not posh nor luxury but is a simple, clean and relaxing hotel overall. Strong 3 star resort in my opinion.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have ocean view. They have elevators too in their building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FrenchRemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#26 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Flora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Flora Resort

Property: Chanalai Flora Resort
Address: 175 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Flora Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in an impressively beautiful province like Phuket, the Tropical Serene Resort is the perfect choice.Ideally located in the area adjacent to idyllic Kata Beach, the resort is in a distinctive setting in the heart of popular tourist venues and beautiful beaches.From the moment you step into our resort, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our hospitable staff. Elegantly designed for a superb vacation with your family members amid the natural beauty, the resort offers a wide array of facilities that will make your stay relaxing as much as possible. During the day you can relax in our two outdoor swimming pools and let the water soothe and refresh you.Whatever your purpose of visit is, the Tropical Serene Resort will definitely be the excellent alternative for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chanalai Flora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hotel Kata Beach
Serene Resort Kata
Chanalai Flora Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing