We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, 5-10 July, low season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I was having my doubts about the driver being there to pick us up since I had forgotten to re-establish comms with Mom Tri's, prior to us flying, to ensure they'd still have a driver for us at the airport. Well, they did. Absolutely no issue there. Taxi ride is kinda trippy and at first you're thinking where are we going? Pull up to the front, they grab your bags and you're treated with a cool towel and refreshment to relax a bit. Checking in was quick, and they guide you to your room while describing and pointing the layout of the premise. The beach wing suite first impression is great. Clean, smells good, room is already cool, no sand on the floor, etc. The bed is a true california king, and comfy. Everything is as you'd expect and/or have read about from other reviews. The view is what takes you first. Detail detail detail. Mom Tri's Villa Royale does pay attention to detail. For example, one of my pet peeve's is getting out of the shower with the bottoms of my feet still slightly wet, but stepping on a dirty floor with bits/crumbs of sand, dirt, hair, or whatever which makes the bottom of my foot feel "crumby", so to speak. Any way, the amount of time we spent at the beach and the sand we brought in, after every turn-down service they did a great job to the smallest speck of sand in the farthest corner of the room...literally.

Staff keeping your mini-fridge stocked with water was a non-issue. Able to smoke on balcony; ashtray was always empty upon returning after turn down. Staff always had a nice GENUINE smile, warm welcomed and would stop what they were doing to acknowledge you and to let you pass by...not those fake smiles that is all too frequently displayed on the faces of hospitality business employees nowadays.

Pools, great. Pool bar, even better. However, I couldn't imagine how'd it be during the high season, but don't expect anything but the 1st drink to come to you...you have to go get it. You know, for the fast sippers who's average turnaround time for a drink is 15min or less. Well after you order the 1st one, they'll bring it to you, but just don't expect someone to come by and ask if you'd like another. So either order two at a time, or anticipate putting a groove into the ground's path from you to the bar. If you drink. Like a fish. Or have an excuse to.

Anywho, I'd recommend walking a short distance down the road to stock up on snacks, soda, beer or whatever's your fancy. About 4 times cheaper.

Dinner, was good. Wished you hung out at the cocktail bar for happy hour more often (only 1 night). Don't be shy with taking more than 1 towel with you to the beach. And having seats on the beach is a plus. Again, were there during low season so I could only imagine how crazy it'd be during the high season.

The spa was good too, relaxing, fell asleep. Wife couldn't take full advantage for she's pregnant, so I got to take her 1hr free massage in addition to mine. She got a pedicure, manicure & facial. All in all, great locale, no stress, beach is a 'jump off the balcony' away, same with pools, and everything else is a short walk away.

Room Tip: Beach wing suite #17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FUJI_Akira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

Mom Tri Villa Royale exceeded all our expectations – and then some! We stayed for 8 nights in July and can’t wait to return.

It was luxurious, intimate, and friendly. Every meal was a celebration – mind-blowing Thai flavors served in elegant surroundings no more than a few meters from the crashing ocean.
The architecture and gardens have been designed with peace and serenity in mind – wherever you look your eyes are treated to a feast. The excellent massages were well worth the premium.

Our room was jaw droppingly lovely – occasionally we had to close the door as the sound from the sea was so loud.

Pity about the rubbish in the sea – but that doesn’t detract from the wonder of the hotel

We absolutely loved it and can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonAnstey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed at Mom Tri's in July 2011 for 10 days. Although it was low-season, I found it difficult to book consecutive nights either on the hotel website or other sites, however with a bit of work I was able to do so and was glad I made the effort.

Mom Tri's is a unique place in Phuket, which seems to cater mainly for package tourists staying at large resorts, or backpackers. Mom Tri's, by contrast, feels like you are staying at someone's own villa and the small number of rooms and friendly staff increase that feeling. It really is an oasis amongst the tourist traps and sunburned holiday-makers.

Situated on a headland between Kata Noi and Kata Yai beaches, Mom Tri's overlooks the ocean and provides quick access to Kata Noi. It also has 2 small fresh water and one larger saltwater pools. A very generous buffet breakfast is provided, and the day spa and restaurant are top notch (if somewhat pricey). You really don't need to leave! If you do want to get out of the villa however, the reception staff are only too happy to organise tours and day trips.

Rooms are generous, the beds enormous (if a little hard, as in many parts of Asia) and balcony views incredible. The villa gardens are also pleasant and calming. At no time do you feel like you are surrounded by other resorts or tourists. While the decor may seem a little bit dated compared to other hotels, this - in my view - only adds to its character and intimate atmosphere, and I very quickly came to see it as "home" while I was in Phuket. I would thoroughly recommend it and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Keep trying! Check a number of booking sites if you dont initially find rooms free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked a Royal Villa on Agoda for A$245 per night with breakfast.
I can't tell you how excited we were to find we had been upgraded to the Dao a Dung villa ( the one everyone recommends) it occupies one of the best positions in the hotel and it's huge - I could live in it !
Pros
Incredible setting with breathtaking views from our villa , the pools and restaurants.
Delicious, good quality breakfast with magic sea views
Great cocktails at happy hour served in a very atmospheric and classy setting
Fab pools - we tried them all and liked the salt water one best.
Good position - an easy walk to restaurants and the beautiful Kata beach
Amazing villa with lots of room and Thai charachter and a big deck with views....yes Mom Tri's is all about the views
Cons
Service was patchy - they definitely need more staff in the bar and restaurant at night
Staff - most were friendly but the reception staff in particular were cool and aloof - almost making us feel like we weren't good enough to be staying there
The general feel of Mom Tri's is that a lot of fabulously wealthy repeat guests stay there who are big tippers !!
It is very unusual not to get exceptional service in Thailand and this was the only hotel that let us down in that regard
Housekeeping was very patchy too - one night a fab turn down service with treats - the next night....nothing.Room was not overly clean - smeared glass, grubby lounge covers etc.
Very hard bed and lumpy pillows. We did ask for soft pillows and they were much better :)

In summary - yes we would return to Mom Tris for the wonderful setting - it truly is oustanding - but I worry that they are resting on their laurels.
Staff need to be more attentive and friendly - especially considering the villa we stayed in ranges in price from A$500 - 800 per night which puts it into the luxury price bracket

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

dont even think twice - just go! It's super luxury, super stay (had one of the villa's).

Recommendations: for beaches - nice walk outside, but swimming is best to drive to the beach south.
Do the Elefant ride! Do Phi Phi.
Go to the SPA!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Elser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Just back from our second stay at the truly lovely Mom Tri's Villa Royale. 14 days of bliss, beautiful room (Royale Suite), gorgeous views, delicious food and most of all THE fabulous people. Mom Tr's is a very special place, but yet again it was the staff that really made our stay so very memorable. We cannot praise each and every one of them enough. The attention to detail in every area of Mom Tri's is superb.

Mom Tri's Kitchen is just delightful and the marvellous Mang and his staff really are fantasic. The double chocolate mousse cake was thankfully still on the menu and our daughter took full delight in this ! The food is world class and the wine list excellent. Oan in the cocktail bar continued to delight us again and again.

Breakfast was fabulous - lovely choices of delicious food, juices and coffee, made all the better by Reef, Num and A who looked after us (and everyone else) so beautifully.

The Pool Bar overlooking the beautiful Andaman Sea is the perfect place for a pre luncheon cocktail and a casual delicious lunch. Tommy and Thep are treasures.

Dee who seems to be everywhere working so hard is just wonderful, always there with smiles, waves and affection - especially with our daughter - an instant bond there !

Sao and her friends who looked after our room were again so sweet. Amazing elephants and swinging monkeys made from towels were so clever and thoughful. Perfect service as always.

The spa was a tranquil oasis and the Calm Down and just relax massage is just that. Phat is delightful.

Ms Patcharee as always making our reservation so simple and it was lovely to see her smiling face again.

We could go on and on - but quite simply - Mom Tri's is THE BEST, we love it and already making plans to return. Suffice to say, more tears as we left again !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We love this hotel! Other beaches are a nightmare, mom Tri's is great

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylanhunt45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,295 reviews
23.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
838 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,272 reviews
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £131 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing