We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Rarely do you find such beauty; tranquility and proximity for a holiday destination. If you are a busy executive and want a true and relaxing holiday, Mom Tri's is the place for you. Set in an idyllic location; the resort is well known for its terraced architecture which capitalises on the sweeping views and feet on the sand. The magnificent views start in your room and extend from every vantage point in the resort. The terraced design offers hidden pool areas, spa retreats and a short stroll down the stairs to an amazing petite bay. This small and exclusive beach services a handful of resorts. For those keen on shops; it is only a short stroll to an adequate shopping village, which leads into a much busier shopping strip. The staff are incredible and pride themselves on knowing your name; your coffee order and what you would like for breakfast. On day 2; my coffee arrived exactly as I like it and on day 3; having ordered the same omelette two days in a row, on day 3 my omelette arrived without me having to place my order. That is service. My daughter and I are gluten intolerant and we had left the staff with bread for breakfast. On the first evening, the bread arrived at a formal dinner we were having. We were very impressed.

Room Tip: Due to the views; most rooms are great. I had room 16 and that offered a lovely view peeping throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    151
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
135
586
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at Mom Tri's Villa Royale as part of our week long vacation in Thailand. We chose Mom Tri's for a quiet and relaxing holiday. The location, beach and ambience were perfect. The staff were ever smiling, helpful, informative and accommodating. Great views of the Kata Noi beach from the hotel and beach was very accessible. Drivable distances to Patong, Phuket city and viewpoints (Phromthep cape). Great views from the restaurant.

On the downside, the pools were not very clean. We felt the resort is overpriced.

On the whole, it was a memorable trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrikanthMadduri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenaroua, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I chose Mom Tri's Villa Royale for a week of relaxation prior to our family joining us at the JW Marriott Khao Lak. We chose Mom Tri's as we wanted a small resort in a reasonably quiet part of Phuket. We don't believe we could have chosen better - Mom Tri's provided us with a totally relaxing holiday. We loved the fact that it was quiet and that often we had one of the pools to ourselves or shared it with another couple. The pools are small, but the beach is so close if you are after a bigger swimming experience. At this time of year the sea is quite treacherous except for late in the afternoon - strong undertow, so not suitable for small children. Sadly too, the beach wasn't the pristine beach we had hoped for, so we chose to spend most of our time within the resort. The staff were all very polite and so helpful. Although it was often windy outside the resort, it's setting meant that within the resort we were protected from the wind.
We had number 7 Beach Wing suite - great location above the poolside bar, with a large terrace complete with a small fountain, table and chairs and large day bed - the perfect place to relax with a drink or read.
The room was furnished with rich Thai fabrics and artifacts, we felt we were staying with wealthy friends and not in a resort!! The bathroom was possibly a little dated, but that wasn't a concern to us. The site is quite steep and there are many steps, so it wouldn't be ideal for those with mobility issues.
There are numerous small terraces, thus allowing plenty of privacy and all with gorgeous views over the Andaman Sea. The A La Carte restaurant, Cocktail Lounge and Breakfast restaurant all have fabulous views from varying levels.
Breakfast - a huge array of choices for such a small resort. Beautiful fruit, pastries and many cooked options.
Lunch - a small menu on offer at the Poolside Bar, but all tasty and even better with one of their cocktails.
Dinner in the restaurant - we had read that it was expensive, but it was the wine which was the expensive part. The food we felt was quite reasonable for the quality. We ate in on 2 occasions, the other nights we walked into town and dined at various spots there.
We would probably rate Kata BBQ on the beach as the best food. We were a little disappointed that most of the food was quite westernized, but that is to be expected.
We took our laundry into Kata to the little supermarket closest to the resort. Much cheaper there for everything than the smarter one further down.
We will definitely return to Mom Tri's - this is the first time we have said this of our holiday choices in the last couple of years.

Room Tip: We liked the Beach wing with the tropical vegetation framing the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoxyT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We have stayed at Mom Tri on many occasions as it is a favorite haunt of ours. Having returned this week from a 9 day stay at this resort, we were a little disappointed. There is & was renovation work going on either side of our room. This involved a significant No of workers & noise over the entirety of our stay, which included skill saws, hammers, walls being knocked out, cementing, painting etc & a lot of foot traffic by our room. No apology, compensation or acknowledgement was offered until the last night when we received a note stating that there would be significant disruption for two hours the next day. Realizing this is low season, but this resort is still in the luxury resort category and with prices to match.
The restaurant which has been exemplary in the past left a little to desire this time. Very oily food & not to it's usual standard, I even got sick from eating there one night. No entertainment as previous either.
The service of the staff is excellent as always (apart from no compensation re renovations) & the location is just fabulous. We will return to MomTri but not for a while, as we think it needs some time to get back on track to it's former standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Scarlett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Mom Tri’s Ocean Wing for 2 weeks in the first half of September 2012 on a special occasion. At the end of our stay we both agreed that there was one big problem with this resort: it was extremely difficult to resist the temptation just to stay put and enjoy the stunning views of the Andaman Sea from the balcony or from one of the several view platforms where you can almost touch the waves hitting the rocks below.

Everything you could see on the photographs on their website is exactly as shown or even better. What you cannot see is the atmosphere, the level of service and the staff’s attitude. We were looking for a secluded romantic hideaway and that’s exactly what we’d gotten – sometimes we were under impression that we were the only guests in the whole Ocean Wing. We even didn’t often see the staff, but they were always there ready to help or serve – we could stop at one of the platforms close to the sea and a bottle of cold water with a couple of glasses filled with ice would miraculously appear on a nearby table. It looked as if they always knew where we were (in the good sense of the word) and it wasn’t difficult to find them if we needed. Thanks a lot, Net, Sae and Ton, you made our stay so enjoyable! We were really treated as if we were special and the only guests in the resort.

The whole architectural design of the Ocean Wing is very well thought through so that there is a very natural intertwining of living area, trees, rocks and the sea. You feel immersed into this atmosphere which is greatly intensified at nights with the lights hanging in the trees and the illuminated pool. A couple of cocktails and you feel totally relaxed.

We lived in a spacious room with a unique character and a huge bed decorated every evening with very cute and funny towel figurines. Rose petals and fresh roses on the bed cover, always fresh flowers, turn down service, romantic dinners at the Mom Tri’s Kitchen... these are just a few of many things that we enjoyed so much. And of course, the Kata Noi beach is just a few steps away...

However, in our opinion its Mom Tri’s staff that make a real difference. My girlfriend was very impressed by Thai massage given by Ms Bua at the Mom Tri’s Spa. Our special thanks go to charming Ms Lynn, who handled our reservation and other requests during our stay in a highly professional manner. Last, but not the least, the management – we didn’t see them, we don’t know who they are, but whoever they are they are doing great job! Thank you very much!

Oh, didn’t I forget to say that we are planning to return to Mom Tri again?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sergey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in a beach wing suite for 7 nights. It was so relaxing just listening to the waves crash on the rocks below. Our room was a pleasure to be in. We have stayed in many different hotels in Thailand and this has to be the best. Just little touches like bringing you cold water around the pool and the nightly turn down service. Afternoon tea served in your room. The staff are all lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. Mom Tris kitchen for breakfast was spectacular. What a lovely way to start the day. We loved it so much we had 3 dinners there. Two nights we had room service. We only ate dinner out twice. Lunch was really nice at the pool bar. We only had two lunches out of the hotel as well. We highly recommend this hotel. I will do a separate review on the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaEvVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I checked a lot of reviews and this place was even better than I had hopped. The rooms look just like they do on the web site and the staff was super friendly. The hotel is within easy walking distance to Kata so if you prefer to get out there is no need for a taxi. The hotel sits on the side of a hill so it is terraced to provide great views from everywhere. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful time this is the perfect place. However we were there in the semi-offseason so maybe during peak periods it may be a little more busy. Mom Tri's is more expensive than a lot of places I looked at, but in my opinion it was worth the extra for the service and relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed situated to allow great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lundeenkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
23.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
11.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Property: Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing