We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phuket oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phuket oasis”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Mom Tri is a genius. His Villa Royale is an elegant oasis in what can be a busy Phuket. It's right on the lovely Kata Noi beach (the best). The hotel and gardens are amazing, the staff friendly and attentive and the restaurant as good as it gets in phuket. The Wine list is understandably expensive as the wines are all world class. The rooms are classy and big, just what you need for a 2 week stay. The staff were great with our 5 year old son too. Thanks to Dee by the pool, William send his regards. We had a lovely time and would highly recommend staying there. We must also mention Mr Min. Don't book a trip without first consulting Mr Min. He's a star. (086 2729101).
We will certainly return.

Steve, Andrea and William

Room Tip: Any of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    153
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
143
596
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We booked our holiday very last minute so ended up booking three different places. This was our favourite. We loved it so much we left 'The Surin' early (which we still had to pay for) to come back to 'Mom Tri's'.

The layout of the hotel is lovely, it never feels too busy. The location is perfect if you like to be near a town but not right in it. A 5 minute walk up and over a small hill takes you to Kata.

The beach is excellent and accessed by a short path and a few steps. Kata Noi beach is smaller than the main Kata beach; I think it's about 850 metres in length. Sand is white and perfect for running on if you get up early enough. At the other side of the bay is 'The Shore' hotel (where we also stayed!) and the Katathani Beach Resort is along the length of it.

The food in the pool bar is fantastic and the Mom Tri's kitchen (restaurant) is also fabulous but there are lots of places to eat in town if you want a change. (Our favourite was Gastone just at the edge of town, an italian restaurant!)

In the evening cocktail hour was fun and Shoo (not sure of spelling?) the pianist was so lovely and entertaining. All the staff were genuinely nice.

We stayed in the beach wing suites rooms 14 and 16 and liked room 14 the best. The balconies were completely private and great for afternoon sun.

I give this hotel an excellent rating - it feels like a comfortable, loved and lived-in sofa. Friendly, atmospheric, secluded and private yet near amenities. If you need things designer 'perfect', you might prefer The Shore..although see my review!)

We will definitely go back to this hotel in the future and would choose it over any of the others in the area. We loved Mom Tri's!

Room Tip: we loved our beach wing suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gf0rce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bnagalore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Blissfully tranquil corner of Phuket. We loved it so much we came back a night early from Phi Phi so we could have another night at Mom Tri's. The service was attentive without being intrusive, the food was excellent, and the resort itself feels very secluded with lots of different pockets so it feels like you have it to yourselves....

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hunkabhicupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

I travel often and have stayed at many romantic hotels. This was by far the best. From the check in to the views and ambiance you will be in the mood for love. Every place you turn there are beautiful flowers, koi ponds, pools and views. It reminded me of the Amalfi coast/Positano but better. Food and service were excellent. Kata Noi beach is a long stair case below and was beautiful and relaxing. On the beach they sold cold beer and smoothies at modest prices.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

It's worth staying at Mom Tri's Villa Royale simply for the beautiful room & view from the balcony. Other features of the facility not as well executed or value for money, such as the restaurant, airport transfer, no hot water for showers and hotel-recommended day tour packages. It's sister restaurant Boathouse has exquisite food, but Villa's restaurant pales by comparison. The airport transfer pricier than private cabs at airport. Asiandolphins tour to Phang Nga marine park so-so (it skimped on most interesting part which was the canoe trip through sea caves). Despite its drawbacks, I would recommend the hotel but beware that not everything is at the same level of excellence or value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

There are a lot of things to recommend Villa Royale. The food at the hotel was great. Location was good (it was close to Patong and the action, but just far enough to relax) As long as you don't have bad knees (there are a lot of stairs), the set up of the place is beautiful. I also thought the service was very friendly and personal (they remembered my birthday!). I also loved the rooms. We had been to a few places in Thailand and they had been very modern, these had a more traditional feel and it was a nice change. Here are the small changes that they could make: 1) The beds are HARD. 2) Instead of a CD player, why not add an ipod dock? No one carries around CD's anymore 3) Breakfast: The food was good and I liked that you could get fresh fruit made. However, the cut up fruit that was on displayed for eating had so many bugs on it, it made me ITCH!

If they could fix those minor things, this place would be a 5 star!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We’ve been two nights in this boutique hotel. It has been a positive experience. In particular we’ve appreciated the reserved beach. The view is fantastic and we had an excellent dinner with fresh seafood.
The service was really accurate and we had an unforgettable breackfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisacandida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
23.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Property: Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing