We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still very good, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have been a regular customer at Villa Royale within the last Years, with more than 10 stays since 2008. The location is superb and the staff is outstanding, helpful and nice. The rooms are big, very clean and offer nice views. The Pools are great and so is the pool bar;
There are only two things to mention: First, that the quality of the food is not still the same than it was two or three years ago. The food is still "okay", but since they changed the executive chef two years ago, the quality is dropping. On our last stay we were really disappointed from the taste and seasoning of the food. Even if the Menue is still the same than it was 5 years ago (a seasonal change could be a great thing for returning guests!), the quality was not. Everything was a little bit "boring" and "tasteless". Second thing are the prices; The Villa Royale was always a expensive place - but much better than its competitors. It seems, that they have been resting within the lest years, while their competitors worked hard... Nowadays they are just to expensive for what they are offering. I hope, that they will work on that (better prices or better quality) or i have to find a new "home away from home in Phuket" soon.

Room Tip: i prefer the beachwing suites on the upper floor or;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I (50s) stayed here for 10 days in low season. We loved the boutique feel of the resort. It is leafy and cool on a hot day and catches any sea breeze. We stayed In a beach view room which was spacious and quiet. All we heard were the waves on the beach below. The sea pool is great when it is too rough to swim at the beach. Not suitable for anyone with physical access limitations because of the many steps. Also I would not take small kids there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HMA1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I`ve stayed at this hotel two times now and have only nice things to say about the hotel. Maybe except a small distance to the beach. It`s not directly at a beach. Close to Kata Noi but in the summertime you need to walk (or be driven) to Kata because of the waves at Noi at that time.
The staff knows youre name after a short time, making you feel so at home and relaxed. I pre-booked a massage on arrival - jetlag massage was amazing! The restaurant is one of the best in Phuket with a very good wine list too. The gym could be better, but they have what you need. Several pools - amongst them one salt water pool with a crab family living in it :) Very charming. The pool bar is great for a sandwich or salad in the afternoon. Rooms are very big with such nice balcony with beautiful view. Sat out there every night with a drink after dinner. By the way; don`t miss out on happy hour in the piano bar. Lovely drinks and a nice time to relax and watch the sun go down.
The beds are very large and so comfortable. Slept like a baby every night. Nice cool rooms smelling lovely, turn down service every day - they put chocolate and roses at the bed... Fresh fruits every day and a small treat from the chef (assorted cakes).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 839Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel was very special. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The views from all over the resort are spectacular. The service was terrific and the beach is wonderful. The whole property feels very private and intimate, not like some of the huge sprawling resorts we visited in Thailand. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelCatFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Having spent a hectic 4 days in the Anantara Bangkok Riverside resort and Spa, Mom Tri's was our next scheduled stop, flew Bangkok Airways who provided a good service. Greeted at airport by vehicle from Mom Tri's as we had booked the Platinum package. Cool water and air conditioned comfort and just short of an hour we were being checked in by Ying. Shown to our beach view room number 19, air conditioning was on to cool us after the short walk through green pathways.

The room was great a good size with separate bath and shower. Very comfortable bed and huge.
We couldn't decide which pool to relax by but over the ten day stay took advantage of all and the beach with prepaid loungers. Hotel supplied towels provided from the side of the pool bar.

Breakfast every morning was a veritable feast, fresh fruit, cereal, good breads and the usual bacon, ham, sausages and any choice of eggs cooked to order.

We took advantage of a Tuscan themed evening a set meal with Italian wine. A guest speaker gave a quick review of why he had chosen he wines and they all complimented the food.

Two thai massages were included and were greatly anticipated and we left feeling totally relaxed.

We ate at Mom Tri's Kitchen on two occasions and again the food and service was second to none.

Kata was a short walk down a steep hill with plenty of choice for eating, drinking, organising trips and the ubiquitous tailor shops

My wife and I had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend Mom Tri's for a complete relaxation break

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank VictorIndiaVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Mom Tri’s Villa Royale at Kata Noi is the best resort I have ever had the pleasure of staying at, and I’ve stayed at a lot of nice resorts around South East Asia.

From the magnificent gardens to the breath-taking ocean and beach views from the heights of the resort, it has it all. The natural beauty of the gardens, the lily ponds (with numerous frogs), the huge trees and verdant gardens is awe inspiring.

The resort is built into the side of a natural rock headland, but instead of overpowering the natural profile, it flows over the various layers of the terraced landscape.

Mom Tri’s exudes class, but is not overpowering or stuffy in any way. The staff here are wonderful, always smiling, helpful and attentive. This is common for Asia, where customer service reaches the highest levels, and Mom Tri’s will not disappoint.

The resort is perfect for couples looking for a romantic retreat, and for people looking for peace and tranquility. It would also suit people with young children who enjoy a splash in the pool or a dig with their shovels on the beach. People with older children/ teenagers may find the resort a little remote from the action, but that is only one consideration.

You could quite easily spend a whole week or more here and never leave the grounds, although I wouldn’t recommend that with so many other attractions on offer in Phuket.

The village of Kata Beach is a 5 or 6 minute walk away, or a 2 minute taxi/ tuk-tuk ride. In Kata Beach you will find a huge variety of shopping and restaurants/bars to keep you entertained. If you want to go further afield, Karon Beach is about 5 minutes by car, and Patong Beach is about 15 minutes by car. Unless you really want to ride in a Tuk-Tuk, I would suggest you use Taxis as they are air conditioned and much more comfortable to get into and ride in, and costs the same.

The Mom Tri Spa is also wonderful, with qualified masseurs ready to meet your pampering needs. We had two traditional Thai massages during our stay here, and came away feeling totally relaxed.

We were allocated an ocean view room, with traditional Thai decoration. The room is huge and well appointed. I would describe the room more as a junior suite. Each room has complementary Wi-Fi which is very reliable. There is a lounge and a desk, and a media system connected to the TV. It plays CDs, DVDs and USB files – we were able to keep up to date with downloaded episodes of “The Voice”.

There are 3 swimming pools to choose from, each on a different level of the resort. If you prefer the beach, there is a set of stairs down the side of the resort that takes you directly to Kata Noi Beach. One swimming pool is filled with salt water pumped from the Andaman Sea, and we preferred that for most swims.

Every meal in the restaurant or happy hour drink at the bar was an experience, with the most amazing views over the Andaman Sea and the Kata Noi Beach area. Truly magnificent.

One word of caution for people with mobility issues – because the resort flows down the natural headland on several levels, there is quite a few stairs from the street level to the beach level. For me, this provided compulsory exercise to keep my excesses at the breakfast buffet in check.

This resort will not disappoint and is the worth the slightly higher cost to stay - always remember that quality is worth paying a little extra for.

Room Tip: They are all good, but if you get the chance do some research to select what suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hs656409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We are still staying at the hotel so I wanted to write a review whilst it is fresh in my mind....IT'S AMAZING !!!!!!!
This hotel is set on cliff looking over Kata Noi beach. It's so cool and shady and the grounds are just so beautiful with tropical plants and little water fountains everywhere. It's just a tropical oasis that is so lovely and relaxing...Even has lily ponds with little frogs which my husband keeps taking photos off.
We had a room in the beach wing and it was decorated in traditional Thai design with magnificent paintings in the room. Our room had a big lounge setting and wonderful view if Kata Noi beach. It is a very comfy room.
There are lots of options for swimming with three pools and the beach. I loved swimming in the saltwater pool looking over the beach because it was like swimming in the sea without dealing with the sand.
Staff are just so friendly and always have a big smile.
The restaurants all have wonderful views over the sea and the food is delicious.
We have stayed in many hotels in Asia and this is certainly the best EVER.
I will be said when we leave Mom Tri's on Saturday but we will be back again.

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,144 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,046 reviews
23.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £163 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing