We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Room overlooking the Adaman Sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room overlooking the Adaman Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

What a lovely room with a terrific balcony view of the sea. All was as pictured and our huge room in the Beach Wing was serene and very special with gorgeous Thai decor. We stayed 3 days to relax after our flight from Toronto and especially loved swimming in the picturesque salt water pool.
It was a short stone stairway down to Kata Beach which was still quite busy although we were told tourism in Phuket was down by 60%. We began to prefer the serenity of our stone patio with hilltop views where we relaxed on comfortable chaises under large red parasols.

Breakfast was taken in a gorgeous open room overlooking the sea and there was a great choice of eggs, ham, cheese, fruit and excellent breads and pastries. Hotel entrance is lovely with intermittent koi ponds punctuating the walkways and a little rill of water spilling down the grassy hill. Little frogs sit on lily pads in another pond and 2 more fresh-water pools are also on the property.

Since booking ahead was necessary for the spa, I walked 15 minutes down Kata Beach into the little village for a superb $10 Thai massage each day.

Lovely touches such as fresh orchids on the bed, dragon fruit and other exotic fruits in a large fruit bowl and jasmine and rose accented flower welcome rings all add to your stay. Free drinking water in the room is a bonus as well as an electric kettle and 2 cups. There is a large stone tub/ rain shower on the large balcony that also contains a huge day bed- perfect for a shady snooze.

A wonderful stay and I'd love to return!

Room Tip: The beach wing has great sea views, lovely huge rooms and beautiful decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank librarygirrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    151
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
135
586
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Mom Tri doesn't disappoint! My husband and I stayed for a month over Christmas and new year. We were in suite 5 which has outstanding views over the beach and is wonderfully spacious with a huge outdoor terrace. The staff are outstanding. After being there for a month everybody knew us and looked after us so well. Couldn't have asked for more, we will be back next year.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaJane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time in mom tri's. Our beach villa was large , spacious, comfortable and quiet. Won't recommend this place for young family as the hotel is built on steep slopes with steps everywhere. Pool was not big but easy access to the quieter part of the beach / sea was great. We loved the sea view from all areas of the hotel and the beautiful sunsets every evening. Just 300 m outside the hotel, there is also a large selection of restaurants and massage parlours which was great for choice. Will definitely return again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karinasingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Picked the mom tri's villa royale after reading the reviews on trip advisor, we were not disappointed.A beautiful place to stay with a traditional Thai theme throughout.We stayed in a beach wing that had fantastic views of not only the beach but also the amazing sunsets! The staff could not be faulted - their customer service was second to none.One of our friends we had travelled with is on a gluten free diet this was not a problem - at breakfast they provided her with a gluten free loaf baked especially for her! This was our first trip to Thailand to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary - we would love to visit again but feel we would be disappointed staying anywhere else!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My partner and I spent Christmas and the New Year travelling around Thailand and Mom Tri's was our last stop. Having read the great reviews on Tripadvisor and having been disappointed by some of the other hotels we had stayed in during our trip, we were really looking forward to our stay at Mom Tri's. The location of the hotel was bang on the money and I wouldn't have changed it for anything - Kata Noi is a wonderful beach with pristine white sand and the most amazing aqua blue coloured sea water we'd ever seen. However, the hotel itself is quite dated, we stayed in a beach wing suite and felt that the bathroom and room could do with a spruce up especially as we were paying 5 star prices for the stay. The staff were friendly enough, however, the service wasn't quite that of a 5 star establishment and needs attention. We ate in Mom Tri's acclaimed restaurant on our last evening and while the food was nice [not the best we had in Thailand however], the service really wasn't up to scratch. We felt that the staff provided preferential treatment to the Russian clientele who were staying at the hotel and anyone else just didn't matter.
However, as mentioned, the location is really special and makes the stay worthwhile. Nevertheless, if we were to go back to Phuket [highly unlikely as we felt it was too commercialised] we will stay in a true 5 star resort like Amanpuri or the Banyan Tree.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet_taboo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great Service, Nice Location, Wonderful View, Private Beach....oh...too many mosquitoes on the way to the private beach!!
The stay here is fully enjoyable. Yet since we have a pretty rush schedule, we haven't fully enjoyed it.
And one more thing.. the super-king size bed is actually made of two single beds...and you can feel a gap between them when you are...sleeping..

Room Tip: Room on lower floors does not have a good sea view. Suggest rooms at least on the 2nd floor plus if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Place location and setting, Views over Kata bay, Superb Food, and a remarkable Wine List, not really for the tourist on a budget, but if you want that - Somthing special. Then this has to be the place to spend that special evening in the south of Phuket.
The staff went out of there way to accommodate us, despite been fully booked, so booking is a must, the food was the best, every thing perfect and to time, one of our best evenings here in Thailand.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
23.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
11.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Property: Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing