We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hard to fault this hotel although the food is distinctly average (have they changed their kitchen staff lately I wonder). It's a short, hilly walk to town though with all the restaurants and shops you'll need so that's not an issue for me. Our room was lovely, the only downside was the 'regionised' DVD player that prevented us from ploughing through the new GOT as planned. Not really a hardship though is it. Kata Noi beach to the south is beautiful. The best well used beach I've seen in years. No rubbish, clear warm water and plenty of people to watch. Snorkelling in the rocks next to the hotel was wonderful with plenty of stunning fish to spot. Tip: there's a lovely little beach restaurant at the other end of the beach for drinks and Thai food. We returned there day after day for lunch.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JonSWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was the highlight of our great fun Andaman Sky tour of the region, the last stop of the 3 destinations we covered (we also went to Lanta and Ao Nang). We probably should have stuck to 2 destinations rather than 3 as we did not really have enough time in each place to relax, but relaxation wasn’t top of our agenda, we were after seeing and doing a lot on holiday.
Top marks to the resort for great food and a lovely room, plus very friendly and responsive service.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jsonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I didn’t know that my friends and I were going to go into a 3 country tour in Asia. I was just informed that we were set to do another adventure abroad and had less time to prepare for our accommodation booking and transportation in Phuket. Thank goodness the Mom Tri’s Villa Royale was able to give us rooms on the last minute. We didn’t regret having stayed there considering the place is a bit pricy. We got our money’s worth and were able to enjoy every bit of the hotel. It offered luxurious bath tubs and Jacuzzis. A relaxing place to stay, although this is not the place for you if you’re expecting a pool party.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuSheryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We arrived there after spending 6 days at the Pimalai so the comparison was not so favorable for the Villa Royale.
It is a beautiful boutique hotel, true to their website pictures, but the beach is below average:the water and sand are beautiful , nice waves but it is quite busy and the beach chairs are awful and they dont provide water equipment.
Accomodation ( beach suites 23 and 24) was of good taste and size.
The resort is quiet , the different pools are very nice and there are some very nice spots to enjoy sunset.
Service is normal for that kind of hotel but less friendly than the Pimalai for instance.
Breakfast restaurant is very pleasant and of good quality with a wide choice.
We had room service and food was delicious.
The hotel is a short walk from shopping and city restaurants in Kata .
Note that the hotel is located on a slope ( stairs).
We liked our 2-nights stay but we would not go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azigule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I can't express with words how incredible this place is. We stayed in the ocean villas side which is much more private and secluded than the main side. We were usually the only ones at the pool on our side. It is a little walk to get to breakfast and the main bar but it was worth it. The employees are so amazing and sweet too. After just a few days everyone remember our names and made us feel so welcomed. We had the most memorable week. My husband and I had such a great time that we are going there again in April and are taking his mother and brother. Also all the food was wonderful (get the tuna pita!), we had the best Thai massages, the rooms are super clean and beautifully decorated, and the grounds are gorgeous with paths that take you to hidden places. I really couldn't say one negative thing. You would be missing out if you did not stay here!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just returned from Mom Tri's Villa Royale, in Phuket on 23rd Feb. 2014, having spent 18 nights at this peaceful and scenic hotel. This was our special wedding anniversary trip and both 70 this year. We were there in 2011 and it is just as fabulous. We were greeted with roses and cake and fruit in our room,and vouchers for complimentary meals. The hotel is surrounded with gardens, pools with huge fish, lots of steps as on a rocky headland, but steps down to the beach, which is great. The restaurant and bars etc.having wonderful views across the Andaman Sea and the whole area is beautiful. The staff are friendly and helpful and this hotel is perfect for a romantic break, or peaceful time in Thailand, best for couples due to the many steps etc. There are 3 very different pools, with great views over the bay. All in all this hotel is fab-u-lous.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LornaRoseW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My partner and I love our beach holidays. We travelled to Phuket many times over the last few years and stayed at various different 4 – 5 starred hotels but I can say for sure that Mom Tri’s Villa Royale has now become our favourite place to stay in Phuket.

One of the reasons why we almost always favour small to medium size boutique hotels is that we get to enjoy the hotel surroundings and facilities without the crowd and noise of mass tourists. Mom Tri offers exactly that - tranquillity and serenity, perfect for a romantic getaway.

We love the unique location of the hotel on a rocky headland overlooking the picturesque Andaman Sea, hidden away from the crowd and yet many shops, bars and restaurants in Kata are really only 5 minutes walk away. Walking to Kata Noi only takes a couple of minutes along the private path at the hotel.

Our beach suite that opens to a balcony with stunning view of Kata Noi is amazing. Looking out to the turquoise water of Kata Noi while standing on the balcony, listening to the sound of crashing waves beneath was a surreal experience. The suite is spacious, well laid out and comfortable. The traditional Thai styled decoration and furnishing using a lot of dark wood are beautiful. Some of the fellow travellers commented that the furnishing look dated, but I think the age factor somehow adds to the character of the room. The couch, bed and pillows were all very comfortable. The bathroom is large with a decent size bathtub (perfect for 2 persons!) and separate shower. Mom Tri’s own toiletries scented with lemon grass were really nice. The wireless Internet access in the room had excellent coverage and speed. Two bottles of drinking water were provided per day.

The service and staffs at the hotel are terrific. After a couple of days, they remembered details such as how we liked our eggs cooked, coffee and seating preferences during breakfast which was really nice. Everyone of them at the reception, the restaurant, breakfast, bar and the spa was polite and hospitable.

After comparing prices across different hotel booking sites such as booking.com and agoda, I decided to book directly with the hotel to take advantage of the Gold Royale package that offered excellent value. The package included 3 days 2 nights stay at the Beach suite, airport round trip transfer in a very comfortable car, a bottle of pretty good Chilean red wine, daily breakfast, Thai set dinner for each of us at Mom Tri’s Kitchen and an hour of Thai massage for each of us at the hotel spa.

While we definitely enjoyed the view and ambience during our dinner at Mom Tri's Kitchen, we didn't find the food to be particularly impressive. I ordered a blue crab souffle as an a la carte and it was so salty that I could not even finish it, which was a bit of a let down.

The spa, however, was excellent. I love the Thai massage that was included in our hotel package, so much that I booked myself a foot massage and a full body massage the next day. Prices are not cheap but well worth the money.

Other notable points:
Breakfast - great selection of continental and Asian dishes with a panoramic view of the sea.
Pools - all the pools are very enjoyable. We love the lush and calm surroundings, the view and the quiet, relaxing atmostphere.
Gym - we love that the hotel has one since we like going gym when we travel (from our experience, not many boutique hotels have a gym). The machines are basic but the free weights are good.
Wifi - free, reliable and stable through out the entire hotel.

As a conclusion, we highly recommend this hotel, for reasons outlined above which all represent excellent value. The hotel also appears to be more suitable for couples on romantic holiday as supposed to group of friends or family with kids.

Room Tip: The beach suites offer best value, although I believe any room would have been highly enjoyable at M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRookieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.3 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,294 reviews
23.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
837 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,269 reviews
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £132 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing