We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel (Royale Wing Suite) for 5 nights. It is situated between two beaches, Kata and Kata Noi, and is away from the hustle and bustle of Patong (though there are plenty of restaurants, massage parlors and shops in the vicinity). Our room was spacious, with a big balcony and bathroom, and free Wi-fi access. Service is great and with a personal touch: flowers, chocolates, small dessert/appetizer of the day. The breakfast selection is more than adequate; freshly-squeezed juices are available upon request. We had a late night flight and were allowed to check-out at 6:00pm for free.

If you enjoy the action and nightlife of Patong, it is about 20 minutes away. You can get there by cab/tuk-tuk for approximately 400 THB but I would suggest renting a scooter (if you are not traveling with kids and are comfortable to ride it) for 200-300 THB/day. It's a fun ride and a great way to explore the neighborhood.

Cons: the hotel restaurant is more on the expensive side. I can't comment on the quality of the food since we dined out every night.

A word of advice: As you exit the hotel and turn right, there is a tour company/bike rental shop about 3 minutes away called @ Here Tours. Please be VERY careful if/when booking your tours there since we almost got conned. We used them to book a city tour with one of the big tour operators but @ Here Tours decided to cancel that tour on our behalf (without our knowledge) and took us on a 'similar' tour of their own, all the while pretending to be the 'big tour operator' (minus tour guide, insurance AND at full price etc. etc.). Thankfully, we figured that something was wrong and demanded a refund. Do your research before booking a tour and check online reviews: most prices online are about 50% cheaper than those on brochures at airports/tour agencies.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MATravellerDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    154
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
145
597
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

they were under some renovations when we arrived but were warned in advance and were upgraded to a villa. besides a small nature mishap, this place is perfect. the small secluded beach, the huge comfortable villas, the massages, the food, the friendly staff and excellent service. and on top of that.. perfect weather. Thanks again mom tri's.. we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swooshmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was the last stop on our tour of the Andaman coast with Andaman Sky Adventures (excellent job done, thanks for a great holiday) and we wished we had spent more time here. It was also the most expensive place we stayed at, on the assumption that every place we stayed at should be better than the last one, which worked out very well, it’s just I wish we’d had a little longer to absord the atmos at Mom Tri’s – or maybe it was the prospect of flying off to cold and grey European weather that made we feel this way.

We were very happy with our room (quite pricey, but worth every penny) and with the resort in general, particularly the food – we didn’t go out much, as Phuket’s a bit sleazy for my liking, so we preferred to avoid all that and just relax in-resort.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marcsanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed in there back in 2013. all was wonderful and it has definitely been one of the best places I have been. very quiet. although you need to go down the rocks to the beach it was worth the view from the rooms. also sea was great to swim.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrifterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Positives: hideaway location, rooms are massive, excellent service, comfy beds, food perfect, spa treatments amazing.
Negatives: hard to find if driving, on side of hill so very steep in areas with lots of steps. No good for children. Air con VERY noisy, lots of building work so pool side bar shut, toilet seat in bathroom in a disgusting state. No hot water just like warm but bearable. Spa lovely but expensive.
Overall: lovely hotel in a quiet location. Glad I've been there but wouldn't return as too
Many others to choose from. Great as a couple/honeymoon

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgjrushmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one week on their Summer Platinum Package for our honeymoon.

This is a really spectacularly situated hotel, just above the rocks north of immaculately maintained Kata Noi Beach with rooms facing out over the pristine water with surfers cruising past. Throw in the palm trees swaying in the wind right between your balcony and that sublime backdrop and you couldn't find a more perfect spot for a beach resort anywhere in the world.

The hotel itself though was less than perfect. Our first night, the water didn't work and wasn't rectified until after numerous calls to reception the next day. When the water did come on it was cold only until the following day. The wifi was also out during this period. There were other issues such as the toilet leaking onto the floor and the lock in the bathroom door being broken. At that point we were actually ready to leave, though I'm glad we didn't. It took some mucking around, but once the issues (that really should have been picked up by the most basic inspection) were rectified, it was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

Our package included 2 dinners at the restaurant. The first time, we took the set menu and it was lovely. The second time we didn't want the same thing again, so we ordered from the menu. This meant that we would have to pay the difference between our package value and the meals we chose, but we thought it would be worth it because several people we'd run into on the island raved about the food there. It was disappointing. I had a beef curry that was too spicy to be enjoyed. I live in SE Asia. I eat spicy food all the time and have a pretty high tolerance for it. The curry I ordered was rated "medium" on the menu, but I was sweating profusely after a couple of spoon fulls. My wife had the tenderloin. It was nothing special. It came with some home made potato wedges and some vegetables. The steak was a bit dry as though it hadn't really been sealed properly. Certainly nothing to rave about.

Being the off season, the hotel was obviously doing some renovations to get ready for the rush in a few months. This meant a lot of loud banging and worse, masonry drills. The noise was a definitely disturbance during our stay, and it continued into the early evenings and even went all day Sunday.

The other complaint we had was my wife calling reception for milk for her coffee and it not coming. I'm not sure if hotels generally offer to bring you free milk whenever you want a coffee, so I can imagine it may have been an odd request or something they maybe felt they shouldn't have to provide, but if they say yes on the phone and then it doesn't arrive until she's called back several times it's a bit awkward.

The pools were nice, and the hotel offered superb access to the Kata Noi Beach (took less than a minute to walk down to there. The room itself was spacious and had a wonderful balcony area with a table and chairs and couch where you could relax. The staff were constantly bringing us little niceties. Everyday a paper and small cakes or cookies arrived. On the first night they brought us free sandwiches and a bottle of red wine. The realized from our registration form that my wife's birthday was during our stay, and they arranged a cake and a card signed by all of the staff. It was really lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobOliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Wow, this place is just out of this world! We've stayed in luxury properties numerous times but the service at Mom Tri's is what makes this place stand out. Our villa was perfect, just as the pictures shown if not better. A really luxurious feel. We had a nice view from the room and there's absolutely nothing that we'd have changed from our stay.

On the day of our checkout, our flight wasn't until around 12 hours later so the staff very kindly gave us access to another room to shower and rest up rather than walking the streets of Phuket and having a terrible flight home because we were tired and sweaty. We'll never forget this place and actually have been trying to book it again for our New Year trip this year but understandably they're already sold out :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariko Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
23.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,079 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.5 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Property: Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing