We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely Thai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Staying at Mom Tri's Villa Royale is a real treat. We stayed off season, the value was excellent. We spent 3 pampered nights in a beautiful beach suite on a cliff facing Kata Noi beach. The weather was not the best, of the time we spent there, it poured 2 days, however that didn't dampen the experience!

The hotel grounds are beautiful, very green, lush, with an amazing view of the sea from most areas.

Our first room was set back a bit, overlooking the pools with a view of the sea. On the balcony we felt as if we were surrounded by a jungle, with many vines, trees, flowers around us. As we like to sit on the balcony, we could only sit there a few minutes without the mosquitos, and a few other bugs coming our way. For our second night, we requested to move to a beach suite closer to the sea. That balcony was high up with a magnificent view of the sea and not as much foilage. We were then able to make use of the balcony for reading when the rain was falling, without being bitten by those pesky mozzies.

The room is a large suite decorated in a designer Thai style. The bed is huge, the sitting area has a wonderful lounging sofa, the tv is flat screened and large. The front desk has dvds to borrow. There is a desk to place your laptop for the free internet.
The bathroom is spacious and beautiful.

The staff is very accomodating and friendly. After our first morning at the delicious breakfast buffet, the waiters remembered our choice of freshly prepared juice, (mine is carrot/ginger), as well as how we like our coffee, and how much we like to drink. After the first morning, our waiter brought a pot of coffee to the table, we are huge coffee fans.

There are 3 pools, one of them a salt water pool, on the edge of the cliff. What a feeling to swim in that pool and gaze at the sea below.

On our third day, the rain stopped and we were able to climb down the steps to Kata Noi beach. There are loungers and umbrellas for the Villa Royale guests use. The sea was a bit choppy, we stuck our feet in, that was it. The beach is very quiet and peaceful.

We had drinks and lunch at the pool bar. The food is delicious, what a view and friendly service.

Happy hour is from 6-7, half price drinks in the classic bar, more great service. Our second night we decided to eat at the famous Mom Tri's Kitchen at the hotel. We chose a wonderful table near the sea, however the weather didn't cooperate and we were forced to eat inside with the windows closed to the monsoon! The service was outstanding, the food good, but for the price, we prefered Mom Tri's Oasis in town. (see separate review)

I will post photos that will give you an idea of the beauty of this small boutique hotel. It is an amazing property with excellent staff. I can highly recommend it as a romantic place for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOF/A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

we stayed for 10 nights in a beach front room. The room was very nice and had views over the ocean. You could even hear the waves at night. The restaurant serves high quality food and the service all round was good. The staff are very friendly but sometimes had difficulty communicating in english. The hotel offers a courtesy bus into Kata if you do not want to walk the short distance ( up and down a pretty steep hill). Kata has some reasonable restaurants and shopping. The Kata beach was also safer than the nearer Kata Noi beach for swimming during our stay. It can get a bit wet and the sea can be choppy at this time of year .
All in all a great holiday we think it is particularly nice for special occasions and for honey moon couples.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray_Elaine_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I was worried about taking my parents to Phuket given how touristy it is (and not in a good way). But Mom Tri's was a beautiful haven off the beaten track on Kata Noi Beach. Admittedly it was low season so it's wasn't as busy but the location was gorgeous and just what we were hoping for - a lovely boutique hotel with the most divine food in Phuket.

We got a great deal as it was low season which included massages, breakfast and a 3 course meal each. So whilst I probably wouldn't ordinarily stretch to that price level in high season, the low season price was good value. There were not many guests so we basically had our own pool (there were 3) so it was very private. Set on the hillside at the end of Kata Noi beach, terraced with views over the ocean and beach. But the best bit was the restaurant, amazing meal after amazing meal.

The service was lovely and on our last day we weren't leaving until 8pm so the hotel moved us into another room so that we still had somewhere to freshen up before leaving - which was a lovely way to end the trip.

Recommend Mom Tri's. If you don't want to pay the price to stay make sure you at least stop by for a meal.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginsingas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

im currently halfway through my 8 night stay in momtris villa royale and have to say its better than i ever thought possible.
the staff, service, restaurant,pools ambience,views and everything else you could possibly be looking for in a holiday is here ,
whatever you may have read before about the negatives of this first class establishment you can surely put to bed.
if ever your thinking of coming to phuket do yourself a massive favour and take a long look at this place.
im going home sunday 20th june (regretfully) and i will update this review with all the pics and relevant information.
but i can assure you we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This place took my breath away. We'd just left a very cookie cutter resort in Bali; Mom Tri's was the exact opposite with lots of personality that stayed true to the location. We stayed in a suite ("villa"), built into the side of a hill overlooking the ocean. We could hear the waves crashing onto the rocks and see the ocean through the floor to ceiling windows wrapping around the living room. The decor was beautiful, decorated in traditional Thai style with beautiful wood, everywhere and with high ceilings. It's also very environmentally friendly (read: they won't change your sheets and towels unless you request it; there are no plastic bottles of shampoo or lotion, only reusable ceramic dispensers; there are only glass bottles of water, no plastic).

Since it was our honeymoon, the staff welcomed us with a cake in the room and a platter of fruit, which we ate throughout the week. They'd spelled out "honeymoon" on our bed with rose petals and orchids and filled the tub with water and more petals. (We had a great time trying to throw these petals into the others' mouth later on, while taking a bath.) OH -- and they give all guests these lovely, WONDERFUL smelling little garlands of flowers to wear around your wrist when you first arrive.

Every afternoon, staff would bring us a Thai newspaper in English (I think it was "The Nation" and it was not a great source of Thai news, but covered all the basic int'l stories) and a small plate of a Thai-influenced dessert like papaya-filled pastries. It was a really nice touch. Minibar prices were *not* exorbitant as they are in many places. These delicious brown rice wasabi flavored crackers I became a bit addicted to were only US$1.

The only downsides:

1. There were ants and lizards everywhere inside. (We just took it as part of the local flavor and honestly, it's somewhat unavoidable when you're located in the woods.)
2. It's a steep 5-10 walk from Kuta beach, where all the action is -- i.e. surfing, restaurants, bars.
3. The area is very touristy / resorty and to see local life, you really have to rent a car. Luckily, it's fairly easy to drive on the island -- far, far easier than on Bali. Traffic laws are actually somewhat observed in Thailand.

The Mom Tri restaurants are well known, but we frankly thought they were a bit overrated. (In all fairness we do eat out a lot in NYC and are probably slightly jaded with "fine dining". On the road in a new place, we prefer street food -- and Thailand has SUCH GOOD street food!!)

The hotel is a lovely retreat. We'd love to visit again someday!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

After a very disappointing stay at the Racha we arrived at Mom Tri's with some trepidation. Were we unreasonable in our expectation? Was the 5 star experiance that we were used to in other parts of the world not available in Thailand?

Fortunately we were soon reassured by the almost old fashioned (which is not a criticism) delights of Mom Tris Villa Royale.

A well designed hotel making the most of the site. Classic Thai style and service. A room with a lovely view and even the Wi-Fi that was beyond the Racha.

An elegant classic hotel that I look forward to returning to. My only slight disappointment was when we ate in the restaurant. In view of the reputation of the restaurant I was expecting better, or perhaps over expecting. We only had the chance to try it once and perhaps we didnt choose very well. I would certainly try the restaurant again, the setting is superb.

Thank you Mom Tri!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cantwaitforspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My wife and I spent 2 nights of our 15 Night holiday at the wonderful Villa Royale, We were greeted at the lobby with a very friendly reception, cool face towels and herbal drink. We were then shown to our Beach Wing Suite. The suite was very roomy, with a large bathroom including huge tub, Bedroom has king size bed and ample wardrobe space. From the bathroom vanity you can look out through the suite to the magnificent views of Kata Noi Beach. There is a sitting area with large screen TV and CD stereo system (which was playing some lovely ambient music when we arrived). The outside balcony has a day bed, ample space to relax and also table & chairs that could be used for a romantic balcony dinner. Air conditioner was good, also water pressure, overall the suite could not be faulted, I think it was excellent value. Lunch at the Pool Bar was great, we met Sylvie the PR Manager and she too gave us a very friendly reception.The grounds and pools of the hotel are great, I particularly enjoyed my morning walks down the path to Kata Noi Beach and upon my return, having a swim in the lap pool just below my suite. My wife enjoyed a 2 hour session at the day spa, which offered a good value "earlybird" special. Saturday night we had our "Special Dinner" as it was our last night in Kata, We started with cocktail in the Sala lounge with attentive service, lovely piano serenade and a few laughs with the hotel staff. We then moved on to Mom Tri's Kitchen for dinner. The wonderful Mr Num organised the best table in the house for us and we were delighted with the fantastic array of food and drinks available to us. My wife enjoyed the Whole Rock Lobster and I had a specially prepared Royal Duck Red Curry. The evening was finished with Liqueurs and Coffee with Cuban cigar for me. Overall excellent value. I understand everyone is different with different expectations, but for me this was probably the best Hotel stay in my almost 50 yrs. Met all my needs for a wonderful special weekend stay. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Unclehollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,172 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,089 reviews
23.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,292 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £179 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing