We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sawasdee Village
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed in the Sawasdee Village in a poolside room after spending time in Bangkok and northern Thailand. Even though we arrived quite late in the evening, we were greated immediately shown to our rooms, given a brief overview of the hotel and ammenities. Rooms are not very large, but are very clean and include all the little extras you could want such as robes, slippers, mosquito spray, bath amenities, etc. Bathrooms were slightly dark, but had slat wood floor with rain shower and a bench/ledge which was helpful and appreciated. Large screen TV doubles as computer which was great for checking flights and weather and catching up on email. The hotel staff is exceptional and were everywhere cleaning and ensuring a positive experience for all guests.

Our stay included breakfast which we found delightful both for the atmostphere and the food. The restaurant is a short walk through a rainforest like path - so beautiful and lovely surprises like bird cage type swinging benches, ponds with fish, etc. Over three days I think I saw something new each time I wallked to the restaurant.

Pool was amazing -perfect temps, lots of alcoves and water features. Swim up bar was nice, however it didn't appear that drinks or food were being made there so took a little while for tender to disappear and reappear later with orders - no worries though as I was completely entertained.

A shuttle runs to the beach from the hotel and you must schedule your return in advance, however we found the walk to be very short and easy and never even bothered with the shuttles. The beach was nice to look at and visit, but we found ourselves just wanting to get back to our little oasis at the hotel.

Would highly recommend this hotel for couples, solo travelers or friends to 'get away from it all'.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, we are very much appreciated to hear that you have a wonderful time with us and we do hope that you will return soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

We had a fantastic three days at Sawasdee. We have never experienced such friendly staff and fantastic garden and art surroundings. The breakfast was great also

Room Tip: A room opposite the pool would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, we are very much appreciated to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and we are looking forward for your returning.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My second time here was a wonderful for our family. All staffs were lovely espectially the receiptionist (Khun Or) and restaurant staffs. We stayed at The Baray Villa on Oct 8-9, 2011. All details of villa were so beautiful and mixed with the modern Apple equipment. Excellent design of swimming pool which we feel swam in the arabian country and overlook of small :). Breakfast were various and good taste.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walailak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for review us on TripAdvisor, we are appreciated to hear that you were happy during your return and we are very much delighted to hear that you were enjoy with our breakfast. We are looking forward for your next return.Thank you once again for your returning.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The attention to detail in each of the rooms on both levels are what makes these villas stand out from other simular villas. The spa in your living room leading to your own pool is very different but its the staff that really make you feel welcome. So much so that after checking out and going to another hotel we re-checked in again after just 5 hours of being away! Can't give it a better rap than that!!!!

Room Tip: All 14 villas have their own access to the private pool and bar so no need to worry about whihc one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us we are very much appreciated to hear that you had a lots of pros in our hotel.
Thank you for choosing Sawasdee Village for your accommodation and we do hope to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Rooms fabulous and immaculately clean leading directly out to the pool. Pretty area outside each room to enjoy privacy in an evening. Food second to none. Different breakfast dishes every day and substantial selection. Staff delightful! Friendly and helpful at all times. Nice touch of a framed photograph on check out. Excellent central area to explore Phuket. Very reasonable price. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplesuzyq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review us on TripAdvisor. We are most appreciated to hear that you had a wonderful time during stay with us. We are looking forward for your return. Thank you very much once again to stay with us at Sawasdee Village.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed at Garden Deluxe Room in mid August 2011.
This was our second time staying at Sawasdee Village.
The atmosphere was beautiful and we had a nice relaxing time as we expected.

[SERVICE]
Very good.
Staffs were very friendly and helpful.

[CLEANLINESS]
Reasonably clean.
The room was kept in good condition but some parts of the cleaning were little substandard. This was mainly due to the design of the room we guess.

[FOOD]
Taste good, reasonably priced and well presented.
Just be aware of mosquitos there:)

[FACILITY]
Generally looking very pretty and tidy but some area needs urgent repairs.


Although we pic a few negative things, we were generally very happy to stay here.
We would recommend this hotel to single travellers and couples who value quiet relaxing atmosphere.


Local restaurants recommendation from us.
If you like local Thai food they are worth trying.

[Noodle stall]
Walk towards Alpina Hotel then up the hill to 7eleven
It is on the end of the street across the busy road (in front of local supermarket).
Good for light snack. Very reasonable.

[Larb Kata]
Walk towards Alpina Hotel then up the hill to 7eleven and turn right at the end of the street.
Walk along the street for about 5 to 10 mins and you will find this restaurant on your right.
(Be careful for the traffic!!)
Although the restaurant doesn't look pretty at all, the food is very very nice! (we recommend mango salad)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randy20060901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for your return and your helpful comment on TripAdvisor. Your comment are valueable to improve our facilities and we will definitely repair our small desk around the pool soon! You will curtainly see it better for your next stay. We are looking forward to welcome you next time.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I was here in July for three nights, and it was without a doubt, one of the best places i've stayed in.
Location, it is not on the beach, but it's a quick 5 minute ride away. And honestly, you don't miss the beach when you're at this hotel. It has a lovely Thai feel to it, with lots of plants and decorative items around the property. Everything seems very ornate, and almost too ornate at times, but you remind yourself that you're on holiday and enjoy every bit of it.
The hotel has a lovely pool, with a nice little bar. The bartender is very friendly, like all the other staff. I tried the breakfast and lunch at the restaurant too, and that was so yum! Lovely Thai food, and a good selection at breakfast.
I booked a garden view room, which was nice, large and comfortable. It had a big bed, which was very nicely 'turned down' in the evenings. Lovely touch.
The room had a TV which also served as a computer. Water bottles were replenished everyday, and, provided towels that you could you take to the beach in a nice tote bag. Again, thoughtful gesture.
I was given a complimentary massage at the Baray Spa. I added on a few more treatments as well, and I'm so glad I did. They were all done very professionally and I left feeling very relaxed.
It happened to be my birthday while I was there, and the staff brought me a cake at breakfast. I've never been so surprised before, I was really touched that they did that.
The staff at the front desk helped me rent a little scooter from the agency across the street, and also gave me directions about sights in Phuket.
Lastly, I left my camera behind -- in the scooter I rented (doh!), but the hotel staff were extremely helpful in retrieving it and sending it back to me in Singapore.
The only con, it sounded like there was a small crittter crawling around the roof, I mentioned this to the staff while leaving, so hopefully no one else was woken up early in the morning by the sounds of little scratching on the ceiling.
I would definitely stay here if I'm in Phuket again, and if I'm with a group of people, maybe rent the Baray Villas... they looked fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prithim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us in Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa, we are most appreciated to hear that our room and our staff met your satisfaction. We hope that we will have you with us soon.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,172 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
791 reviews
3.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.4 mi away
Beyond Resort Kata
Beyond Resort Kata
#26 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £58 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing