We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, relaxing Oasis.”
Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sawasdee Village
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing Oasis.”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 5 nights at the Sawasdee Village and then 5 nights in the Baray Villas (see separate review). We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary and it was our first trip with just the two of us for about 14 years. We were looking for a quiet place to relax and forget about work stresses and we found it. When you arrive at the Village it's frontage is on a busy Kata street, but then you walk in to find a wonderful tropical oasis of beautiful gardens, statues and waterfalls.The staff were very helpful and always happy to assist you. The room was very clean and had a large TV with a Mini Mac for free internet access, in addition to free wifi throughout the resort. The rooms are not big, but we were aware of this from the reviews we had read, and we had planned activities that meant we did not spend a lot of time in the room anyway. The bed is large and very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice with a wide selection and served in beautiful surroundings. The location is close to walk down to Kata beach or restaurants, and only 400-500 baht to get a taxi to Patong. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisPaulMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor.Regarding to your recent stay with us in Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa, that was so nice to hear that you have a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    312
    105
    36
    20
See reviews for
146
725
51
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had 10 days at Sawasdee Village & Baray Spa Resort in June as a brief break en-route to visiting family in the UK for 3 weeks from Australia. The weather was incredible, of course there is nothing you can do to control this, but you can control where you stay. We wanted something a little off the beaten track and Sawasdee Village is set off the main road at Kata Beach but a great hourly taxi service from the resort offers you access to the beach in 2-3 mins. We often took the taxi and walked back, which never took longer than 10mins, but usually we did some shopping on the way back or stopped for a fresh fruit juice. If you want night life then head to Patong Beach, but this wasn't for us. One night walking around the markets in Patong was enough for us, but definately go by tuk-tuk with flouro lights and thumping bass bins, just hold on for your life :)

The hotel was very clean, the staff extremely warm and inviting (look out for Amy, she is dynamite, awesome host). Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. They were excellent in asking for verbatim feedback which we gave and they instantly acted on some of the things we highlighted that would make our stay more comfortable. The poolside rooms are probably in need of a bit of TLC (renovation) and some general work but for such a boutique resort you quickly see past this to the natural and authentic Thai setting. Thai cuisine for breakfast was incredible, amazing food and definately take the B+B option. We did not eat there at night because there were so many other options out in Kata/Karon Beach but no doubt it was excellent.

We'd recommend paying to upgrade to the Baray Villa, WOW!!!!! If only we had have seen them on day 1, we definately would have. In fact our motto is never to return to the same place twice but we would make an exception to return to the Baray Villas. If you are seeking a place to stay for a special occasion then this is the place to consider. The spa treatments were great value for money, in fact the best treatments we have had in Thailand, so we recommend staying on sight and paying a bit more. The tour operator over the street is very helpful and we'd recommend a trip to Phuket Fantasea although probably most people do this when they visit Phuket.

In hindsight we'd have liked to have headed out to Koh Phi Phi Don for a few nights but definately a good reason to go back to Phuket. Overall we liked the untouched feel of our previous trip to Thailand and Koh Samui, but Phuket was great and quintessentially Thai.

Finally for other travellers who commented on the Mosquitoes, we understand your comments but this is the tropics right?! Mosquitoes don't make any stay comfortable, but id' rather lather up with repellent in an awesome setting than have chemical treatments stinking out the resort like other places we've stayed. Let's face it, in warm and humid climates mozzie's are a constant. In fact i think we have more of them in our back garden in Melbourne than we saw at Sawasdee Village so i wouldn't let this deter you from staying. A spray of Aeroguard applied at dusk and you are all set. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Baray Spa!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesAmyinAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Enchanted and magical place that stands apart from other hotels/resorts due to its authentic decor, lush dense gardens and impeccable service. And for the price-it’s a deal not to be missed! Also hidden location from the busy street makes for a rather intimate/boutique experience. Breakfast buffet is good with a good selection of both Thai and western dishes. We stayed in a regular room and the bed was huge! The swimming pool is nice providing there are not too many people: otherwise it gets a bit crowded. If you need to drop off clothes for a laundry you can do it across the street for 40baht/kilo. There are numerous massage salons on the street- good massage for 300-400baht.
Suggested places to eat nearby that we tried and loved:
Lucky Tom’s ( Thai/German) and Bluefin (Mexican/Thai)
Kata Beach is a 10min stroll from the hotel. Lounge chairs on the beach are 100baht/chair+umbrella.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbella85_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel during my stay in phuket. I have to say that it has great greenery outside my room and the pool was very relaxing. Definitely a very good hotel to select. I'm not too sure about the location as i rented a car and everything was an ok distance away when i drove.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ickcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in June, and would certainly return. The staff were all very helpful for the duration of our stay.

Our room was lovely - the only hotel of our Thailand trip which has a Mac in the room for internet access - very helpful feature. Room is not huge, but was big enough for us.

The grounds are of a lovely design - the rooms all feel "hidden away". Lovely carp fish right at our door. Pool area was gorgeous, although not that big a pool if you wanted actually swim rather than simply to cool of, and may get busy in high season.

Wide choice at breakfast (including smoked salmon to go with my scrambled eggs - my favourite!).

Within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and beach, and easy to pick up a tuk tuk.

Ideal for us - would definetly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AileenLScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at the Sawasdee in the Deluxe Garden room and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was not huge but enough room for 2 people and well looked after. The hotel grounds were full of greenery and small streams making for a very picturesque and tranquil setting. We loved the pool area with swim-up bar and found it a good size with plenty of shaded areas to relax in and found the staff to be extremely helpful.

As advertised, mosquitoes were around at dusk due to the tropical nature of the hotel but the staff do as much as they can to prevent this including a mozzy net over the bed to prevent bites at night. Breakfast was plentiful with a good mix of cereals, fruit, cooked and local Thai food available until 10am.

The hotel was located in Kata Beach and there were a large number of restaurants within walking distance (15 mins). The beautiful Kata Beach was also a 10-15 min to walk although there was a free hourly shuttle service on offer from the hotel. Karon Beach (15 mins) and Patong (20 mins) were close enough if you took a cab ride from Kata.

The only very minor point to note was that wi-fi was a bit hit and miss at times but had no impact on the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeltaDelta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

We had high hopes for this resort after reading the other reviews. Unfortunately those hopes we're not met.

There were negatives and positives about this resort which I have listed below - as fairly as possible.

NEGATIVES:

Things started badly when we arrived at 1pm to be told that our room would not be ready until 2pm. I accept that - even though we had advised in advance we would be arriving between 12 and 1 heck in is at 2pm and that's life. However, we were told to "come back at 2" - we came back at 3 and there was still no room ready. We were told to "wait in the lounge please". At about 3.30pm we eventually got shown to our room. Highly frustrating.

The next day we went out for the morning and displayed the "make up room sign". We came back about 4 hours later and our room was not made up. We explained to the reception staff at 1.15pm that we needed to be in our room at 2.30 for an hour or so and would appreciate our room being made up before that time. We were fairly impolitely told that they were busy and that someone would be there in 15 mins. By 3.30pm no one had been to make up our room.

We initially booked 2 nights and enquired about extending our stay. The staff were not at all helpful in this regard. In the end we simply left and went elsewhere.

POSITIVES:

The grounds and environment are really nice and the pool area is too.

The breakfast is excellent.

The location is pretty good and there is a really good massage shop right beside the resort (towards the beach) which offers excellent (safe) massage for a fraction of the price of the resort and a good laundry service too.

Despite talk about the small rooms they are clearly advertised as such and really aren't so small. I have stayed in much smaller rooms in Europe. You also get an area outside of the room to use too.

They have a good arrangement with a scooter rental place across the road to rent a scooter without surrendering your passport.

CONCLUSION:

The resort itself was quite nice but not as nice as the photos on the website make it look. Still a nice place to be.

Unfortunately, the staff let the place down during our visit. Perhaps we were an aberration as other reviews speak highly of the staff.

Personally, I doubt I will return.



  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwiatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, we apologize for your inconvenience that we have to further delay your check in time. And we deeply apologize for the miscommunication that happened between front office and room attendant which cause inconvenience in the next day. This incident, we profoundly appliciate the comments you've given us and we'll make sure no such things will happen again.
Due to the fact that the room in that area is reserved for guests the require 3 rooms connecting. Therefore, to be able to extend your stay you need to move into a new room, which you don't wish to do. We apologized to make you feel that our staff is un helpful in this reguard.

We deeply appliciate all of your comments and we wish we'll get to service you again in the future.

Sawasdee Village & The Balay Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Baray Villa
The Baray Villa
#15 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Property: Sawasdee Village
Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing