We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sawasdee Village
Nearby Hotels
Metadee Resort and Villas(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beyond Resort Kata(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boathouse Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Flora Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Kata Resort Phuket(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kata Rocks(Kata Beach)
US$970
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$588
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,443)
Filter reviews
1,443 results
Traveller rating
909
346
115
43
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
346
115
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater featuresbaray villagarden roommosquito netrooms are smallpool barbeautiful hotelthai decorcooking classhourly shuttleour honeymoonhuge bedmassage parloursturn down servicepool sideprivate poolrain shower
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 1,443 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

the hotel is about 15 mins walk to the beach. they provide shuttle between the hotel and beach every hour but did not notice any one tried it. from the pictures posted by other travellers , it looked very beautiful and nicely designed. but when we really got there, i was kind of dissapointed. the property is rather small, at least it looked so for the part we were allowed to move around, there was another part that i assume for more luxuary rooms but did not go there as it was only open to guests who stayed there. i had known the rooms were small but the dark light in the room made it look even smaller.I found a dead mosqitou on the bed and some hair that definately could not be mine. so had to ask them to change the sheets.the bed and sheets were hard and i could not sleep well for the first 2 nights. bathrooms were cramped and strange with wooden towel shelves. the hotel has much traditioanl thai elements but i am sorry that i just could not love it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wennieli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Bit of a late review as we stayed in December 2011. I fell in love with this place as soon as I walked into the grounds. The setting is quite peculiar, in the middle of quite a busy run down street but once you step inside it is like a tropical paradise. From the very start we were made to feel special, we were greeted in reception buy a member of staff with cold towels and fresh lemon water. The team are so friendly but not in a patronising way, just like they were genuinely nice people. We were shown to our pool side room, shown how to use every element of the room..tv, computer etc.
We went on a couple of days out and used the hotel driver, again he was so helpful and spoke very good english and pointed out all the places that were a must. He even offered to take photos of myself and my partner, even drove us to places with amazing views so the photos would be beautiful. I miss this place even now and would love to go back. Everything was reasonably priced. The food was lovely and we ate there 6 nights out of 7. Kata Beach itself is quite quiet compared to Patong, if I could pick this place up and move it to Patong I would visit every year!! Trust me when I say that if you decide to visit here, you will return year upon year!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SexyBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be great to hear that you have a wonderful time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you in your next holiday !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 5 nights at the Sawasdee Village and then 5 nights in the Baray Villas (see separate review). We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary and it was our first trip with just the two of us for about 14 years. We were looking for a quiet place to relax and forget about work stresses and we found it. When you arrive at the Village it's frontage is on a busy Kata street, but then you walk in to find a wonderful tropical oasis of beautiful gardens, statues and waterfalls.The staff were very helpful and always happy to assist you. The room was very clean and had a large TV with a Mini Mac for free internet access, in addition to free wifi throughout the resort. The rooms are not big, but we were aware of this from the reviews we had read, and we had planned activities that meant we did not spend a lot of time in the room anyway. The bed is large and very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice with a wide selection and served in beautiful surroundings. The location is close to walk down to Kata beach or restaurants, and only 400-500 baht to get a taxi to Patong. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisPaulMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor.Regarding to your recent stay with us in Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa, that was so nice to hear that you have a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had 10 days at Sawasdee Village & Baray Spa Resort in June as a brief break en-route to visiting family in the UK for 3 weeks from Australia. The weather was incredible, of course there is nothing you can do to control this, but you can control where you stay. We wanted something a little off the beaten track and Sawasdee Village is set off the main road at Kata Beach but a great hourly taxi service from the resort offers you access to the beach in 2-3 mins. We often took the taxi and walked back, which never took longer than 10mins, but usually we did some shopping on the way back or stopped for a fresh fruit juice. If you want night life then head to Patong Beach, but this wasn't for us. One night walking around the markets in Patong was enough for us, but definately go by tuk-tuk with flouro lights and thumping bass bins, just hold on for your life :)

The hotel was very clean, the staff extremely warm and inviting (look out for Amy, she is dynamite, awesome host). Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. They were excellent in asking for verbatim feedback which we gave and they instantly acted on some of the things we highlighted that would make our stay more comfortable. The poolside rooms are probably in need of a bit of TLC (renovation) and some general work but for such a boutique resort you quickly see past this to the natural and authentic Thai setting. Thai cuisine for breakfast was incredible, amazing food and definately take the B+B option. We did not eat there at night because there were so many other options out in Kata/Karon Beach but no doubt it was excellent.

We'd recommend paying to upgrade to the Baray Villa, WOW!!!!! If only we had have seen them on day 1, we definately would have. In fact our motto is never to return to the same place twice but we would make an exception to return to the Baray Villas. If you are seeking a place to stay for a special occasion then this is the place to consider. The spa treatments were great value for money, in fact the best treatments we have had in Thailand, so we recommend staying on sight and paying a bit more. The tour operator over the street is very helpful and we'd recommend a trip to Phuket Fantasea although probably most people do this when they visit Phuket.

In hindsight we'd have liked to have headed out to Koh Phi Phi Don for a few nights but definately a good reason to go back to Phuket. Overall we liked the untouched feel of our previous trip to Thailand and Koh Samui, but Phuket was great and quintessentially Thai.

Finally for other travellers who commented on the Mosquitoes, we understand your comments but this is the tropics right?! Mosquitoes don't make any stay comfortable, but id' rather lather up with repellent in an awesome setting than have chemical treatments stinking out the resort like other places we've stayed. Let's face it, in warm and humid climates mozzie's are a constant. In fact i think we have more of them in our back garden in Melbourne than we saw at Sawasdee Village so i wouldn't let this deter you from staying. A spray of Aeroguard applied at dusk and you are all set. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Baray Spa!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesAmyinAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Enchanted and magical place that stands apart from other hotels/resorts due to its authentic decor, lush dense gardens and impeccable service. And for the price-it’s a deal not to be missed! Also hidden location from the busy street makes for a rather intimate/boutique experience. Breakfast buffet is good with a good selection of both Thai and western dishes. We stayed in a regular room and the bed was huge! The swimming pool is nice providing there are not too many people: otherwise it gets a bit crowded. If you need to drop off clothes for a laundry you can do it across the street for 40baht/kilo. There are numerous massage salons on the street- good massage for 300-400baht.
Suggested places to eat nearby that we tried and loved:
Lucky Tom’s ( Thai/German) and Bluefin (Mexican/Thai)
Kata Beach is a 10min stroll from the hotel. Lounge chairs on the beach are 100baht/chair+umbrella.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkerbella85_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews