We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely decorated.”
Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sawasdee Village
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nicely decorated.”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at Sawasdee Village for 3 nights in February 2013. The condition of the hotel rooms and the grounds are decorated beautifully, albeit everything feels a bit cramped. This is away from the main tourist area and beach, which is about a ten minute walk away. The staff at the hotel were all pleasant and friendly and the food was good. There is a reasonably good buffet breakfast in the morning with hot cooked food and breads and fruits. the surroundings are great but the only issue was that despite being told the hotel was full during our stay, nobody seemed to be around, especially in the evenings. We thought there may be a bar or something for people to meet for drinks, but this was not the case. Room service is available, but we wanted to be around people. It was a shame as the surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and it would have been nice to have had a drink there. In effect, the place felt a bit lifeless. We were the only ones walking around looking for people between 2030 - 2130 on one evening. I would recommend this hotel, but would advise that you may need to go out if you want people around at night. During the day, there were several people around the pool, but again considering the hotel was fully booked, not as many as you might expect. The room we stayed in was small and with two suitcases it became a bit cramped. However, the rooms are very clean and comfortable with a huge bed. There is also a PC in each room with internet and wi-fi access. This is a boutique hotel and worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stavdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us that would be great to hear that you enjoy spending your time with us. We are a small hotel - not many rooms that why there was too much people around and most of our guests always spend their time on the beach as well.We all are looking forward to welcome you back for your next holiday !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    316
    105
    37
    21
See reviews for
150
731
51
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is not my typical review as I generally only offer positive or constructive feedback. I also want anyone interested to understand that I am not an arrogant snob that is bitter due to a bad experience, I am a normal traveller with my own standards. Please read my other reviews to gauge what I like and don't.
With the above in mind, I cannot express how disappointed and cheated I felt when arriving at Sawasdee Village. It is nothing like it is depicted on the website, the rooms look nothing like the pictures and the terrible swamp-like setting is a haven for mosquitoes. The rooms are very dated and small, they are all cramped together sharing common front balconies and very thin common walls. The bathrooms are all wood including the shower (not the nice modern wooden finishes found in contemporary settings, these are just cheap warped and smelly timber). We asked to be moved to a different room as we literally couldn't stay and they offered us a villa in the Baray side of the hotel (this was a further $900 per night on top of our pre paid amount), and again sadly, the Baray villas are equally as disappointing and nothing like the images on he website.
This is a terribly run, poorly maintained dated hotel that fronts a busy main road with no entrance or foyer, if you are used to international chains or beautiful boutique hotels, DO NOT STAY HERE, it is horrifically over priced, and is more a cheap motel than hotel.
As I mentioned above, I often rubbish terrible reviews assuming that the reviewer had some sort of vendetta, please take heed of this, comparing it to my other reviews and use our own judgement, I am by no means a snob, I just have basic expectations of a 5 star hotel/resort.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, stay in the Baray Villas however, a better, newer, cleaner cheaper and less m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Value Guest

Thank you, we appreciate your comment. Please let us explain prior to your inaccurate description. The photos on the hotel website is best representation of our hotels, and there are many other photos that is posted by our value guests on websites such as this one if you require more accuracy of how the hotel actually looks like. Secondly, as Thailand lies close to the equator line, Phuket is a tropical island, we constantly try our best to eliminate the mosquitoes that can cause our guests to be uncomfortable. Furthermore, it is our normal protocol that we have to charge more money to our guests to be able to upgraded to The Baray Villa, due to the different room type. However, we always deducted the cost of the room type that you stayed in before upgrade. Therefore, certainly we won't let you pay anymore than 300 AUD extra to upgrade to The Baray Villa. The following is the price of the room in December:

Price of Garden Deluxe : 6,100 – 6,600 THB or 200 – 220 AUD./night

Price of The Baray Villa : 14,400 – 16,000 THB or 480 – 530 AUD./night

After the deduction, our guests will need to pay 300 AUD extra for upgrade.

Lastly, we apologise on your disappointment 200-220 AUD is may the normal pricing for most 5 stars hotel/resorts in low season but during December is high – peak season in Phuket, Thailand.

Thank you for your comment and we'll try our very best to make the stay of our value guests as comfortable as possible.

Best Regard
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Walking in from the street near the Phuket Island beach, this hotel is a shady haven. Lush gardens and statuary with painted and carved wood features, there are water features at every turn. Our room was styled like a ship master's cabin - carved wood beams and gleaming polish plank floors. The bath was all wood, too. The shower has rainfall shower or option for a modern spray with openings in the floor slates for water to drain. The staff was attuned to making the stay wonderful. The food was wonderful in the restaurant which is also a cooking school for guests so inclined. Everything was CLEAN, fresh flowers strategically located about the property, and the swimming pool was the perfect setting for relaxing and a cooling dip. There are also villas - and I would recommend those for anyone traveling with children or parents. Those are separate from the individual guest rooms. If you can afford the extra money for this hotel, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and, like anywhere in Thailand, use the mosquito netting around the bed at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you enjoy your time with us at Sawasdee Village and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in January because of the many good reviews on Trip Advisor, and wanted to be away from the noise and crowds at Patong. We were a family of five and after several email exchanges regarding available bedding found out that we couldn't get five into one Baray Villa even though it sounded wonderful, and would have to settle for two double rooms with an extra bed in one.
The place was lovely with a beautiful pool and lush tropical gardens and very relaxing. The restaurant was excellent with yummy breakfasts every morning and a free Thai dinner for every 3 night stay. The staff were very friendly and attentive with excellent English. We admit we didn't use the in=-house spa facilities as they were quite expensive (by Thai standards) and there was a wonderful little massage place right outside on the street, where we went every day for foot massages... heaven!
There was a free shuttle to the beach every hour but we never needed it because it was a nice 15 minute walk. Lots of very good restaurants nearby and a tour office right across the road which we used a fair bit.
My only criticism was the size of the rooms. The parents had one king bed in a room which was only barely big enough for the bed. The kids had 3 singles again squeezed into similar sized room. The bathrooms were great and the internet and TV worked fine. Some people had complained about mosquitoes but we never noticed them. All beds had nets anyway.
Overall a great place, if you don't mind a cramped room, but the other facilities compensated for that.

Room Tip: From other reviews, get the Baray Villa, unless you don't mind being a little cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zanarail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your candid comment on TripAdvisor. That would be very nice to hear that our service is met your satisfaction and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here in feb for 3 nights . Rooms clean , a little on the small size , but bathroom and size of shower great . Pool is to die for ! Breakfast buffet lots of choice . This hotel is a little oasis , full of greenery , water features and a true authentic Thai experience . That said there was a problem with the electric , which cut out when we were having our spa experience and it had to be finished in torchlight , and so a bit disappointed not to be offered a discount ( even though we didn't ask for one ) . The hotel was in the process of spraying against the mosquitos in the rooms , although it wasn't in the rooms that it was a problem only when u were sat outside at night at the table outside ur room . However it's only to be expected as there is a lot of water and plants everywhere and so I only got bit the same as I have in other hot countries . They have a courtesy bus that takes you and picks you up from the beach - brilliant and the staff are very friendly and helpful . I would stay here again .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesleydunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us that would be great to hear that you enjoy spending your time with us. We all are looking forward to welcome you back for your next holiday !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My wife and I stayed several nights in september 2012, enjoyed every minute of it. Great pool, friendly staff with big smiles.The beach is a five minute walk from the hotel and has near by shopping. Looking forward to our next stay later in the year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. That would be our honor to serve you our service and very nice to hear that you were appreciated it. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights end of jan to start of feb.
Lovely hotel very authentic , staff are very friendly and helpful , good location, close to kata beach and short walk from bars and restaurants . Rooms are small which wasn't an issue for us as it had everything u needed In them for the amount of time we was actually in our room, tv, DVD player , computer , wifi etc.
Pool area is a quite small and shaded by the trees but we went to beach mainly and only spent 1 day round the pool.
All in all great hotel, would recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxycleopatra1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. We are very much appreciated to hear that you enjoy your time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back for your next holiday !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,054 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
911 reviews
1.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Property: Sawasdee Village
Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing