We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sawasdee Village
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a completely different feel to a western-style chain hotel. After seeing some negative reviews suggesting that high ratings for Sawasdee were a result of people staying in the Baray Villas, rather than the Village, I was a little apprehensive before arriving. But I'm happy to say that Sawasdee Village did not disappoint. I'll try to address some of the most common complaints in this review.

We stayed in a garden room, which was of average size with a HUGE bed. Yes, it was not in brand new condition but it was clean and more than adequate for our 8 night stay. The shower was brilliant with great water pressure and toiletries provided. We had a little porch out front with a table and cushioned benches which was nice, but a bit prone to mozzies. What can you expect in a tropical setting though? The rooms get sprayed every night, beds have mosquito nets and insect repellent and balm is provided.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied. Omelettes, pancakes, eggs made to order. Cereals, breads, pastries, fruits, meats, cheeses and several Thai dishes which changed daily.

The pool was gorgeous and there were always sun loungers available. It might not be the biggest pool around but it was plenty big enough for the number of guests in it at any one time. On leaving the hotel, you are within easy walking distance of the beach and local shops and restaurants.

Overall, we loved our stay at Sawasdee Village and would be more than happy to return.

Room Tip: Pool rooms might be less private (pool right outside your door) so garden room could be the one to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoTentsHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be very nice to hear that you enjoy staying with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    311
    105
    36
    19
See reviews for
144
719
51
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS NOT THE BARAY VILLAS SO DO NOT CONFUSE THOSE REVIEWS WITH THE ONES FOR SAWASDEE!!!

I am a small business owner so when I give a less than stellar review I really try to be as fair as possible because I know how online reviews can impact my business but I would have wanted to read this review before I booked because it might have tempered my expectations.

This hotel is beautiful at least all the public places are but the rooms are very, very, run down and old and quite honestly kind of creepy, dark, and grimy. Honestly I have to say that I do understand how some people say they loved the hotel because it is so beautiful in parts but I could not get past the dark cell like room, I think 10 or 15 years ago it was probably amazing but the rooms need a major overhaul.

It pains me to write this but you are much better off staying elsewhere because honestly this place should not be charging more than $50. U.S. a night.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanandraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor.Regarding to your review, please kindly be informed that we always renovate the rooms at Sawasdee Village. According to our Thai style it maybe cause the rooms looks older that it is and we feel very sorry for any disappointing.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Sawasdee Village was a wonderful boutique hotel. The staff were all very friendly, the rooms just lovely, the surroundings beautiful and we had everything we wanted in a great place to stay. The location was just perfect - not too far to the beach and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. According to your recent stay with us, that would be the most appreciated to hear that you enjoy staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

we recently stayed in this tranquil little recluse in Kata and were absolutely delighted. The staff could not have been more polite or caring as we are in our 60's comfort is a major requirement for us and we had everything we required here. The pool is not huge but a wonderful refreshing place after a day of sightseeing or shopping
tThe pool bar is great and snacks and drinks very reasonable. The main attraction of this hotel for me was all the little quiet hide holes you could escape to with the beautiful Thai decoration and rainforest type planting . Would love to be able to afford the villas but in price comparison we had more than enough room for our needs . This is definitely on my list of recommends for friends and family
In fact if we go back we would stay here again as the whole package suited our needs to a tee

Room Tip: all the rooms are quiet but I think nearer the restaurant side the little babbling brook is an added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor and thank you very much for it. We are very pleased to hear that you have a nice stay with us and we are looking forward to warm welcome you back for your next holiday in Phuket !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Lovely rooms, great big beds, everything you need in a room and a nice sitting area outside the room. They turn your bed down every day and spray the rooms to rid the mosquitos. Service was outstanding, all you have to do is ask and they will do everything possible to meet your needs. Food selection for breakfast and dinner was good. But food outside is cheaper and there is variety also. The Fired Rice Resturant next door has good food. The Hollywood bar across the road is a friendly small bar and if you want a message, the ladies at the Chok( I think that was it? Ladies in Pink) gave a really good Thai message.
The pool area was and nice quiet and relaxing.
If you rent a vehicle, they'll look after it for you after hours.
We're going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be great to hear that you enjoy your time with us and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I Don't usually write reviews or give feed back. I'm a believer in experience it your self however I feel compelled to write about Sawasdee village. Though I have not stayed in another hotel/resort in Thailand and have nothing to to compare Sawasdee village being my first trip to the Asian Continent I have visited and lived in different countries. Sawasdee village is one of the best places i have stayed the friendly staff are second to none just walking into the place takes you from the regular Thai streets with the Tuk Tuks and Scooters racing by to a hidden relaxing rain Forrest filled with a Buddhist temple calm to it. I Recommend anyone stay here..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim85au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. That was great to hear that you are appreciated our service with relaxing atmosphere and we hope to welcome you for your next holiday in Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My girlfriend and I spent two weeks at the Sawasdee and we were not disappointed. The grounds are set off with some beautiful features, little shrines to Buddha, the pool area is lovely and the little orchid petals in the planters set the tone for the fabulous surroundings. Some comments regarding the room whilst accurate are a tad unfair. We took plenty of luggage with us and didn't find the space particularly restrictive. Only had breakfast a couple of times as the jet lag had us sleeping till midday pretty much everyday. Staff were polite and attentive, any problems with the room were rectified the same day. The swim up bar do cocktails, beers etc a lot pricier than any of the local bars but that's the price you pay for convenience. The bar food comes from their restaurant 'Fire and Water' a couple of doors down, pizza's are decent don't bother with anything else.

You can walk to the beach in about 10 mins or there's a little shuttle that will take you on the hour and pick you back up, what more can you ask?

Overall we loved it and thoroughly recommend the hotel.

P.S. a couple we met (Morty & Maitel from Toronto) let us see the Baray Villa they had booked, one word................awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Razor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We so very much thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. That was great to hear that you have a good time with us and we are looking for your next stay !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Baray Villa
The Baray Villa
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Property: Sawasdee Village
Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing