We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Thai Cooking class”
Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sawasdee Village
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Try the Thai Cooking class”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went for dinner to experience the wonderful setting of the restaurant, with its golden dome, elephant statues and great Thai feel. We had an excellent dinner and noticed that they had a this cooking class. We asked if they had spaces for the next day and despite the fact that the normal rule is first to sign up chooses the dishes they let us pick ours. So the next day we went to the market (unfortunately not to buy our ingredients) and then cooked our own lunch in the hotel dining room. Lovely staff, helpful at all times bad a great way to spend an hour or two before your own lunch!

Room Tip: We didn't stay here but the staff showed us a Baray Villa. Absolutely astounding room and tremen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    318
    105
    39
    21
See reviews for
150
739
51
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

As soon as you enter Sawasdee Village from a typical Thailand street you are in a Thai oasis. The resort is beautiful with a lot of Thai culture charter which is the reason we selected the resort. The property as lots of trees, plants, flowers - water falls, statues and a nice pool. Breakfast was include which was served in the really nice onsite restaurant. Breakfast was fantastic with a very large selection of choices to satisfy all tastes. We had dinner at the restaurant - very good - highly recommended. The resort staff were all great!

So why 3 stars - the room is really small and dark. All rooms are ground level with access to the rooms more like a motel style. The room is decoded in Thai style, with a king size bed and a net over the bed to keep the flying insects away (they set up the room for the evening). The room did not have space for a chair so no way to have a snack/meal in the room (unless you eat on the bed). In front of each room, you find a private covered patio with a nice bench and table. For one or two nights, it's fine, we stayed 5 nights - if the room had more light and space then it would be perfect for a long stay.

The hotel has many pluses - for us, the rooms was too small for an extended stay - we do recommend the hotel!!!

Room Tip: Very good onsite restaurant which is beautiful and serves very good Thai food. Even if you are not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_the_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

First, make sure your cabby knows it's Sawasdee, not Sawadi. Even though I pronounced the name with the "s", they took me to the wrong hotel, rightfully claiming neither are pronounced with the "s".
Pros: Very pretty grounds and gorgeous pool area.
Cons: Rooms are small, breakfast choices are weak, can't get a cup of coffee…no matter how hard I tried, kept bring me half full, small cups of cappuccino. Grounds are not lit enough to see safely in the dark with trails that are uneven. Luckily we didn't trip. It's just not comfortable to maneuver. Thought we were closer to the beach, but you have to take their shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I cannot say enough about this magnificent and beautiful place. We did not want to leave! We felt like ROYALS because of the amazing villa (Baray Villa) and the off-the-chart hospitality of the Hotel. We were offered a free massage, per person, per each night's stay, OR a free dinner, OR transport to/from the airport. This was INCLUDED in our room price, which was pretty reasonable. It worked out to about $415/night or $208/pp per night. For all you get, this is a sweet deal. We had a jacuzzi (no heat tho :( ) in our living room that lead to our backyard pool, and that pool was part of the community stream that had a bar at one end and cascading waterfall from large vases at the other. I did swim one day to the bar. There are two at the hotel, the one nearest the entrance is more popular, I should have gone to it. But it was an adventure. The staff was accommodating, friendly, helpful and generous. There were some plumbing issues with our downstairs lavatory, and there was some leakage from our upstairs shower, but these did not deter from the wonderful experience of being at Sawasdee Village. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are only 54 villas, and they are all like private townhomes, so you don't hear anyone. or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnison, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked this hotel after doing extensive research and were not disappointed. The grounds are immaculate and peaceful. Also VERY clean, you can walk around the entire resort barefoot and not feel creeped out. The rooms are not huge but have tons of character. The bed was comfortable an the AC blew ice cubes. The pool is great as well with a swim up bar. Everyone there was more than willing to help with anything we needed. The breakfast buffet is great as well. We were there for three days, and everyday there was a new selection. The Villas are out of this world if you can afford to pay for them (550+/night). Gets you a huge room with a private pool. Being a young couple in our 30's we were happy to be close to the restaurants, bars and beaches, literally right out the door. Better than being right in the action is not knowing so. The resort is so quiet that all you here are birds and leaves blowing during the day, not the hustle and bustle right outside. I wish there were more hotels like this, very boutique feel and very cool. 5 stars and will be back if ever in Phuket.

Room Tip: Ask for one not by the pool if you desire more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landskrona, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very nice hotel with superfriendly staff and great service standard. The hotel area is a quiet Oasis just 10-15 minutes walk from busy Kata beach. There's a shuttle service to the beach if you don't like walking. The hotel is beautifully lit up at night, and has a nice pool area with pool bar, open till 7pm. Romantic restaurant with great food and staff. The hotel also offers Spa and laundry service. The reception staff will answer all your questions with a smile. Sawasdee Village overall: +++++

Khob khun krab

/Mr.Andersson

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredAnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at sawasdee resort for 1 week for our honeymoon. The hotel was peaceful and relaxing . The decor, garden and pool was beautiful with every detail thought of. Service was excellent . I would highly recommend this hotel . The area is good and kata beach is a really nice beach . We would definately come again .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razzamakazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
913 reviews
3.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Property: Sawasdee Village
Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing