We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, beautiful retreat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sawasdee Village
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value, beautiful retreat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

This hotel is not near the beach but does have a free shuttle. To be honest the beaches of Phuket have become quite down Market and crowded and so we stayed mainly in the resort. It is a small resort of the most stunning design. Lots of koi filled ponds and complete peace. The swimming pool is wonderful with several jacuzi, waterfalls and swim up pool bar.
The rooms are not large but are clean and comfortable with delightful private seating outside. The spa was the best out of all I tried in Thailand. Beautiful rooms, outstanding treatments. Amazing!
The food is ok and housekeeping did perhaps only the minimum but it was still a wonderful little resort that we would return to.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    306
    105
    36
    19
See reviews for
137
712
51
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

This hotel is the most amazing place I have ever been to. The service is fantastic. The rooms are brilliant. You really do have to come and see this for yourselves. Im writing this review using the free internet in my room. Some people say they come here and dont leave the grounds and I can understand why. The food for breakfast leaves a little to be desired however the restaurant food and bar menu food are incredible quality and taste!

Every night they light incense in little pots outside your room and the smell here is heavenly. The pool is incredibly clean seem as though you are in what looks like a tropical rainforest.

I recommend that the first thing you do is get a coconut shake from the pool bar and the banana blossom and prawn spicy salad.

I will be coming again and bringing people with me.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folkestone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

It took a while for our taxi driver to find the hotel and when he pulled up I was a little bit worried but as soon as we walked up the enterence way I completly relaxed. The landscaping was amazing, the best i've ever seen, it was so green and beautiful.

We were given a welcome drink and then shown to our room, which was really nice but not particularly plush. The room had free internet which was a nice touch and a net around the bed which you need to use! The only negative was that the air con wasn't great.

The pool isn't very big and when we arrived I was worried about the lack of sun beds but we were there during easter and it was never a problem. The pool area is beautifully designed with waterfalls and jet streams.

We didn't use the restaurant for evening meals as its much much cheaper to eat in the town but the breakfasts were amazing, i always had at least 3 courses, starting with a continental selection, then some curry and finish with freshly made pancakes or omlette!

You are only a 5 min walk from Kata and the beach (mind the waves, I nearly lost my bikini!). Kata itself is fairly quiet but this was just what we wanted after being in Patong for a week.

I would definatly recommend this hotel, it was stunning!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz-bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Sawasdee is a great romantic hotel,when you pass the entrance you undrestand why this hotel is umique.stuff is very friendly,pool is great,rooms are fine although not very big.
Restaurant is well decorated.its a very relaxing place that you forget everything.beach is not far but you have to walk 10m to bypass the clubmed 2m walls thar remind an army camp.downtown kata is 5-7m minutes away walking

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Beautiful boutique hotel in Kata, great location on a road just off the main road. Has a wonderful ambience. The rooms are tastefully decorated with classic features. Everything is just so beautiful. The hotel has a pool which is very refreshing after a long day. The staff were very helpful and seemed to speak very good english. The rooms had there own computer and internet access which was a great bonus. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracaibo, Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

i have to say that i was very impress because it was incledible that such a beautiful place had a very nice price, service: just the best ever, its a nice place for couples and have an excelent, excelent spa ....everybody who go to sawasdee village should try the Baray Spa, if we go again to kata beach, definitely we're gonna have a second stay

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veronicachavezsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

After returning to the hotel after 6 years things have only got better.The hotel has had some renovation and additions, villas and restaurant which are beautifully done. Everything is one or two storey, beautifully planted with water features and statues dotted about, calm and serene. In the evening it is candlelit. The restaurant is good value and beautiful surroundings. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are full of little extras, bag, beach towel, slippers, umbrella, which add to the thoughtful attention to detail. The rooms are simple but elegant, giving an authentic asian ambience.
The only problem for those with sweet blood and sensitive skin are mosquitos. Although the staff light mosquito coils and there are nets and spray in the room, I was bitten mercilessly and reacted badly. There is a pharmacy opposite, very handy! having said that my fellow travellers were not bitten at all.
The pool is fantastic, surrounded by foliage and a bar to sit at. Some rooms open onto the pool, others are tucked away but all have a verandah or outside seating area.
The location is a few minutes from the beach but there is a courtesy bus on request. Kata is quieter than some of the larger resorts but still scruffy and grubby in places.If you are prepared to take a tuktuk and explore you can find elephant treks,more isolated beaches and temples.
We found that the girls in the massage shop opposite did a better job and charged a 10th of the price compared to the hotel spa.That price difference can't be ignored! The surroundings may not be as luxurious but the result is probably better.
Sawasdee Village is fantastic for a relaxing,romantic holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.0 mi away
The Baray Villa
The Baray Villa
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Property: Sawasdee Village
Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing