We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach, Good Value, Great for Familes, Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Beach, Good Value, Great for Familes, Excellent Service”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is probably the best stretch of beach (absolutely gorgeous), hotel overall value you can get in Phuket, it's about an hour away from the airport. The hotel has three large complexes. I stayed in the traditional Thai Deluxe room, larger than the average room. They have several pools and manicurists/pedicurists/massage therapists on grounds by the pools just waiting to see if you need help. Felt very safe here and away from the city center. All excursions can be made thru the hotel...elephant trek, island tours by speedboat, etc and can all be charged to your room. There is an ATM outside the hotel, close to the hotel and they have a hotel security guard there making sure it is safe. They have free scuba lessons in one of the pools. Make sure you have enough cash before your trip (get the Thai Baht converted at your bank if you can before you leave and take inside wallet) for tips, in general you can charge your room for everything and use cash outside the hotel to avoid credit fraud. The service here is excellent, above and beyond my expectations, however a couple downsides, not completely omantic b/c so many kids, but there is an adult pool and it is nice to see families having a good time, spa service was just okay, had the best spa treatment at Banyan Tree in Bangkok & Tubkaak resort in Krabi. They cater to families, so the buffet breakfast although not horrible is not that great, Asian selection of food is very greasy, food is extremely sugary, the quality of food is one step below a Denny's, their Thai restaurant was terrible, esp. the traditional soup tasted bland with no flavor, you cannot get an espresso coffee drink till 10 a.m., the machine is there but apparently no-one can get one till 10 am. Only one decent restaurant there, Scala, that's it. If you want good food go to the cliffs on the right and go to Mom Tri's Villa's - they have excellent food, a little pricey though. Keep in mind they are trying to save water and there is no water pressure in the shower, so it takes you about 20-30 minutes to rinse the shampoo out your hair if you have long hair, and the water either goes extremely cold or hot, maybe they can fix their water heater. Can't complain about water pressure b/c they are in a water crisis and they need to conserve it. Other than that this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: Spend a couple extra $$$ and get the Deluxe Traditional Thai Suite - very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athfbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,291
    1,255
    380
    143
    104
See reviews for
1,365
1,907
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

did not enjoy it me nor the group traveled with me. basically too far from the airport, not near walking distance places

Rooms looks very old and you feel its not clean at all. not convenience to stay in
for the restaurants, stupid rules, you cannot have your diner or lunch and charge it on the room, you have to buy copones and give it to them so you can eat. even the drinks the same

generally, i wont go back to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samerjk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Samerjk82
As noted on the website, Katathani is approximately one hour from the airport. Also, we regret to hear your comments about the room’s feeling and will consider this feedback towards future improvements. I am unsure about the issue you experienced regarding permission to sign bills, as we always permit food and beverage charges to be signed to rooms. During the lunch buffet once more, we have a process allowing you to sign a bill for purchasing drinks coupons before eating in order to ensure timely service. We apologize for any confusion about that and hope Katathani resort will meet your expectations upon a second visit!

Best Regards,
Suwimon P.
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed at this resort over a week ago, and what can I say, so peaceful and the most beautiful clean beach I have been to.
The resort was very well kept and clean and the beach was perfect to swim in,the water so clear and great temperature, at times you could body surf was so much fun.
We are a couple in our early 50's and yes there were families around but that never made any difference to our holiday as there are so many area at this resort where you can have quiet times.
We stayed in a grand suite Thani wing and had a great view from our balcony and plenty of room in the suite,the rain shower and spa were great.
As part of our package we had breakfast, great variety lovely fresh juice and fresh fruit,the staff were always friendly especially Chauci the coffee man he was always so friendly.
Massages were also available during the day on the lawns and at 350 baht they were great value and a great massage.
Patong and Karon were a short taxi ride away ,but I loved the remoteness of the resort we both totally relaxed while we were there.
We loved this resort so much we intend to return same time next year.

Room Tip: Loved the Thani wing, great view and near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saint1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Our family stayed at the Bhuri wing for 2 nights on a short vacation trip. I was expecting excellent service given all the positive reviews online. However I was very disappointed.

Although I booked two double beds, we we given a King size bed instead. When I called down to the reception to inquire about it, the staff said he will need to check on availability and call me back. No one called me back. I left the room for lunch and out to town and when I returned, no messages. No follow through at all. Since we were only staying two nights, we decided to just stay with the room we had and not fuss about it.

We asked the concierge to help us make dinner reservations at Mom Tri for the next evening. No confirmation from the desk and when it was time to go to dinner, we found out that the reservations were never made!! I couldn't believe how irresponsible the staff is!!!

We wanted to sign up for the Thai cooking class. We went downstairs and the concierge was not at the desk. NO ONE at the front reception was able to help us! Are you serious!?! We were told to walk to the Thani wing to make the reservation!!! What kind of service is that?!

We booked the hotel's taxi service to the airport. We booked it for 3:30 and we waited 15 minutes before the taxi came!! When we inquire where the taxi is, the front desk just keep on saying, it's coming, it's coming. Don't you know that we are leaving to the airport and can't miss the flight? And to top things off, the taxi stops on the way to get gas!!!

I can't believe how horrible the service is at this hotel!! Time after time, we could n't believe how the staff treated us. It makes staying here very unenjoyable and we will never stay here again. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff are all arrogant and think they don't need your business. I am posting this here to share my experience with other travelers. I am so disappointed because I was so looking forward to enjoying my family vacation and the trip was dampened by the horrible service!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 06052010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear 06052010,
Upon investigating the circumstances of your stay with us, our records show that you booked only two adults and arrived with three plus one child. Due to the changed booking, we offered twin doubles which you declined as the location was in another building. Having looked at the record, we see that dinner reservations were actually confirmed, and regarding the Thai Cooking Class you were invited to book at the Thani Wing since you said you will be headed to the pool there anyways while reception was occupied in Bhuri Wing. Finally regarding the taxi, we are glad you reached the flight on time (we always provide extra time to arrive at the airport). Your nonetheless disappointing experience is regrettable, and therefore we invite you to return for appreciating the great service which you mentioned Katathani is known for.

Kind Regards,
Suwimon P.
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a Bhuri wing interconnecting rooms- if you don't like smoking ask for non smoking!
Pools were fabulous, staff very helpful.
Our Daughter has a peanut allergy and all restaurants in the resort were fabulous regarding this, made them aware but we had no problems.
Highly recommend it for a family holiday .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikebri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We are about to leave the Katathani and head home after spending 12 nights and 14 days here. May I say that this resort has everything. We were not happy with our room (junior suite Kata Noi wing) when we checked in so asked to be transferred to the junior suite Adaman wing where most of our family was staying. The reception organised this with ease and the next day we were in our room and very happy with it. The resort has quite a few pools around the grounds with bars nearby and different style of restaurants to choose from. There is an activity room with pool table and table tennis and electronic games and there is also free internet available there plus 2 other rooms with free internet. And thats just in the main part of the complex. There is also another wing further down the road with their own facilities, but you are free to use the whole resort. Breakfast was amazing and the nights that we did eat in the restaurants we enjoyed each meal. Staff were friendly and helpful and most spoke english. I absolutely loved staying here. It is out of the way, yet has all the things available that you may need for a holiday. If you feel like a cheap meal, then you just walk down the road to one of 3 restaurants available. The only down side is that if you really want to get anywhere, you have to take a taxi, though the resort also supplies a limited shuttle service to Patong and Phuket Town. I loved this resort. Unfortunately, I don't think we will be back as we found that we prefer to spend our holidays a little closer to home, but if we did have to return, we would stay at the Katathani for sure. The seaview is amazing. The resort itself has a lot of facillities and a few shops as well. And then there are a few shops, restaurants and spas along the street. The resort also has a lot of acitivities on to keep you busy if you like that sort of thing. We just loved relaxing by the pool.

Room Tip: The Adaman wing is much nicer than the Kata Noi wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jupiter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed in a Ocean Front Junior Suite as part of a deal we purchased on Deals.com.au last year. The Suite was situated on the second floor and we were able to sit on the balcony and watch the beautiful sunsets while sipping on a glass of wine or two. The Suite we stayed in was clean and tidy and the king size bed was just what the doctor ordered. If you didn't want to use the stairs there was a lift available to use.

The food served for breakfast was fantastic and there was plenty of variety to choose from. We were also given a dinner for two as part of our deal and we chose to dine at the Italian Restaurant La Scala. This is their finest restaurant and provides a very romantic setting inside for couples. There is soft music being played by a pianist and candlelit tables provide just the right setting for a beautiful evening. The food was exceptional and the service was five star. This was fine dining at its best. Now for the only fault I found was that in some cases the wine was marked up by 700%. A NZ Sauvignon Blanc that you can purchase in Australia for AUD $15-18 was being sold for AUD $120 per bottle. I think that this needs to be rectified as it would turn people away from dining there. You don't mind paying 2 to 3 times the bottle price however 700% makeup is way over the top. Enough of the negatives for now.

The staff at the hotel have been exceptional and are a credit to the Resort. They are always greeting us with a smile and a hello no matter what time of the day it is. The Resort needs to be congratulated on employing and training very good staff.

One thing that was annoying outside the Hotel were the prices charged by the Tuk Tuk drivers for a trip to Patong Beach. 500 Baht one way is ridiculous and cannot be justified. I can see that they are taking advantage of the tourists visiting Phuket and believe this is quite simply highway robbery. The taxis do not use their meter and also demand you pay them 500 Baht as well. The Resort does provide a shuttle service to Patong Beach at night for 150 Baht per person return however it only allows for you to spend 2 hours there before returning to the Resort. I suggest the Resort provide an hourly service to protect its guests from the Taxi and Tuk Tuk Mafia.

It has been a fantastic stay here at Katathani and we will be definitely coming back here again soon.

Room Tip: I would recommend you book a Junior Suite with an Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wineguy1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,972 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing