We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beachside location in Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best beachside location in Phuket”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just returned to Australia after a wonderful 5 night stay at Katathani. The further south you stay along the coast of Phuket the quieter things seem to be so if you are looking for a quiet, clean beach within metres of the resort this is the place to stay. Hotel grounds are immaculate, security is plentiful to keep people from coming in off the beach and relaxing around the pool and enjoying the terrific food and cocktails is easily done. We stayed for 5 nights in a grand suite on second level and would choose the same style of room again based on location and excellent view along the beach. While the rooms aren't the most modern they are comfortable, with a choice of pillow and mattress to suit. If you are spending time in your room instead of outside by the pool or getting a massage on the beach then you need to get a life. Wifi in room was excellent speed with no dropouts. Breakfast was always worth looking forward to a good choice of western and Asian foods and a magnificent selection of Thai fruit to choose from. Shopping in nearby Kata was relaxed and enjoyable walking down the street with beer in hand. The only downside to staying here was the distance to Karon and Patong costing 400 & 600 Baht respectively but if you only do this once or twice during your stay, no big deal. Good points include very, very quiet and relaxed so sleep quality good and the cleanest, prettiest and uncrowded beach in Phuket and, although it is not a private beach, it certainly feels that way. People on TripAdvisor who are disappointed staying here must be extremely hard to please. Totally happy with Katahani Phuket Beach Resort and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tevman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,237
    1,226
    375
    141
    98
See reviews for
1,311
1,879
68
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We spent 4 days here after a whirlwind trip through Thailand for a little R & R. The resort is basically split by the road that runs through the middle, with the updated Buri Wing on the east side of the road, and the other wing (can't remember its name) on the west side of the road, next to the beach. We stayed in the Buri wing and recommend that you stay on this side if possible.

The rooms are updated with a basic contemporary style, with angled walls and balcony. If you look real close and want to find something wrong with the rooms, like a lot of my fellow reviewers do, you will see wrinkles in the sheetrock, imperfect wooden floors, and the little quirks that seem to drive folks crazy. For me, its the overall experience. For us, the room was comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. Besides, we spent most of our time outside.

The Wifi connection in the rooms is a bit weak, but the signal is strong in the lobby, plus they have a bank of 6 computers just adjacent to it, if you feel the need to communicate with the outside world.

The food at the breakfast buffet was good and there was decent variety. We enjoyed it greatly.

We ate at only one of their restaurants in the evening, and it was a disappointing experience, mostly from the service perspective. Our server was unattentive and not interested in us at all. The food was acceptable, but there was no reason for us to need 2 1/2 hours to eat, and for 6 other tables that sat well after us to order, eat and leave long before we did.

In summation, this is a very good property and I highly recommend it for the accommodations, beach, bars, and most of the folks. There are so many excellent restaurants nearby that there is no need to feel stuck with the resort ones in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We recently stayed at the Katathani resort for my brothers wedding for 2 nights with our daughter & we were really pleased. Whilst it is expensive & our room although updated was still a little tired looking we still really enjoyed our time there. The staff are lovely & the grounds are excellent. So well looked after & manicured. They have staff you will massage you in your sun lounger for a super cheap price of 350 Baht. There are plenty of sun lounges & although not all of them are around the pool they are still on grassy patches in the shade near the pools which we preferred. We dined in the Fishermans wharf for dinenr one night & we really happy & we also ate there for lunch. We also enjoyed a poolside lunch one day which was brilliant. All the restaurants we used had a kids menu & it was even avaiable poolside. Our daughter went to the kids club & although it was quiet she didn't mind because she got all the attention. We also used the hotel babysitter on the night of the wedding & she did a fantastic job & even tidied up our room again for us while we were out. Couldn't of been happier with our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bhuri wing in a deluxe Naka concept room. My only comment would be that there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We, a family of 4 including a 5 and 8 year old, stayed at the Katathani for 10 nights in April 2012. We travelled from Australia with 2 other families, so in all we were a group of 13.
We stayed in a Grand Suite room and because of the ages of our children they allowed us to all stay in 1 room. The other 2 families (who had teenagers) stayed in 2x2 inter-connecting Junior Suites in the Thani wing (so for them 4 rooms all together). Whilst they probably had more floor space, our room was definitely more luxurious & in a more convenient location.
What they don't tell you, but we noticed, was that the better the quality/price of your room, the more preferential treatment you were given. Eg at breakfast when we mentioned our room number we were given a table balcony/ocean front, the others were given a table a row or two back from the front. Also, if we booked as a group of 13 of us using our room number for "theme nights", we got a table right up the front, if we used one of their room numbers we got a location any old where... I wouldn't bother staying in the non-Thani wing. It's a fair walk away from the nicer Thani wing including restaurants & was definitely the "poor cousin" (although we didn't see inside). Lesson to be learned is splurge as much as you can on upgrading your room class....
We had been recommended this hotel by a work colleague, and it did not disappoint. Previously we stayed a couple of nights at the Graceland in the main drag in Patong (so that we could experience the main drag stuff & then remove ourselves to relax "in style"). The Graceland was by comparison starting to look tired & rundown.
Without doubt you could get cheaper options in Phuket. We were looking for a resort with a bit of class about it so we didn't inadvertantly end up mixing with football /cricket teams on end of season trips / schoolies / uni students on a budget - you know the crowd & their party party party mentality - we wanted safe, classy accommodation for our families, and we got it. (Mind you I'm sure there were bucket loads of party party party venues within a $5AUD tuk tuk fare, we just didn't look). The other hotel guests we met were basically people like us who appeared to have been after the same type of holiday - mid-upp-ish middle classers keen for a get away from it all break. So you didn't get the oft-come-across in Asia (sadly) tear away Australian kids wreaking havoc & making you long for the solitude of your room - everyone had a decent level of behaviour & respect for other guests.
The staff were lovely. Watchara (please forgive the spelling) at the omelet station in the breakfast bar was the happy smiling face who made our morning. You often hear that the staff are lovely on tripadvisor reviews. These guys went the extra mile. A little newly hatched bird fell from a palm tree beachside onto the grass and they had a gigantic ladder out trying to work out a way to get it back into the nest without mummy bird noticing (sadly baby bird did not make it through the experience, but the intention was there..)
There is a private security guard posted at the cut-through to the beach - presumably to stop locals from coming onto hotel grounds & pestering guests). He was a lovely guy, you have a chat to these people and you learn so much about the local culture and lifestyle.
One of the other Mum's went to the spa and raved about it. My husband had a poolside massage for 45mins for something ridiculous like about $10AUD & he was pleased as punch. I was just happy for the kids to have a relaxing poolside holiday with their cousins & friends - we basically got out of bathers only for dinner....
I read about 3 books.....unheard of..... bliss.
The Aussie dollar goes so far, that your mental "splurge on a cocktail poolside before dinner" in reality costs you like $4-5 tops, so the mum's had cocktails, the dad's had heinekens, the kids had every flavour of fanta under the sun.
We lived like kings & ate & drank at the resort for most of the time we were there, including a meal at the la-di-da Royal Thai restaurant on site, plus charging an external full day excursion to our room and our bill for "in house charges" was only approx $1k AUD for the 10 nights.

One negative experience was on our last afternoon, the tsunami sirens sounded as there was an earthquake somewhere off the coast of (i think) Java. The locals had terror stricken looks on their faces & high-tailed in outta there quick smart, and we had an extremely unpleasant and terrifying experience (so terrifying that we had family counselling when we got home to make sure there were no hidden beasts festering) literally what we thought "running/scrambing for our lives" (the Japanese tsunami images being fresh in our mind) up an uncleared track of virgin rainforest behind the resort. We were poolside with our family of 4 when the sirens & evacuate alarms sounded & we ran so fast we apparently beat the activation of the tsunami/crisis plan evacuation procedures of the hotel kicking in. So we scrambled & pushed & dragged each other up & after (i guess) half an hour got to the top of the mountain behind the resort. The other 2 families who we were with had to locate their teenagers from games rooms etc, so they were 2-3 minutes behind us evacuation wise. That 2-3 minutes appears to have made all the difference, because whereas we experienced terror and lack of direction (except for other guests REALLY helping the young/old/infirmed & each other in general), our friends experienced a structured, ordered evacuation plan. They ended up having to stop 1/3 - 1/2 the way up the mountain because a hornets nest was inadvertandly disturbed, but apparently they had made it to a safe location that had water & basic first aid supplies permanently stashed somewhere in the jungle.
But this is a one-in-hardly-ever event.
The Katathani represents brilliant value for money in a classy establishment where you will be made to feel like royalty, and pay less than you would pay per night for a budget motel at home in Oz.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Grand Suite room and because of the ages of our children they allowed us to all stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Holiday_Flintoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Fantastic Resort with a beachfront location. stayed for 10nights with 2 adults and 2 children aged 4/7yrs old. Friends stayed next door, we got interconnecting which was great for the kids to pop in and out of each others rooms. Breakfast included and it was fantastic so much to choose from. There were assorted restaurants and we ate at several..Great food. 6 pools and its a very large resort....Main pool is fantastic for adults and family as it has the baby pool..There is also an adults only pool. The rooms were clean and at a good size. Bathroom was large, all amenities in the room. Flat screen tv and bar fridge which is helpful...The resorts manicured grounds are amazing, the staff are very friendly, the beach is fantastic, very clean blue water...This resort has a kids club Free of Charge. Not much there for the kids but good for them to go for about 2 hours while you relax by the pool with cocktails. Across the road are a couple of restaurants and
they are all very good and cheap..Go for a massage across the road which is very cheap, about $11 or so. The resort has a great spa so we went there for a beautiful massage, more expensive but worth every cent and beautiful view of the gardens. Cheap ride to Kata Beach for restaurants and shopping. We went into patong twice and had an air conditioned van take us there, 8 of us..It was cheap. We did love arriving back at our resort. The room we had was a suite...Comfortably fits 2 ads and 2 chd. It is 1 large room....Great value....Some many beautiful resorts in phuket but this is one of my favorites and I would go back in an instant....Hope this helps for you all...

Room Tip: A suite overlooking the main pool and beach...Well worth it....There is a seperate part of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VISCIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed at the resort for two weeks, and enjoyed every second of our stay. This resort is located by the smaller Kata Noi beach and the hotel area stretches along the whole beach. That said, the hotel area is huge and is divided into two areas, the Bhuri & Thani wings. The Thani wing is located by the beach, while the Bhuri wing is on the other side of the road. Our room was in a buidling called Ocean front, and the view could not have been more perfect. It certainly was worth the extra cost.

You have several restaurants to choose from, everything from a'la carte to buffet and they were all of high quality. The buffet had different themes every night, bbq, italian etc. and included different types of shows or bands playing music. If you would like to eat outside the hotel, the Kata downtown is only a short walk away over the hill. Closest to the hotel there is a very high class restaurant, Mom Tri's kitchen which was really nice during the sunset.

At the resort there are several pool areas to choose from and the area is very well kept. There are a few pool bars, which serve tasty and cheap meals and refreshing drinks during the day. There is also a possibility to have a thai massage, manicure etc. during the day, as there were plenty of masseurs available. This together with very friendly staff made the stay perfect.

To sum it up. A high class hotel close to (or actually on the beach;) located in a very quiet area, still just a few steps to all the action at the larger Kata beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forsstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Me and my bestfriend stayed here for 10 days and it was a great experience. Every staff member we spoke to/met was lovely and helpful. Not one complaint about the cleaniness it was perfect every day. It is just a 5 minute tuktuk ride to the main part of town and great restaurants and shops along the way. I would stay here again in an instant!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizKirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,029 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing