We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Katathani”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We have just returned from 9 days at the katathani.
The hotel is lovely and is situated right on Kata Noi Beach which was beautiful, the beach was clean & uncrowded and was good for swimming,also lots of little beach shacks which were handy for lunch and drinks, and cheaper than the hotel !
We stayed in a Grand Suite in the Pacific wing on the second floor and felt it was a bit tired and dated, although it was clean, there was a musty smell in the room throughout our stay, an oil burner had been lit in the room when we arrived,which was probably to mask the smell! so we did not really notice it untill the next day.
Pool towels are provided daily to you room and also 2 free bottles of water a day.
The gardens of the hotel are lovely and very well kept, the massage ladies go around offering a choice of different massages which you can have without getting off your sunbed!
very relaxing and not expensive.
The pool area(Andaman Pool) is spacious with plenty of sunbeds, on our last few days, we did notice a lot of beds reserved with towels on them before breakfast, with no one turning up until lunchtime!
The breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of choice (Hot & Cold)
The only other on-site restaurant we ate in, was the Fisherman's Wharf, the quality of the food was good,and it was always busy, although it's more expensive than eating outside the hotel.

The hotel runs a mini bus service daily to Patong,departing from the hotel at 8.30pm( approx 30 min drive) and departing
from Patong at 11.00pm which only gives 2 hours to look around , but to be honest this was enough for us! cound'nt wait to get back to the lovely peaceful Katathani!

Overall we had a lovely holiday in Phuket and would consider staying here again as we loved the location.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank macca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,809 - 2,815 of 4,244 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2008

Stayed here for our last week of our honeymoon. It was beautiful and tranquil. We stayed in the Khata wing of the hotel, and the room was lovely. We had a congratulations cake on arrival which was nice. The room itseslf was spacious and the bathroom was kind of open. There was a nice balcony which led directly out to the swimming pool in front of us, which led over the road to the beach. The rooms have not long been refurbished and they are to a high standard. The food served is also to a high standard in all of the restaurants.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMJ110979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

My family and I had a wonderful week at the Katathani. This being our 3rd trip to Thailand, we wanted some luxury far from the maddening crowds!!!!

We spoiled ourselves by booking adjoining rooms, so that our two children (8 and 10) had their own space and we could relax to!

The rooms are lovely (Ocean wing) we had a wonderful room facing the ocean in the last block of the last complex down near the spa (sorry can't remember the room numbers, but we were on the 2nd floor).

After reading many reviews we were well equipped to make an informed decision and therefore insisted on the Ocean Wing, which is beachfront. The other part is across a quiet road and it really did'nt have the same feel (though very much part of the hotel) as the Beachfront wing.

Food, staff, room maintenance were all great. If you tire of the on site resturants their are a couple of little local cafes behind the hotel. Be brave they might not look like much, but we throughly enjoyed them and frankly they were sooooo much cheaper. Our kids got a real kick out of watching the Thai Soap operas blaring on the TVs in the resturant. It all added to the atmosphere, We caught a taxi into Kata a few times and had some nice meals, with one truly outstanding meal at Mama tris' Boathouse. This will be the meal I remember on my death bed. Glorious setting, truly exceptional food and drinks. Not cheap, but no more expensive than a good resturant in Melbourne.

If you tire of the mimimal shopping ops hire a cab and go to Phuket Town, but be wary of the traffic, it can take a long time.

I had a three hour spa treatment, which was divine, I came out smelling like a fruitsalad and was totally blissed out. It was about $100AUD, and it was a bargain in my opinion.

Would I go back, just give me the chance. We love Thailand and the Katathani was just fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Buddykins08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

Kata Thani is propably the best 4 star resort in Thailand.

Some people have been disappointed about Kata Thani. I guess the main reason is their expectation, that Kata Thani is a 5 star resort. It’s almost, but the final touch of delicacy is missing.

Kata Thani staff is friendly, pools and gardens are immaculate, restaurants are excellent (but a little bit pricey) and the Kata Noi beach propably the best in Thailand.

Kata Thani is excellent family resort, if you are travelling with small kids. For teens there are not so much to do. Almost everything was perfect, only super-egoistic Russians and drunken Englishmen were a nuisance from time to time.

I would definately recommend this resort for families with small children.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Katathani for 7 nights over Easter this year and to say that our stay was amazing would be an understatement!

The pools / rooms / grounds were fantastic and kept immaculate. Flowers were delivered to our rooms each evening and our beach towels for the day changed. Staff were effecient, friendly and very helpful. Food was above average. The buffet breakfast is excellent - everything you could possibly imagine eating is on display. I would recommend the Thai restaurant for dinner. Service and food was to die for - the chef even happily made things for us that weren't on the menu.

The spa is beautiful and very tranquil. I'd definately recommend a massage or treatment and staff will even come out and wait on the grounds around pool areas for any guests wanting a garden massage. However you can get a great massage down on the beach from people independent from the hotel for a fraction on the costs.... drinks and food bought on the beach are great also and very cheap.

One thing other people mention is not being able secure a sunbed around the pool however even though it seems very busy we always managed to find 2 sunbeds together.

Tuk Tuks or taxis into Patong are around 500 baht per trip so a little pricey. We hired a scooter from across the road for 300 Baht per day and travelled around this way. As long as you are careful I would recommend this option for saving a few $$.

All in all we had a great stay at the Katathani Hotel - its nicely out of the hussle and bussle however only a 15 minute ride into Patong or a 2 minute ride to Kata (which has some great cheap shops and restaurants).

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

It was a fantastic resort hotel, daily activities was arranged by the hotel, such as pool volley ball match, It's seems like the Club Med., all the staff were very nice and pleasant, 5 swimming pools, and 6-7 restaurants and bar, if don't want pay more in the hotel, you can try the local restaurants or one cafe just behind the hotel, but if you want to go to Patong Beach all the times, please don't stay in this hotel, daily shuttle bus to Patong Beach 8:30pm and back 11pm $150 baht for each person, and to Phuket 1pm and back around 4pm same price, otherwise you need to take the fixed price taxi to Kata town $150 Baht for one trip, if you want to spent the time with the quiet beach envirnement, It's a perfect place for relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank granite1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We went to the Katathani to get married. When we first got there we had been given a superior room, we had booked deluxe. This was sorted within a day , we were also give a complimentary meal at La Scarla one of the hotels restaurants. The food was fantastic. The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are well kept, the pools are lovely. The public beach is also stunning and much cheaper for lunch that in the hotel grounds. You can get a taxi into Kata or walk the 10 minutes and there are plenty of restaurants and bars. My mum stayed in a Junior suite, I would not really stay this was a suite more like a very large bedroom, however very clean and nice. Our wedding was amazing , they could not have done anymore for us and our guests. I would go back to this hotel again and recommend to anyone looking for a beach holiday. Kata Noi beach is less busy than Kata , but if you like busy you can walk to Kata beach in 10 min.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank leahEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,137 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,258 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £104 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing