We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't need to leave the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Copacabana, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't need to leave the resort”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We just spent a week at Katathani and really did not need to leave he resort at all. Beautiful pools and right on the beach - we found the location perfect, away from the crowds but still only a 10 min walk to Kata. The massages in the gardens are amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DebSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,219
    1,212
    370
    141
    99
See reviews for
1,300
1,860
68
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My family and I stayed at the Katathani Phuket Beach Resort to attend a wedding being held there. The wedding preparation, decoration, reception buffet and lantern lighting at night was perfect. It was a dream wedding but we were lucky because the sun came out and it was a great day. Very well organised and would recommend the resort for people looking to hold a wedding.

The resort however, firstly it is approximately 40 minutes from the airport - but traffic is so bad in Phuket it took over 1.5 hrs. The hotel itself is in a reasonable condition, the Burri Wing which has been renovated is a 3.5 star room.

The resort itself is lovely, it is very big and has 5 pools which is great for families. There are a range of free activities to join and the restaurants are very good. We tried all the restaurants and recommend the italian restaurant or the buffet which also has live music. The staff at the resort are friendly and helpful.

As the resort is quite far from attractions, we decided to join a tour to Phuket Town. The ride which should have taken 30 minutes took 1.5 hours because of the traffic. We never left the hotel resort after that experience. Obviously this is nothing to do with the hotel but is a factor when choosing this resort as it is located away from the tourist places in Phuket.

Overall, a great hotel, amazing wedding and great restaurants. This is a great resort if you are looking to stay in one place and enjoy all the facilities a hotel of this size has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparklespud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We just had a 5 night stay in the newer part of the resort and had a lovely time. Kata Noi is so peaceful compared top the rest of Phuket with no through traffic. Just enough shops to find what you want and need without the crowded markets like Kata, Patong or Phuket Town.

The beach is beautiful with white sand and not crowded.

The resort is very well maintained and the food is good, but not great. We ate at the nearby restaurants half of the time which are cheap and the food was as expected. Don't ask for a wine list as most don't have them. The resort restaurants were OK and reasonably priced. The breakfast was awesome!

If we go back to Phuket we will definitely be going to Katathani again.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which is actually the cheapest. No balcony but the room was all you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

In general, very nice place! We stayed in the Resort during one week at the beginning of November 2013. We leaved in the grand suite, very good location but better to ask the reception for the room at the 3rd floor. The view was wonderful! Spacious terrace, big bathroom with big corner bathtub and separate shower. However, we do not recommend this room for the families with children, the room is big, however it is more suitable for romantic couples. Also, if you want to have front ocean view - you should choose the junior suite ocean front room, they are located in the wing which faces the ocean, just near the beach.
The breakfasts were good, with nice variety of food. We had halfboard. The dinner in the main restaurant costs about 700-800 Batt ( about 17euro). Each evening there are different types of cuisine- Thai, Italian, Asian etc. Very tasty. We usually had lunch at the restaurant in the Hotel, quite expensive, however once we had dinner outside in the nearest restaurant Orchid - we did not like. We tasted seafood- lobster, schrimps, seafood variety. It was not tasty. The service was not good also. The prices for seafood were appr. 5-10% higher than in the Hotel seafood restaurant. However, we heard good responses of this place, so, may be we just were unlucky that evening.
We did not have any excursions but one day we ordered taxi at the hotel for 500 Batt per hour, 4 hours minimum, and asked the driver to show us some places- another beaches, Kata view point, Big Buddha, seafood restaurant. We also went to the tiger place where you can come into the cage to the tiger, strong impressions!!! Also we had so called elephant trekking. Please know that the driver will always try to drive you to the places where he receives some bonus from your shopping or services you buy, be persistent in what you want. In general, we had nice day!
If you want evening entertainments you should better go to Patong, 500 Batt by taxi one way. Night life is very bright there, you know, Thailand.
The beach is good, they say, it is one of the best beaches in Phuket. But be really careful of currents and waves, take it seriously!
In general, we enjoyed our vacation. Good hotel, very beautiful surroundings!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dmitry1380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel during November. When checking in we found the reception staff to be very blunt and rude. We first got put in a room next to the lift in the bhuri wing and could hear the constant "ding" of the lift every time it reached a floor, we got moved to another room in the bhuri wing. We did try to pay for an upgrade and move to the Thani wing but were told no rooms available ( even though websites showed there were). The room was clean but quite dated in decor. Pools shut at 8 but that seems to be the same at most hotels. Really not a lot the around the hotel so good if you would like to be out f the hussle and bustle but not good if you are looking for somewhere you can just wander to its not the best. The beach is amazing and great choice of pools and gardens are immaculately kept. Staff in Cinnamon very slow with service have to constantly try to get their attention if you want to order a drink etc. we have food poisoning from the hotel so be very careful if you are eating there. Staff by the pool were much more friendly. If you are after a resort type feel without a personalised feel you will like this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phuketholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

stayed here in November in a newly refurbished junior suite, really nice hotel much bigger than I had imagined, rooms were very nice, but during my stay I only came across 1 other couple at breakfast, and a couple on the beach who spoke English. this hotel is mainly accommodating Russians, the menus are Russian and English, but feels more Russian friendly in the whole kata area. Nothing against this community, but we like to meet and chat with new people and they tend to not speak English or prefer there own company. There are a couple of bars and restaurants opposite. but not good quality food, if you get a taxi into kata it is a fixed fare of 200 baht or 300 into karon, I though this was quite expensive for Thailand as we had paid only 40 baht for the same distance in krabi.
I would definitely recommend dinner at the Shore hotel in the Harbour restaurant, great prices amazing food and very attentive staff.

Room Tip: go for a junior suite on the ground floor near to reception as this a very big resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank earthexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband & I stayed in a Grand Suite for 10 nights and absolutely loved it. Our room was spacious, clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean (ground floor room 1106)
The balcony was lovely to sit at in the afternoon sun and sip on cocktails (happy hour prices seemed to be available all day). The aircon worked perfectly and was a relief during the hot days.

The resort is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Patong but close enough by courtesy shuttle (150baht return approx $4.50AUD, compared with 500 baht each way by tuk tuk or taxi) if we wanted a few hours in town. We loved the pools, spent most of our time around the beach club bar and pool. Plenty of beach lounges around the pools and immaculate grassed areas.

Bar/restaurant/housekeeping/concierge staff etc were always smiling and friendly and always helpful if needed.

We ate at Fisherman's Wharf most nights, the meals were always delicious. Breakfast offered many varieties of food and we couldn't fault it.

The beach was the best we've ever experienced, cheap lounges $100 baht for the day ($3AUD)
We'd give the resort a 10/10 and will hopefully return one day.

Room Tip: Our room was spacious, clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean (ground floor room 1106) It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing