We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location but poor service”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The resort is located right on the beach and provides a number of pools to enjoy. The highlight was the great beach with pristine water. Although the resort has a number of restaurants near the ocean, the food was average. My wife and I were very disappointed with the service we received by the resort staff. They had a negative attitude when asked about anything that did not have to do with the resort. They also charged for WIFI in your room and the internet reception was poor near the pool. We stayed in the Bhuri wing which was nothing special. Overall, we were disappointed with our stay, but enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluedevil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Bluedevil07
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry to hear that your stay here at Katathani didn’t meet your expectations.
There are 6 different restaurants at Katathani that offer several types of cuisine; Thai , international, Italian, and seafood. This allows us to satisfy the different preferences of most of our guests. I am sorry that our food didn’t meet your expectations.
We’re sorry that you received service that preempted you to write this complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that it has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we’ve notified the proper department of your complaint, and we will do our best to improve the service of our employees.
Please be assured that we’ve taken corrective measures to prevent such occurrences in the future.
Thank you again for your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the magnificent view of Kata noi!

Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    1,212
    368
    140
    98
See reviews for
1,298
1,856
67
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Overall, we found this a bit too sedate (dull) for us (not that we were looking for a wild time, either). Limited choices for food or entertainment in the immediate (walkable) area, although the breakfast buffet was nice.

Our first room in the Bhuri wing was disappointing, and the ocean views were a little distant and obscured by palm trees. After several problems with our room, management very kindly upgraded us to the Thani wing (thank you very much to the helpful staff), which was indeed a beautiful large, comfortable room with a very good view.

(There is a 3rd, older, cheaper wing further away, and you need to cross a small access road to get to/from the beach and main pools from there).

The staff were very friendly and the resort was well maintained. But apart from the great room (Junior suite) in the Thani wing, overall this did not live up to our expectations and we would not stay again or recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tobyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed one week at Katathani with our little one (20 months) and we fully enjoyed our stay. Our kid loved the Andaman pool, which is a great pool to learn swimming, they also provide many toys for free. Almost all rooms at the newer Thani Wing were we stayed have seaview, so this was great as well. We requested a top level room and there was no noise from street. Service was also very good, prompt and friendly, we complained about mattress and within 30 minutes they replaced them!

The only thing keeping me from giving this 5 points are the Dinner options, which we found average but at high cost and the architecture, which is one massive three level building. The breakfast was very good though with tons of options and speedy service, and the many palms they planted make you feel at home. For Dinner we went out mostly.

Note - they have two providers they work with for elefant trekking:, Siam Safari, a very good one according to tripadvisor ratings, and Amazingbukit, with some less stellar tripadvisor ratings. I suggest you consult information on you operator prior to booking the elefant trekking, to avoid any surprises.

Room Tip: Thani Wing has much larger pool areas and you do not need to cross street when going to beach (unlik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear MarcSwiss
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to read that you and your family fully enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your kind compliments towards our service and facilities.
However I am sorry that our restaurants didn’t meet your expectations.
I hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the katathani. The hotel is so well kept and the beach is beautiful. I would definitely recommend staying in the Thani wing over the Bhuri wing. Rooms are much nicer and outlook is much better. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a junior suite in the Thani wing. It was just perfect as we have two small children. The room was spacious, well set out and well appointed. It was nice and light and airy. The pools are amazing. The kids loved the slide and we loved the Coconut bar at Sunset. The resort is massive so be prepared to walk. Kids club is situated in the Bhuri wing so it is a fair hike from the Thani wing. The food was cheap and all nice. There are heaps of different restaurants to eat at. We didn't get to sample any as it was a bit hard to take the kids out as they were exhausted by six pm. My husbands sister got married while we were there. The weddings they do are fabulous. The setting is amazing, the food is fabulous and they have a good selection of beverages including white wine. It is approx a $15 ride each way to patong.

Room Tip: Go the Thani wing. More expensive of course but worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emwhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Emwhal
Thank you very much for your kind review on TA.
Your compliments towards our staff and facilities are very much appreciated.
I am very happy to read that you and your family really enjoyed your stay with us.
Congratulations to your husband’s sister wedding! Indeed our weddings here are very romantic and well organized.
I hope you and your family will come to visit us again in the near future!
Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

There are two wings of the Hotel -- you definately want the Thani wing as it is on the beach. In the Thani wing there are "ocean front" and "ocean view" rooms -- not much difference; it's all good. Pick a second or third floor room if you want to see the beach/ocean; first floor rooms are blocked by low bushes. The pools are great as are the restaurants. The buffet breakfast is very good, but gets a little old if you stay a week (as I did). The room rates go up Nov 1. Nov gets much more rain than does Dec, Jan, Feb, March (per local data). I was there late Nov and had rain the first three days, clear the next four. You never know, but keep this in mind when considering when to go.

Room Tip: Thani wing; second or third floor to get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlennDetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear GlennDetrick

Thank you very much for your review on TA.
I am very happy to read that you had a great stay.
We all hope you will visit us again in the near future.
sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent a week with friends at the Katathani hotel. We loved it the moment we entered the hotel. The area around the hotel was very quiet and peaceful and no traffic at all, just a place we friends needed to hang around by ourselves. The pools are huge and just by the beach. The beach too is really nice and kind of private. The view is just amazing at sunset when you sit by the pool for a drink.

Perfect place for a honeymoon......

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 3 different hotels in Phuket and this was by far the best in value, food and location.

Out of kata, karon and patong beach, kata noi beach right outside the resort is the nicest beach by far, not too busy and quality is the best! Plus it's so cosy because it's not as big as the others.

The hotel is so nice, we stayed in a room facing the ocean but I would have paid more for 2nd or 3rd level. The buffet bkfast is the best we had, I'm into sweets and they had waffles, donuts, cake, pancakes, French toast, whipped cream every day! The buffet dinners are worth it, only 750 baht compared to 1500 baht we paid at another resort. The room has jive decor and bed super soft which we liked after sleeping on what felt like cardboard mattresses in khao Sok national park. The only thing is I probably wouldn't get room service because it is overpriced for what you get. So many lounge chairs near the pools and on the grass.

Just a perfect resort really, would definitely be back the next time we are in Phuket!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank snad1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing