We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The setting of this hotel is wonderful without a doubt. What the developer chose to do with the setting, that's a different thing. The sea view junior suite, probably initially intended to imitate the Thai traditional design, uses some of the cheapest materials and furnishing I have ever seen in a 3 star hotel let along a 5 star wanna' be one. All the walls are covered in painted fiberboard (???), the floor is covered in cheap tiles and the bathroom is just ugly. The overall surface of this type of room does not exceed 40 sqm, very small if you think of the average junior suite size in Thailand. On the other hand, the staff is very very helpful, and most of them speak English very well (surprisingly). One particular guy (Jonathan) was very nice and provided full assistance and help throughout our short stay at this hotel. Conclusion, definitely not worth the money they are asking for a room (junior suite especially) and definitely not a 5 star hotel. I would give the hotel 3 stars at the most. One last funny thing is that we wanted to upgrade to a villa at their sister hotel (The Shore) and we have inquired on the rates for this villa/night. I do not want to write the price but let me just mention that I have checked the Four Seasons in Koh Samui for the same period and the Beach Front Villa was cheaper!!! and I'm not trying to promote the Four Seasons by any means!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sotouke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Soutuke
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that our resort, especially our Junior Suite Ocean front didn’t meet your expectation in terms of design and size.
Regarding your kind compliments towards the service our Service Center employee Jonathan delivered, I would like to sincerely thank you. I've passed on your compliments to the Front Office department and all of the other departments. This response is an excellent example of the service that we constantly strive to provide and an ideal pattern for other staff to follow.
Please kindly be informed that the period you travelled is our Peak season. Everywhere in Phuket the prices of accommodation rises during these festive weeks.
However I wish you a great New Year 2014 and I hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to Katathani or The Shore in the near future.

Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,530 - 1,536 of 4,247 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The setting is perfect and our room in a junior ocean-front suite in the Thani wing provided all the facilities we needed. King-size bed, well-equipped bathroom with splendid shower, plenty of clothes hanging space, table and chairs,TV, fridge, kettle, room-safe and a balcony overlooking the superb view of the Andaman Sea and the whole sweep of the foreshore. Imediately below in front of our wing, a large lawn with plenty of loungers and (essential) sun umbrellas. All the gardens at the resort are immaculately manicured and beautifully kept. There are six swimming pools and three jacuzzis. And the poolside Coconut Bar is perfect for Happy Hour cocktails and after-dinner drinks. There is also a bar just outside the main reception where wifi is free.
Breakfasts in the main Chom Talay restaurant provided for all tastes and appetites and overall the food was good.. The themed dinners in the same restaurant were less good. We had beef one night so tough you could have used it to sole your shoes. But at the upmarket La Scala Italian restaurant we had a great meal with some of the best prosciutto I've ever tasted.Lobster Thermidor at The Fisherman's Wharf was disappointing - ditto the overpriced wine. But on the main road just outside the resort there are some excellent Thai restaurants, notably the Orchid. There is also a mini supermarket opposite the main gate with a good selection of wines, beers , spirits and snacks. But some of the items are actually cheaper in the hotel's own supermarket. The staff are friendly, helpful and unfailingly cheerful. The one problem we had was with the timing of Katathani's own limo which we hired to take us to and from the airport. The return time they advised us seemed wrong when we checked our itinerary. The assistant at reception said he had checked the flight time and it was correct. We insisted that he phone the airline. Our itinerary was right and he was wrong. The car was re-timed and so no problem. But no apology either for the mistake. But putting that aside, we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Boband Annie,
Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback thru Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you had a great holiday and that you liked our resort’s facilities and our service.
I do apologize regarding the misunderstanding of the airport transfer time, as well the behavior of our reception staff up on your check out. Certainly this is not our standard and I have already informed the concerned department to train the staff.
I am glad you enjoyed our wide breakfast selection as well enjoyed the delicious food at our Italian Restaurant La Scala, however I am very sorry to hear that our Theme buffet restaurant and the Fisherman’s Wharf Restaurant didn’t meet your expectation in terms of food and beverage.
We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Shores of Serenity in the near future.

Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Katathanni is set on one of the best beaches in Phuket , but main gem is the Hotel & Staff
Beautiful Gardens & Pools over look the beach which has an awesome sunset best taken with a Phuket Long Island iced-tea Cocktail. Hotel staff are amazing nothing too much trouble from check in to house keeping. Looking forward to our 6th visit in 2014

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear ColinW52
Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback thru TA. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and our service.
We all wish you a wonderful New Year 2014 and we are looking forward to welcome you back to the Shores of Serenity for your 6th visit!
Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is OK. I think there are much nicer hotels in Karan and Kata areas. The architecture is outdated, the rooms are dated and the facilities are average, especially breakfast and the gym. At off season, the price is possibly OK, but in the peak the price was way too high. The beach is nice, though and so is the beach club area and restaurant next to the beach club.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are nice. Seems the garden/pool view is nice and heard the second floor was good. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DirkTid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear DirkTid
Thank you for your review posted on TA.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful Kata noi Beach, as well our Beach Club and restaurants.
However I do apologize that our resort didn’t meet your expectation.
I wish you and your family a great Year 2014!

Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked 3 rooms to celebrate my 60th birthday and Christmas as a family. In my opinion this is one of the best locations in the area with direct access to a lovely beach, 6 pools, tennis, 2 gyms, spa and I don't know how many restaurants and bars with good quality, reasonably priced food.
The hotel certainly isn't cheap and the quality of the rooms in the Bhuri wing was disappointing. We had a junior suite which was smaller than I expected but it did have a fabulous view of the gardens and the sea.
The service was excellent and the facilities were outstanding with a wonderful team of sports staff to keep you fit!
The only serious concern I had was that having already payed a higher rate to stay over Christmas, we were forced to pay the equivalent of £120 per person to attend a gala dinner on the 24th December. Despite explaining that we had no wish to attend such a function, it just wasn't our thing, we were told we still had to pay and the only way to avoid this was to check out for the night.
As someone whose career was in customer service, I can't understand how they can reconcile striving to provide the highest levels of customer care whilst compelling their guests to spend a fortune on something they don't want to do.
What a shame as this really is a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the Thani wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear LLWorldwide,
Happy New Year 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TA.
Your kind compliments towards our staff and the provide service I very much appreciated. I am also very happy to ready that you fully enjoyed our facilities and restaurants options.
I am sorry that our rooms at the Bhuri Wing didn’t meet your expectation; however I am happy to read that you enjoyed the fabulous sea view from our Junior Suite.
As stated in our website, and also we have informed all travel agencies, the Gala Dinner at Christmas and New Year is compulsory for bookings during this period.
Our guests know this in advance when booking the room. However I do apologize if this policy did disappoint you.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our first visit to Thailand and Phuket. We wanted a hotel with direct access to the beach but didn't want noisy nightlife and we felt we made the perfect choice.
We had a junior suite in the Thani wing. We were in block 5 on the first floor with a fantastic sea and beach view so would recommend this spot!
The hotel is not the prettiest we have stayed in - a lot of concrete and lots of rows of rooms split into blocks. However our room was very comfortable and the view more than made up for it! Overall a good quality four star hotel.
Great to have supermarkets outside the hotel to top up drinks and snacks. Great tailors opposite called Amorns if you want some clothes made - special treat!!
The staff were all friendly and helpful. Had a few massages from the ladies in the garden. Wow - still can't believe the value, just 400 bhts for an hours massage.
The weather was generally good with a few showers. Sea was quite rough most days so no swimming but fun jumping the waves!
We ate at Fishermans Wharf, Chom Talay and La Scala. All were excellent but our favourite definitely the Italian. Didn't try the buffet as breakfast was good but noisy and a bit like a canteen so we didn't fancy that in the evening. We also tried The Harbour at the shore. Great location and very reasonable so worth a try.
We booked a meal at Mom Tri's Villas for our last night which was beautiful. Easy access from steps at the top of the beach.
We went into Kata a couple of times and did boat trips to Phi Phi and Phang Nga which were well worth it. Looking around the island we felt we had picked the perfect place to stay and had a very enjoyable time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DaisyWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear DaisyWatford
I would like to thank you for your kind review posted on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to read that you liked our Junior Suite and the amazing sea view from there.
Your kind compliments towards our staff and service is very much appreciated.
We wish you a wonderful New Year 2014 and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at Katathani from 16 December till 26 December 2013. Definitely we will return to this hotel. Our stay was amazing starting from the first day. Perfect location, perfect territory, perfect beach, perfect and polite personnel. Room was awesome, breakfast can satisfy any food preferences. I strongly recommend to you to visit this hotel, especially with you significant other or with your family (good for children).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vadim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Vadim U

Thank you for your kind review posted on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to read that you had a amazing stay, and that you found our location perfect
Thank you also for your kind compliments towards our staff.
I am glad you also enjoyed our restaurants.
Thank you also for recommending our resort to your friends.
I wish you a Happy New Year 2014 and we hope you will visit us again in the near future!
sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,144 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,259 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £105 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing