We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week at Katathani”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at the Katathani Phuket Beach Resort. I was a little worried at first because I had read some bad reviews however we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Our room was lovely, plenty of room clean and quiet. We had views over the pool. The staff were friendly and helpful. A large resort that had at least 6 pools. We tried most of them. The gardens were impeccable.The beach was clean and private. Plenty of restaurants to chose from in the resort however we chose to try the restaurants in the local area. They were great and good value for your money. Tons of things to do during the day. I especially recommend this resort for kids as they are well catered for and there is plenty of room for them to run around. The one that were there were no bother to us.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donnav484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,221)
There are newer reviews for Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,443 of 4,221 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon and cannot wait to bring our kids back here. The most beautiful resort with well kept grounds, lovely staff and a relaxing atmosphere. We never had a bad meal here. Highly recommend the Katathani.

Room Tip: Buri wing is set back a bit further and doesn't get as much wind.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ljmoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here on our way home after a week on Koh Yao.

This is a large resort, but the grounds and the public areas/pools are nice and very large, so you never feel crowded. The beach is nice, but be wary of the currents in the water - they seemed strong, especially for inexperienced swimmers.

Our room was spacious (we had a junior suite) and clean, with nice views of the ocean. The staff was friendly and helpful. After one night, we asked to upgrade to a villa at The Shore next door and the front desk and bellboys fell over themselves to help us get that done.

We only ate one meal at the hotel, but they served reasonably priced and fresh Thai food (at the beachfront restaurant - Captains's Wharf I think).

Not a luxury resort, but well worth the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GriffinSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in October 2010 for 10 nights in the Thani wing. Room was amazing and still to this day bathroom and tub is unforgettable, since staying here we have done a lot of traveling and have not had a bathroom that has compared. Was so pretty what they had done with pebbles. Loved sitting out on our balcony watching the weddings that happened daily and sometimes even with baby elephant. Loved the massages you could have on grass area around pool and out the front of room. Buffet breakfast was great and enjoyed a few dinners at night during our stay. Pools were lovely but mainly used one near our room. Location was peaceful and relaxing, we enjoyed our stay here and was glad to be away for the hussle and bussle. Our whole stay we used the same tuk tuk driver who would sit out the front of resort near little shop. He was lovely. Would we stay here again? Most definitely. Would we recommend to family and friends? Yes.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jazzie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I visited the Katathani back in December and were blown away with how beautiful the property was and how friendly the staff were.
The resort sits on a gorgeous private beach that is HUGE! The sand is clean and the water is clear. While snorkeling by the rocks we saw purple sea stars and a variety of different colored fish.
The restaurants on property were all delicious and again...everyone was so friendly. We didn't have to leave the resort at all because everything was right there. We even booked our trip to Phi Phi island right there in the lobby :)
We can't wait to go back! I highly recommend this beautiful resort!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CAlove75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in the hotel in October 2013. We chose Superior Bhuri Wing room and we liked it very much. The room was very comfortable and big, right near the small pool, very cosy and nice. The breakfast was served right near the Wing in the restaurant so was very convenient to wake up in the morning and go directly to have breakfast. The pools and restaurant choice in the resort is amazing, food selection is just great with reasonable prices for eating on the territory of the hotel. The beach right near the hotel is the public beach so you have to pay for the sun beds however we decided to lay down right near the pool or on the grass where there are plenty of hotel beds and went for swimming to the beach, very good option! The beach itself is gorgeous, like in the movies, white sand and blue water, very beautiful and warm! We also used a lot the gym on the territory of the hotel and the tennis court both are of very good quality and the tennis couch was really good! We ordered a couple of trips through the hotel reception - will highly recommend the elephant safari, we enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff was very, very nice. Breakfast is open for a long time, so you can sleep in if you want. The food was fine, if rather bland. It leaned far too much on Western fare. Only 2-3 dishes on offer were Thai food out of a long buffet.

The tour desk could use improvement. When asked the difference between various tours and the person behind, the desk didn't have any answers. They basically seem to pass out brochures and make bookings. Better to do your own research.

A little confusion when we first arrived, as we had asked for one king bed but were taken to a room with two queen beds that had very little room and a strange layout. Staff resolved that quickly and it's a reminder to ask nicely for a different room if the one you get first is deficient.

They offer a number of included activities, from yoga to Thai boxing to cooking classes. Most are free, so take advantage!

Wifi is free in the common areas, which was fine for us. Had to type in security codes over and over, but that's typical these days. If you're expecting to get work done in your room, however, you'll have to pay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xeno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear xeno111,
Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you thought our staff was friendly and helpful in quickly resolving your room situation. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the level of service and knowledge of our Tour Desk. Please be informed that our staff’s are currently undergoing intensive re-training, including English lessons, to improve service and communications. We are glad that you enjoyed our excellent location and the activities and facilities that Katathani offers! We would be honored to welcome you again in the near future!
Best Regards,
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,021 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £98 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing