We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Katathani”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had an eight night stay at the Kata Thani, located in a ground floor junior suite in the Thani Wing, overlooking the ‘Peace Pool’ (adults only quiet pool which was bliss) – perfectly located for us. The hotel is very large but it doesn’t feel as though it is, although it is a little impersonal. Our room was spacious, very clean with a huge bed that was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Towels were changed very regularly.
The massage ladies who circulate in the grounds do a great job, they are very professional in their pedicures etc and well worth the charges which are very cheap (compared to UK). However, massage on the beach is expert and even cheaper but you don’t get the frills – but who cares when the background sound is the ocean?

Breakfast at the hotel is superb – the fresh fruit is amazing. We ended up having a three course breakfast – fruit followed by fried egg or omelette and toast and then lovely fresh croissants. I just loved the fruit in particular – pomelo, guava, watermelon, dragon fruit, and the lovely small sweet bananas.

We ate at Fishermans Wharf on our first night but found the service a little too obtrusive and the food unexceptional. Lunch at the hotel was fine – one club sandwich between the two of us worked well. And the lovely non alcoholic drinks served in a fresh young coconut were blissful. There are a couple of small beach cafes which offer basic sandwiches too.
In the evenings we ate outside the hotel, finding the thai Restaurant called ‘Ta’ up a little side street to serve good fresh food – it was always busy and we found the staff very helpful if you wanted your food a bit less spicy.
It is about a 15 minute walk into Kata with its hustle and bustle, we only went once during the day when the weather was a bit dull and cloudy and took a taxi in one evening (this should cost 200 baht), had a good meal and walked back.
The beach is gorgeous fine sand but the sea was quite rough with an undertow during our stay, but it was lovely and warm.
Overall we had a very relaxing stay at the Katathani.

Room Tip: ground floor is very convenient for pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 4,247 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

we have just returned home from the most amazing holiday. The Katathani is a beautiful place where nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Our room was perfect so clean and very large with the best air con I have ever needed. Beach towels were changed every evening from your room. The buffet was very good breakfast and evening with so much choice. I can not find one fault to add to this review other than the holiday ended far too soon. The massage ladies were brilliant . Our holiday rep from Hayes and Jarvis / hotel beds abroad Jasmin looked after us and sent us on some amazing trips all very we'll run and very good value. We stayed there for 10 nights in a grande suite looking onto the beach. There is never any need to panic for a bed chair as there are plenty, although people still felt the need to get towels out early , and for a silly amount of money 200bt you can have 2 chairs and a brolly directly on the beach . It's easy to get about taxes and tut tuts directly outside and again very good prices .

Room Tip: Grande suite high rooms. Lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssexMaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great rooms, friendly, helpful staff, this massive hotel (I believe somewhere in the region of 550 rooms) is amazing.
Don't let that amount of rooms put you off, the grounds are also huge, so you are rarely sat on top of someone else.
There are several pools, bars and restaurants, too many to cover in one visit .....
So it looks like I'll have to go back :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank stupot1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stay one week in this hotel and it is very very nice and well maintained. The workers are very friendly. Just be aware that this is a family hotel and the the hotel do not have a own beach! If you want a sun-bed on the beach you have to pay additional 200bath. Another point to be aware is that out side the hotel there are only few restaurants. If you want to find more you have to walk to the next town ca 20min walk or take a cab.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gimo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went and stayed 10 nights in a Jnr. Poolside suite, for the ridiculous price we payed which was considered good by family and friends whom had stayed there previously the room was dated the bathroom mouldy and would smell, the ground were beautiful however I feel the resort was in need of a good re-do and make over.
The beach infront was breathtaking and staff helpful.
Location however was out of Phuket itself, and often hard to get transport easily, not within walking distance of much.
However, we had a good stay and did enjoy it. Staff were always very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I actually stayed at this location with two coworkers (triple accommodation) over five years ago but have never forgotten what a beautiful and relaxing resort it was. From the other reviews, sounds like it is still worthwhile. Seemed a bit of a distance from the airport but we paid for transportation to/from the resort (by Mercedes) ahead of time. The pools, buffet restaurant and other venues were excellent. Thai friendliness and hospitality was evident all around. Lush tropical paradise looking out at the Andaman Sea with green foliage on the mountains behind us. Worth every cent (and it was fairly reasonable). Do go there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyGarofano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The reservation I made was for the katathani resort 5 stars, when we arrived the air conditioning was not working and the room smell terrible, when we asked to change our room they denied. We had to paid an upgrade after all this discomfort and when we paid the upgrade they took us to the real katathani!!! We were in a hostal across!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Floresclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Floresclau,
Thank you for writing a review. We regret that we were not able to satisfy your expectations. We appreciate your feedback about the room condition and will take steps to include your concerns in our yearly improvements. We apologize for the issues that you faced. As a seaside property with high humidity, we do everything possible to limit the humidity in rooms and are working on new solutions. As we were fully booked for your room type during the period of your stay was it impossible to move for you to another room within the same price bracket, therefore changing rooms as per your request required moving you to the next higher room category which was the result of the fair price increase. I hope that you are able to understand the situation from our standpoint and that it did not cause you too much inconvenience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Katathani soon so that you may experience the new improvements on our rooms!
Best Regards,
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,145 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,258 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £105 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing