We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Family Friendly Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Friendly Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a lovely time staying at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort during April 2014. We stayed for 7 nights with our 2 children aged 3 & 8 years. We were in a Junior Suite directly opposite the Jim Thompson silk shop. Our room had a king size bed and a day bed so we did have to share with our 3 year old but there was plenty of room. The bed was super comfy too. The room was very clean and comfortable with a balcony looking out to the garden and a small glimpse of ocean.
The buffet breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choices bikth hot and cold and it was lovely to sit and look out upon the beautiful grounds and Kata Noi Beach.
Our kids loved the swimming pools and tried out all of them. They also spent a few hours at the kids club with a babysitter which they also enjoyed. Our kids also enjoyed the Easter egg hunt on Easter Sunday.
The beach was lovely and clean, not at all crowded and the water was so clear and warm. Absolutely beautiful.
I can't comment on the restaurants as we did eat at the numerous small restaurants along the opposite side of the road which were cheap and delicious. Laundry can be done up the road too for 80baht/kg.
The resort taxis were very reasonably priced in comparison to tuk-tuks and the drivers were extremely friendly and accommodating of our many questions on local Phuket life.
All in all we had a wonderful time here and were very happy with our choice to be out of the rat race of Patong etc.

Room Tip: Our Junior Suite in the Thani wing was great. Close to the lobby, shops, pools etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMF7250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    1,179
    353
    137
    95
See reviews for
1,253
1,815
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here 2 nights of a 16 night trip to Khao Lak & Phuket.

Lovely resort, Well maintained grounds. Great beachfront location.

Stayed in Thani wing - Junior Suite. Room was well appointed and spacious although there was a bit of a damp odour in the room.

Enjoyed the resort although it was at full capacity so very busy. Several pools to choose from, all with kids areas.

Beach was beautiful although the tidal pull was quite strong. Noticed the temperature was a bit cooler than some other Phuket beaches. Still very warm waters though.

Resort is protected from outsiders so they can't take advantage of the facilities so entrance from the beach to resort is only at a few places. If you like swimming in both the pools and beach you need to select a chair by the access area, and need to get a chair early.

Quite a lot of groups here including a wedding group and so it wasn't as peaceful as it may be in a quieter month.

Breakfast was good and plenty of options to please. The restaurants were very expensive compared to other resorts we stayed in. There are some restaurants on the street behind but they are a bit basic and you view the back of the resort so not ideal.

Kids club was attractive with an outside play area. Lots of craft activities but not much outside the kids club so there weren't many kids in there.

Overall a nice resort in a good location.

Room Tip: Thani wing - Junior Ocean Front Suite was in the middle of the resort. Beach front was at the end bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockabella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent five nights at the Katathani beach resort in Phuket, and it was really difficult to say goodbye! We came for a girl's relaxation week to enjoy the beautiful water's of Phuket. This hotel has full access to the most wonderful beach, Kata Noi. The hotel is lovely, with palm trees all around the grounds, pools everywhere (I think four in total) and nice amenities for a quiet stay. Checking into the hotel was a breeze and the lobby is beautiful and smells wonderful. We were greeted with cool towels, a fruity punch, and leis. All the ladies were thrilled. We had three rooms in two different wings, but both had beach front views with lanias to sit and watch the ocean and/or pools. The Junior suits were modest in size but very comfortable. They had small refrigerators and a hot water maker for tea or instant coffee. They had a scent infuser to help with room mustiness, (but this is a common problem in the tropics.) The bathroom has shutters that open to view the outside while bathing, so the privy is not so private. However, the shower and tub were separate and of ample size. We had free wi-fi in the room although you had to continually log on to the hotel server for access. Just have your smartphone remember your code, or better yet, use your brain and memorize the easy codes!
Breakfast was plentiful, with offerings from many counties. Thai, Indian, American, European, Australian dishes were prepared daily. However, after 7 May 2014 that location will be closed for renovation. The morning breakfast is being moved to an alternate location. We noticed that several wings are currently under renovation, but the noise and mess was not a problem at all. I must say, there are deluxe rooms up against the street that appeared to be quite noisy, so try and get at least a junior suite. Then enjoy the beautiful pools and the glorious sea. We rented the beach chairs daily on the beach (not affiliated with the hotel, 200 baht for two chairs and an umbrella) and would split our time from the beach to the pool, which is surrounded by cool palm trees and grasses.
Kata is a short walk from the hotel (20 minutes). There are 75 steps up to the street and a winding road. I wouldn't walk it at night! There are excellent restaurants nearby, but the hotel is not really very active at night. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the place. It is the beautiful resort at the end of the road with the GREAT beach and beautiful pools!

Room Tip: Get the juniors suites for a wonderful ocean view and quiet nights rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Firstly, this hotel is exactly what you pay for. A lovely resort, with a relatively clean and quiet beach away from the craziness that is Patong or Karon Beaches (yuck), and a good range of amenities.
We enjoyed 8 days here. The room we actually booked was fine with a great view, although very musty from the dampness. Breakfasts good, didn't eat here for dinner as too expensive and prefer real Thai.
We found several good places behind the hotel for dinner, and some good lunch places on the beach that are much cheaper. Kata is only a 200-250 baht taxi ride away if you want to select one of the many good places there. Not an issue.
We found the service pretty good. Didn't have any issues (apart from check in, see below) with other staff.

A few cons:
- this is a resort where people reserve seats around the pool very early, which is a pet hate of mine but ok if you are close enough to the pool and keen to do this. Drives me crazy - towels could be there half a day with know one in them, this hotel needs to alter this policy for the comfort of all guests.
-it is a true 'resort' so don't book if you want peace and tranquillity. Its a great family place.
- We booked months in advance a junior ocean front suite. We did get a good deal, but this booking was confirmed. However on check in we were informed we were 'upgraded'. Having really studied the options I knew this wasn't good, and sure enough we got a bigger room, but it was looking right in to the restaurant, was old and a smoking room. I asked very politely 3 times for the original type of room. We had options of looking in to another building, beside the lift or nothing. When I finally threw my toys out of the cot and said I would just like what I booked, suddenly one became available. Really disappointed they tried this on with us. I'm sure they do it to many and it soured our whole impression of the hotel. I do think other reviews are right that its all about the $$ with these guys.

If you have done your research and know what you want, this place is a good one to stay at, and the beach is definitely one of the best (as far as Phuket goes, which is another story entirely!). Just make sure you are clear with what you want and don't get shoved somewhere else!

Room Tip: Thani wing - Junior Ocean Front Suites have good views and seem relatively up to date, although a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiontour34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights end of April.

The things we liked:
* The staff is fantastic. Always smiling, very helpful and speak good English.

- Kata Noi beach is beautiful. There are sun loungers for hire, and you can get a massage on the beach. Be careful if you go for a swim though the waves are deceptively powerful and we got dumped twice in a row by 2 huge waves! It would've been funny but I hurt my knee badly and couldn't walk on it for 2 days luckily the hotel had a wheelchair.

- They have a large air conditioned lounge where you can hang around and wait for your flight after you check out. Has comfy couches, computers, tv, showers and bathrooms.

- Our room (Jnr Suite, Thani Wing) was comfortable and spacious, and close to the pools, beach and restaurants. It is definitely worth forking out more for one of these rooms..

Could be better :
- You have to purchase Wifi for your room and its slow and a bit temperamental. The first night we got it, it didn't work for the first couple of hours and drove my tech head hubby mad.

If you are thinking of staying here, bear in mind it is quite far from Kata center and Patong. A taxi to Patong costs 400-500 baht each way, which quickly adds up. If you're looking for a more secluded and quiet holiday destination then this hotel would be perfect.

For an exciting end to your relaxing holiday, may I recommend the resort's airport transfer. For just 1100 baht you can have an authentic rally-style ride to the airport in the hotel's Toyota Camry.

The ride starts of seemingly normal and boring, (just like most roller coasters), but be warned this is merely a ploy to lure you into a false sense of safety and security. About 10 minutes into the ride the fun begins.

Hold on for dear life as the driver whips around 30km/h cliff corners at high speeds, tailgating any motorist in front of him with fierce aggression and determination.

Slamming the accelerator down to the floor to overtake anything (and everything) he can, then suddenly and sporadically jamming on his brakes to avoid collisions, your stomach and sphincter will be screaming for help as you endure G-Forces that only astronauts and fighter-jet pilots typically train for.

Watch Phuket blur by as you go hurtling down 60km/h roads at 120km/h (not kidding- hubby saw the speedo) through red lights and overtaking other cars like they are going backwards. Swerving and weaving in and out of traffic, narrowly missing kerbs, trees, people, cars, trucks, scooters and my personal favourite, oncoming traffic.

For the purist adrenalin junkies out there, or those of you who don't fear death, leave your seatbelt off for a heightened experience (of terror).

Don't worry - you will make it to the airport with record time to spare for a good strong coffee (or 2) and 5 cigarettes to settle your nerves, plus a much needed change of underwear!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LozLovesBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Good: Location is perfect as it is close to several good restaurants and beach. The public beach across the road is perfect, good sand and peaceful. The rooms are okay, little out dated but good. The food at breakfast and salads for in room dining is good.

Bad: Toilet in the room is like a toilet on a fishing boat! The quality of service when compared to other hotels Phuket is rude and low. We arrive at 12 noon and was promised to have the rooms ready at 1500. At 1530 one was ready but the bellboy was no where in sight for another 20 minutes. While the other room needed 40 minutes.

Ugly: The Espresso machine not working during breakfast and the management is unaware that they have other machines and could have it replaced. Offered an espresso at the end of my day as a compensation (thank you but won't help at the time).

Many hotels with similar location but way better service. No personal service what so ever.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 8 nights. Accommodation and facilities fantastic. All very clean and the location of the beach is one of the best.

I suspect the mixed reviews are due to the staff. They just do not appear happy or interested. Very unusual for a thai resort.

The main area like other reviews is the poor service and cocktails associated with the cocunut bar. Fantastic location. Cocktails the worst I have had and I suspect this is why it is rarely busy despite the great location.

In summary enjoy the beach and the facilities but do not expect a nice welcome


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing