We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect..”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfect with everything.. nice rooms, nice location, nice service, nice foods in restaurant. And the stuff is very happy, look like want to help you for anything.. I would like to thank maria maleya for specially for helping us always with her kindness

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yunus o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,296
    1,256
    381
    143
    104
See reviews for
1,371
1,908
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have just returned on 30th April 2014 after staying here for 8 nights. There was a large group of us for a wedding.

Most of us had requested particular rooms and close together, which were confirmed in emails with resort staff. We arrived early so our rooms were not quite ready (fair enough) but when we came back at the required time we were advised that the bedding configuration we had asked for was not available until the next day! Not acceptable at all, long story short they got us the bedding configuration we required but not in a room near our friends (not complaining as the room we got was WAY better) It happened with 90% of our friends rooms. This happens quite frequently, so I suggest stand your ground and get the room you need straight away and not have to move the next day (too hard with a 2 year old!!)

We found the food and cocktails over priced which is common with resorts, there were plenty of restaurants and beach huts close by that are near half the price.

Pools - ample pools but the water is like a bath, not refreshing at all in some. Choose the one closest to the beach if you can.

Kids club is fantastic. My daughter is only 2 so I had to be with her, which was ok. It has aircon and a lounge to sit on.. Kids from 6 months old to 12 years old will enjoy it.

The only thing I found was the resort lacked entertainment. Ive been to a couple of resorts that have nightly entertainment which is great even a duo or a singer would have been great.

Staff (outside of the lobby) are super helpful and friendly. They LOVE kids, slightly worried at times they were going to steal ours!! Always helpful with the stroller and when it came to crossing the roads.

Overall its a nice resort. Massive and we didn't see it all but its nice, it doesn't feel crowded at all, even at breakfast time. Its just a little out of town so it gets a bit costly if you want to keep going out.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor in front of the pool, (near the reception) in the Bhuri Wing. We had a small g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleighm1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in the Thani wing for 11 nights. The room was spacious very clean and had a sea view really pleased with the extras (robes, slippers, beach bags, flip flops tea coffee water) definitely a 4/5 star standard. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. The resort itself is massive but very well maintained with the beach a short stroll from the pools. Overall Katathani Resort exceeded my expectations as the staff and quality are excellent. We tended to eat out as hotel food and drink more expensive and there is lots to do and see out with the hotel itself. Use the taxis to visit Kata town which is busier with lots of restaurants and shops. Would definitely come again as is a taste of paradise:-) .

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview. Watching the sun go down from your balcony is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a LARGE resort. If you want a quite and boutique resort then stay at their property at the end of the beach called the Shore. It runs about $900.00 per night and it nice but not worth the price. Katathani is at the bottom of Kata Beach and is a nice relaxed location. The beach and water is some of the best on Phuket. There are some restaurants close by and some small shops. If you want action and bars and night life stay in Patong. If you want a nice atmosphere with a decent breakfast and property and being directly on a clean nice beach is a priority this is your place. I get a good laugh about the complaints about people reserving the lounges, it not a problem as you just ask a pool attend to move the abandoned towels and your set. The staff are above average for Phuket and smile and are willing to help when asked. I would recommend only staying in the building directly on the beach and not across the street. Our room had a decent ocean view from the second floor and was modern and up to date. Lots of families and kids so don't expect a couples or honeymoon atmosphere. We appreciated the adult only pool and the live music each night at coconuts bar by the adults pool during happy hour. I would stay here again if the price was right and only on the beach front rooms. Were going to try to use the Spa but found it expensive for Thai prices. The food and beverages are reasonable for what you would expect in Phuket.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EddiPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a lovely time staying at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort during April 2014. We stayed for 7 nights with our 2 children aged 3 & 8 years. We were in a Junior Suite directly opposite the Jim Thompson silk shop. Our room had a king size bed and a day bed so we did have to share with our 3 year old but there was plenty of room. The bed was super comfy too. The room was very clean and comfortable with a balcony looking out to the garden and a small glimpse of ocean.
The buffet breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choices bikth hot and cold and it was lovely to sit and look out upon the beautiful grounds and Kata Noi Beach.
Our kids loved the swimming pools and tried out all of them. They also spent a few hours at the kids club with a babysitter which they also enjoyed. Our kids also enjoyed the Easter egg hunt on Easter Sunday.
The beach was lovely and clean, not at all crowded and the water was so clear and warm. Absolutely beautiful.
I can't comment on the restaurants as we did eat at the numerous small restaurants along the opposite side of the road which were cheap and delicious. Laundry can be done up the road too for 80baht/kg.
The resort taxis were very reasonably priced in comparison to tuk-tuks and the drivers were extremely friendly and accommodating of our many questions on local Phuket life.
All in all we had a wonderful time here and were very happy with our choice to be out of the rat race of Patong etc.

Room Tip: Our Junior Suite in the Thani wing was great. Close to the lobby, shops, pools etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMF7250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here 2 nights of a 16 night trip to Khao Lak & Phuket.

Lovely resort, Well maintained grounds. Great beachfront location.

Stayed in Thani wing - Junior Suite. Room was well appointed and spacious although there was a bit of a damp odour in the room.

Enjoyed the resort although it was at full capacity so very busy. Several pools to choose from, all with kids areas.

Beach was beautiful although the tidal pull was quite strong. Noticed the temperature was a bit cooler than some other Phuket beaches. Still very warm waters though.

Resort is protected from outsiders so they can't take advantage of the facilities so entrance from the beach to resort is only at a few places. If you like swimming in both the pools and beach you need to select a chair by the access area, and need to get a chair early.

Quite a lot of groups here including a wedding group and so it wasn't as peaceful as it may be in a quieter month.

Breakfast was good and plenty of options to please. The restaurants were very expensive compared to other resorts we stayed in. There are some restaurants on the street behind but they are a bit basic and you view the back of the resort so not ideal.

Kids club was attractive with an outside play area. Lots of craft activities but not much outside the kids club so there weren't many kids in there.

Overall a nice resort in a good location.

Room Tip: Thani wing - Junior Ocean Front Suite was in the middle of the resort. Beach front was at the end bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockabella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent five nights at the Katathani beach resort in Phuket, and it was really difficult to say goodbye! We came for a girl's relaxation week to enjoy the beautiful water's of Phuket. This hotel has full access to the most wonderful beach, Kata Noi. The hotel is lovely, with palm trees all around the grounds, pools everywhere (I think four in total) and nice amenities for a quiet stay. Checking into the hotel was a breeze and the lobby is beautiful and smells wonderful. We were greeted with cool towels, a fruity punch, and leis. All the ladies were thrilled. We had three rooms in two different wings, but both had beach front views with lanias to sit and watch the ocean and/or pools. The Junior suits were modest in size but very comfortable. They had small refrigerators and a hot water maker for tea or instant coffee. They had a scent infuser to help with room mustiness, (but this is a common problem in the tropics.) The bathroom has shutters that open to view the outside while bathing, so the privy is not so private. However, the shower and tub were separate and of ample size. We had free wi-fi in the room although you had to continually log on to the hotel server for access. Just have your smartphone remember your code, or better yet, use your brain and memorize the easy codes!
Breakfast was plentiful, with offerings from many counties. Thai, Indian, American, European, Australian dishes were prepared daily. However, after 7 May 2014 that location will be closed for renovation. The morning breakfast is being moved to an alternate location. We noticed that several wings are currently under renovation, but the noise and mess was not a problem at all. I must say, there are deluxe rooms up against the street that appeared to be quite noisy, so try and get at least a junior suite. Then enjoy the beautiful pools and the glorious sea. We rented the beach chairs daily on the beach (not affiliated with the hotel, 200 baht for two chairs and an umbrella) and would split our time from the beach to the pool, which is surrounded by cool palm trees and grasses.
Kata is a short walk from the hotel (20 minutes). There are 75 steps up to the street and a winding road. I wouldn't walk it at night! There are excellent restaurants nearby, but the hotel is not really very active at night. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the place. It is the beautiful resort at the end of the road with the GREAT beach and beautiful pools!

Room Tip: Get the juniors suites for a wonderful ocean view and quiet nights rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,082 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,973 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 327 in Patong
5,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing