We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely People - Room Position is Key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely People - Room Position is Key”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for five days in July 2014 after earlier holidaying in Singapore.

We thought the people were lovely and that they went out of their way for you. Drinks and massages were cheap to enjoy poolside and the pool surrounds were well laid out and clean.

The surf was very rough so the pool was the place to swim.

Our room was an ocean front suite. We would recommend upgrading to a grand suite in the same ocean front wing. Our initial room was so close to the ocean and the waves crashed against the break wall metres from the room, so upgrading to a room on level 2 or 3 achieved two things - a better room and some peace of mind. Food was good with lots of options. We liked the breakfasts but mainly explored Phuket town and Kata for lunch and dinners. Our standout local meal was at Raya in Phuket town which I would rate as the best Thai food we have ever had. Because we are there on day 1 of our break, the later meals were harshly being compared to the best meal possible.

The local tailor Amorn was a good option and there were family oriented massage shops across the road to the hotel.

We were warned to take things we needed as there were no shops nearby, but this isn't right - each of the resort and a mini mart across the road can be used to get holiday essentials.

There was renovation underway so no doubt you may want to ask for a room away from works.

We can recommend Emotion Travel in Phuket to source transfers, accommodation, internal flights, island trips and holiday packages. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were in personal touch during our stay to make sure all was well. As they have a local office and Thai staff, they translated for us on a few occasions to help us achieve what we needed.

All the best.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dean E,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the location of our Grand Suite.

We will be happy to welcome you back to Katathani whenever you decide to visit Phuket and the beach of Kata Noi once more. Until then our sincerest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,212
    1,210
    367
    140
    98
See reviews for
1,296
1,852
67
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Quiet resort good for families but pretty isolated from everything so you are pretty much confined to the resort unless you take a car to Kata about 10 mins away.
Our room on the ground floor had an electric oil burner with a scent so strong I had to turn it off but then the musty smell in the room was as overpowering as the perfume.
Staff were not as friendly as they have been to us in
other parts of Thailand, some couldn't even break out one of the much hyped Thai smiles.
Food was average for breakfast, we went to the so called BBQ night , don't bother if you are expecting real BBQ food as it isn't there. However we attended a wedding there and the food at that was terrific as was the whole wedding itself, well organised and beautiful setting .
Pools are nice and gardens are beautifully kept but if you want to do anything other than have a rest or if you have children , stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reacthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear reacthestars,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, even though we couldn't fully meet your expectations on this occasion.

Katathani Phuket Beach Resort is a family friendly destination, far enough from all the hustle and bustle of Karon and Patong, but close enough to reach it via a short ride with a taxi or TukTuk for the occasional trip. The majority of our guests is appreciating exactly this advantage but we understand it is not everyones taste. As you wrote, for those who want to rest and relax, our resort is in an excellent location.

On another note please accept our apologies for the trouble with the rooms and also your disappointment about the BBQ night has been well noted. Both comments have been already forwarded to the departments concerned and we will try our best to improve in this areas in the future.

Once again thank you for your comments and our sincerest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Its away from the craziness and that's exactly the point.. stunning scenery, excellent pools. Fantastic dining in the hotel and the 8 days we spent here were just too short...My family will remember this break for a very long time. We swam and relaxed when we weren't out exploring, shopping and eating some more..

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool in the bhuri wing are perfect for out of season as they are well sheltered
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azathoth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Azathoth40,

Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor. We are happy your break at our resort was exactly what you expected and needed and will gladly support you again, whenever a second break will be required.

Until then our sincerest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Went here to meet some friends and check out the hotel to see if we wanted to stay here for a future visit. Staff treated us like criminals and had security follow us to the beach.

Complained to manager who said, " Sorry you feel that way". NOt much of an apology.

Be warned, even if you wanted to have lunch with friends here, its the only hotel we know of in the world that does not take credit cards. They would not serve us as we were not yet checked in. Decided to go online and cancel our plans. Six families were planning on staying and my job was to check out hotels in the area.

Manager needs training himself as he has no idea how to treat guests. Perhaps since I was yet to be a guest he really did not care. But the owners need to know their property is run by an unprofessional manager and the staff is poorly trained.

I will now go out of my way to tell everyone not to stay at this hotel.

On the plus side, if weather were better, the beach was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Rick B,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Please be kindly informed that the security and health of our guests is a top priority fo us. For this reason we have strict regulations as concerned to outside visitors. Our security was exactly following their work protocol. You have been informed about our regulations, we apologize if they didn't meet your requirements.

As for your complaint with our manager we investigated the issue further and collected comments from our staff who was involved and nearby the discussion. Without going further into details we only like to mention that while guest experience is important for us, we also have a duty to protect our staff and guests alike. Our manager apologized to you and your mother respectively and even offered to your mother a show around the property when you already ran out from the lobby. On this occasion please also note that we do not agree and do not accept your remarks towards other nationalities.

Despite the above we are sincerely sorry for not having met your expectations but would nevertheless ask you to respect our property regulations.

With kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had some initial issues with the cleanliness of our room but the assistant manager
Mauritz ( hope the spelling is correct) acted promptly and professionally to save the holiday from what could have become a bit of a problem.
The resort is magnificent. The facilities are well maintained. It has everything from lavish swimming pools to a fitness centre and even a kids club where the kids can play and partake in supervised activities for the times that it rains ( especially in the off season).
The breakfast was comprehensive and of good quality. The restaurants are a little on the expensive side but I would strongly recommend having a meal at the Fisherman's Wharf seafood restaurant as although expensive by Thai Standards, the quality of the food and the standard of the service was second to none.

Other than one staff member at the reception called Leila, the staff at the resort were very friendly, courteous and always willing to help. Leila just did not fit into this description at all. The location Kata Noi beach is quiet and picturesque although a little isolated but Kata Beach is less than 10 minutes away by taxi which opens the door to alternate dining options and shopping options.
The alternate restaurants near the resort are just not up to standard and I would strongly suggest avoiding them.
I would recommend this resort for a relaxing family holiday.

Room Tip: The alternate restaurants near the resort are just not up to standard and I would strongly suggest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Paul K,

Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor. It is great to see that Moritz ensured your stay turned out perfectly and you could enjoy your vacation to the fullest.

We very much hope to welcome you back on another occasion and are confident Leila will also be as charming as our other staff when you will enter our reception again upon your next trip.

With warm regards from Kata Noi,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood East, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely setting and immaculate grounds. Big resort and spread out. We stayed here for 8nights in July and had a lovely time. The pools are great, cocktails at the poolside bar were lovely. The food offered at the hotel is very reasonably priced. In saying that we only ate the lunch menu at poolside as we tended to go out and explore by mid to late afternoon and eat elsewhere. The poolside lunch specials are good value and good quality. The buffet breakfast there was plenty to choose from, we ate mostly at the cinnamon breakfast as this was closer to our room in the Bhuri wing. The room was clean and a moderate size, but dated in terms of bathroom, but in saying this very comfortable and clean and well serviced. There was a card at the bedside if the mattress and/or pillows were too soft or hard and they would replace to try to make the sleep quality better if requested. The idea of stocking the mini bar from the mini mart was great as the prices were very reasonable and then only selected what was needed. The location of the hotel was good because there was no traffic but the small hill that I had read about to get into kata was more than a 10min hike especially for my elderly mother and in the heat with children. There are no footpaths so it was safer and easier to catch a taxi. There were some local little restaurants, massage places and market type shops along the strip that we found all pleasant. We loved the local man who came with his banana pancakes!!! Our daughter enjoyed the kids club activities that she did, only a few, and staff were all pleasant. Staff overall were friendly and helpful. The wifi we purchase a 7day package to use in the room, which worked well but I think it should be included like other hotels of this rating. The free wifi in reception was ok but I like to sit in my room to use my computer.overall we had a great stay and a verY enjoyable time. Thankyou

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Megan M,

Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to see you enjoyed your stay and will be looking forward to welcome you back on another occasion.

With kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We, a family comprising of two senior citizens, a young couple and three children including two toddlers, stayed at KATATHANI Phuket Beach Resort from 04 July to 08 July, 2014. This resort is deep in south of Phuket Island (beyond the famous KATA Beach) and more than an hour,s drive from airport This property is located over a large Estate on the closed end of the road and hence there is no vehicle movement. This resort has a fine sand beach exclusively for their guests. It has swimming pools in very pleasant surroundings and one can laze, have massage and relax. There is a fun facility for kids where they can play with toys, spend time learning painting etc.The resort has many eating options with 24 hours room service. The room service however was not upto our full satisfaction.The rooms are spacious, with two double beds which make them crowded. The staff is guest friendly and courteous.This resort a very good option for quiet relaxing holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudhirGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear sudhirGurgaon,

Thank you for your kind comments and your review via TripAdvisor. We are very glad to see you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding your dissatisfaction with room service, if it is not too much trouble, we would very much appreciate if you could drop us a short e-mail to info@katathani.com with more details about the reason for which standard was not met so we can analyze it and work on future improvements.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you back upon your next trip to Phuket. With kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing