We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful resort only a short drive from the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful resort only a short drive from the action”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here with our 3 young children recently and were very happy. The resort is well maintained, very well priced and staff friendly and helpful. It is far enough away from the busy areas to be a relaxing place to stay but not too far as a 10minute TukTuk ride will get you where you want to go.
Breakfast buffet is fairly extensive and meals in the hotel are well presented (although restaurants across the road are much cheaper and more traditional).
Rooms were a little on the damp side, however, it was a very humid time of year. We upgraded to a grand master suite for very little cost and it was definitely worth it with the 3 children.
The Thai cooking class was interesting, the Spa offered good service and the massages in the garden were lovely. The lady at the activities/tour desk was VERY helpful and made very suitable suggestions.
Overall a great destination in low season, with our only suggestion being that the front desk staff receive some more training in their English language skills.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheoA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear TheoA1,

Thank you very much for your recent review. Our team sincerely appreciates your positive feedback.

Regarding the humidity as you mentioned, indeed during the low season humidity levels tend to reach 90-100% and with the close proximity to the ocean it is a neverending challenge to maintain the property properly. Nevertheless our team is quite experienced with this issue and in case of any inconvenience we can support you immediately whenever required.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we are very much hoping to welcome you back again on another occasion.

With kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,264
    1,245
    379
    142
    103
See reviews for
1,341
1,895
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a great week at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort. Friendly and helpful staff. So private with the resort stretching the length of the beach. Surf was very rough so couldn't go any deeper than our knees, however the many beautiful large pools are terrific with massages available from the friendly ladies in the huge gardens at a very reasonable price. Great breakfasts and buffet nights. Room was very nice but had a musty smell.
Quiet with no through road made it a very peaceful setting. You need to get taxis if you want shopping etc as there are only a very limited number of local cafés and shops along the road.
The resort make an effort to daily clean the beach of rubbish that floats in on the tide. Would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Free wifi in the lobby. More protected from wind with a garden view room. The pool in this area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Victoria G,

Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that overall you had a relaxing stay.

We would like to sincerely apologize regarding the issue with the dampness in your room. Upon your next visit kindly inform our front desk in case of any inconvenience and our experienced staff can support you to ensure a completely relaxing stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again to the bay of Kata Noi and until then sending you our kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from spending 9 nights at this resort with my wife and son and was very disappointed to say the least.

They say that first impressions really count and "they" are certainly right about our experience. We arrived at a very ordinary looking entrance and were ushered into a very ordinary looking lobby after being driven from the airport in the hotel mini bus, by a driver who was trying to break the land speed record- it truly was the "Ride from HELL".

After checking in, we were escorted to our room by a bell boy (A 20 metre walk from the lobby). He opened the door for us and stood in our room as we began to take in our surroundings. All of a sudden it became very apparent that this guy (with his cheesy grin) wasn't going anywhere until he received a tip. I was so annoyed!!!! I have no issue with giving someone a tip when they provide a service beyond what is expected, but in this case it would have been more of an effort for him to have a cup of tea and a nap..............Not Impressed.

As far as the hotel is concerned, we found it lacking in every way except for it's location by the beach. Contrary to all the reviews we've read, we found it very difficult to find "friendly and helpful" staff. In fact on a couple of occasions we encountered staff that were just downright rude.

The property itself is almost completely devoid of charm, the gardens are reasonably attractive, but the buildings are old and tired looking, our room (a junior suite) had been renovated on the cheap.

During our stay, I kept thinking about all the glowing reviews I'd read over the past few months leading up to our trip. Having travelled for many years, I wasn't expecting the Taj Mahal, but I was expecting some sort of Wow Factor and this place certainly didn't deliver.

For the past 7 years we have been travelling to resorts in Indonesia and thought we would try something different. We normally stay at the Pan Pacific Hotel in Bali, which by comparison makes the Katathani look like a backpackers hotel and is about $80 a night cheaper.......go figure!

Breakfast was dull at best and in room dining was appalling. We tried twice with the latter and waited an eternity for cold and uninteresting food.

Sorry to management for writing such a damning review. I tried very hard to look at your establishment with positive eyes, but just simply couldn't find any redeeming features whatsoever.

Suffice to say we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Russell T,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for making us aware of points that require our further attention. There is no need from your side to apologize as it is us who like to sincerely extend our apologies to you for not having met your expectations during this trip.

Regarding your transfer-in experience we have already started to investigate with our co-operating transport company and reprimand to avoid similar happenings in the future. Also the respective bell-boy has been instructed about correct behavior as we absolutely don't accept the attitude and it is certainly not the way to have a great first impression.

As for the breakfast and food & beverage in general please note that our kitchen has now been fully renovated and a new breakfast section implemented offering wider choices and proper equipment that will ensure the right dishes are kept at the right temperatures. Also our new Italian Chef has been requested to support us in improving all areas concerned.

About our property lacking of charm we can't agree with you and so do not more then 3200 regular guests who visit us every year, some of them since almost 30 years already. It is certainly depending on the point of view of each individual, but as you can derive from our reviewers, our gardens, pools and the beach are very much attractive. Having said that, our property is also THE most visited property in Phuket for weddings with hosting of almost 200 weddings a year. The pictures you can shoot on our grounds and in front of the beach are stunning and very unique in Phuket.

Once again we like to sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations, to thank you for your support and pointing out the issues as mentioned above and we would very much appreciate an opportunity to serve you better on your next trip to Phuket.

With kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for five days in July 2014 after earlier holidaying in Singapore.

We thought the people were lovely and that they went out of their way for you. Drinks and massages were cheap to enjoy poolside and the pool surrounds were well laid out and clean.

The surf was very rough so the pool was the place to swim.

Our room was an ocean front suite. We would recommend upgrading to a grand suite in the same ocean front wing. Our initial room was so close to the ocean and the waves crashed against the break wall metres from the room, so upgrading to a room on level 2 or 3 achieved two things - a better room and some peace of mind. Food was good with lots of options. We liked the breakfasts but mainly explored Phuket town and Kata for lunch and dinners. Our standout local meal was at Raya in Phuket town which I would rate as the best Thai food we have ever had. Because we are there on day 1 of our break, the later meals were harshly being compared to the best meal possible.

The local tailor Amorn was a good option and there were family oriented massage shops across the road to the hotel.

We were warned to take things we needed as there were no shops nearby, but this isn't right - each of the resort and a mini mart across the road can be used to get holiday essentials.

There was renovation underway so no doubt you may want to ask for a room away from works.

We can recommend Emotion Travel in Phuket to source transfers, accommodation, internal flights, island trips and holiday packages. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were in personal touch during our stay to make sure all was well. As they have a local office and Thai staff, they translated for us on a few occasions to help us achieve what we needed.

All the best.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dean E,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the location of our Grand Suite.

We will be happy to welcome you back to Katathani whenever you decide to visit Phuket and the beach of Kata Noi once more. Until then our sincerest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Quiet resort good for families but pretty isolated from everything so you are pretty much confined to the resort unless you take a car to Kata about 10 mins away.
Our room on the ground floor had an electric oil burner with a scent so strong I had to turn it off but then the musty smell in the room was as overpowering as the perfume.
Staff were not as friendly as they have been to us in
other parts of Thailand, some couldn't even break out one of the much hyped Thai smiles.
Food was average for breakfast, we went to the so called BBQ night , don't bother if you are expecting real BBQ food as it isn't there. However we attended a wedding there and the food at that was terrific as was the whole wedding itself, well organised and beautiful setting .
Pools are nice and gardens are beautifully kept but if you want to do anything other than have a rest or if you have children , stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reacthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear reacthestars,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, even though we couldn't fully meet your expectations on this occasion.

Katathani Phuket Beach Resort is a family friendly destination, far enough from all the hustle and bustle of Karon and Patong, but close enough to reach it via a short ride with a taxi or TukTuk for the occasional trip. The majority of our guests is appreciating exactly this advantage but we understand it is not everyones taste. As you wrote, for those who want to rest and relax, our resort is in an excellent location.

On another note please accept our apologies for the trouble with the rooms and also your disappointment about the BBQ night has been well noted. Both comments have been already forwarded to the departments concerned and we will try our best to improve in this areas in the future.

Once again thank you for your comments and our sincerest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Its away from the craziness and that's exactly the point.. stunning scenery, excellent pools. Fantastic dining in the hotel and the 8 days we spent here were just too short...My family will remember this break for a very long time. We swam and relaxed when we weren't out exploring, shopping and eating some more..

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool in the bhuri wing are perfect for out of season as they are well sheltered
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azathoth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Azathoth40,

Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor. We are happy your break at our resort was exactly what you expected and needed and will gladly support you again, whenever a second break will be required.

Until then our sincerest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Went here to meet some friends and check out the hotel to see if we wanted to stay here for a future visit. Staff treated us like criminals and had security follow us to the beach.

Complained to manager who said, " Sorry you feel that way". NOt much of an apology.

Be warned, even if you wanted to have lunch with friends here, its the only hotel we know of in the world that does not take credit cards. They would not serve us as we were not yet checked in. Decided to go online and cancel our plans. Six families were planning on staying and my job was to check out hotels in the area.

Manager needs training himself as he has no idea how to treat guests. Perhaps since I was yet to be a guest he really did not care. But the owners need to know their property is run by an unprofessional manager and the staff is poorly trained.

I will now go out of my way to tell everyone not to stay at this hotel.

On the plus side, if weather were better, the beach was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Rick B,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Please be kindly informed that the security and health of our guests is a top priority fo us. For this reason we have strict regulations as concerned to outside visitors. Our security was exactly following their work protocol. You have been informed about our regulations, we apologize if they didn't meet your requirements.

As for your complaint with our manager we investigated the issue further and collected comments from our staff who was involved and nearby the discussion. Without going further into details we only like to mention that while guest experience is important for us, we also have a duty to protect our staff and guests alike. Our manager apologized to you and your mother respectively and even offered to your mother a show around the property when you already ran out from the lobby. On this occasion please also note that we do not agree and do not accept your remarks towards other nationalities.

Despite the above we are sincerely sorry for not having met your expectations but would nevertheless ask you to respect our property regulations.

With kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,937 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing