We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Woy Woy, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Thank you Katathani - an amazing 10 days spent with you. Lovely accommodation, fantastic staff, food and facilities. Quiet, relaxing & allowed us to relax & unwind. Restaurants & bars are fantastic. The Royal Thai & the Italian restaurants were out of this world.

Only two complaints - smoking is permitted all over the resort. For non smokers it can be hard to find a pool or space where smoking is not permitted.... A couple of times, I had to go back to my room because of smokers.

The second complaint - too much lemon in your cocktails.... Please get rid of the lemon juice.... I know, a first world problem, but...

But, despite these two complaints - come to Katathani.... You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go the Bhuri wing - it's smaller & quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for your feedback through TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and like to thank you for your kind recommendation.

Regarding the comment about smoking on hotel grounds. Having a strong amount of guests coming from both Western and Asian countries, there is a requirement for both, smoking and non-smoking options. Having the advantage of our property being stretched out all over the bay of Kata Noi it is quite a rare occasion that smokers and non-smokers get in a way of each other. Nevertheless we will check about options how we can organize and structure it in the best possible way, to ensure the majority of our guests can enjoy their stay to the fullest.

Your comment about the lemon has been forwarded to our Beverage manager for further improvement.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you back again to the Shores of Serenity.

With kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,165
    1,181
    355
    138
    96
See reviews for
1,255
1,819
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Katathani almost 15 years ago and had a wonderful experience so we were a little apprehensive about returning fearing that the resort maybe a little tired and taint our wonderful memories. I am very pleased to say that our concerns disappeared the minute we walked into the lobby. The resort has spread somewhat since our first visit and takes up pretty much all of Kata Noi beach. We booked a Grand Suite in the Thani Wing just meters from the beautiful white sand beach with stunning views of the bay and pool complex. The room itself was recently renovated and very tastefully decorated, Grand suites are large with a lovely bathroom/dressing complex, separate lounge leading to bedroom and out to a large balcony where we regularly sat enjoying an evening drink whilst watching the sunset. We have stayed in a number of resorts in Thailand and can honestly say that Katathani’s location is hands down the best if you are looking for a peaceful and picturesque beach front position. Superb for couples and families but probably not ideal if you are young and single as it’s a short taxi ride to the more lively Kata Beach and about a 30 minutes into Patong (party central).

Hotel facilities are first rate, 6 pools to choose from 5 restaurants 2 pool bars, beautifully manicured and maintained gardens magnificent beach which is regularly cleaned. Staff are friendly, courteous and obliging. Rooms are kept spotlessly clean.

I could go on and on about how wonderful this place is, best advice I can give is try and book a room in the Thani Wing which is literally on the beach. These room are a bit more expensive but absolutely worth it. Don’t read too much into negative reports this place is special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Steve802,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback via TripAdvisor. We are glad your worries about tainting your memories fromt the first visit didn't prove right and hope the memories from this stay will stay with you for at least another 15 years. Of course we very much hope to see you again at Katathani before that.

With kindest regards from Kata Noi,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This resort was perfect for what we were, a Grannie, 2 parents & 2 children, one 2, one under 1. The local staff couldn't have been more considerate or more child-friendly. The one nanny we had several times, was far better than myself .. The children loved her & it was reciprocated. The facilities were also excellent. The pools were to die for as was also the Kids' Club, the gym & various sports facilities. The grounds and beach were beautiful but apparently the sea was a bit dangerous at the time. The rooms were fine, not too upmarket but very clean and everything worked well. The food was excellent. It's a very large hotel with several restaurants etc but it all seemed to run smoothly. I wouldn't visit as a single person but I would as a couple .. or a family. I'd certainly like to go again.

Room Tip: Ground floor, close to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Barbara G,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback via TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate your comments and especially about our staff who took care of the children.

We will be more than happy to welcome you and your family back to Katathani upon your next visit to Phuket. Until then our warmest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

grounds are out of a postcard,staff all very freindly and helpfull,romm being a junior suite was amazing overlooking 1 of the 5 pools,4 restaurants to choose from with our fav being the fishermans wharf,no reason to leave the resort at any time unless you want to shop which is 5 minutes away at kata or karon beach,i cant believe any negative posts as we could not fault it

Room Tip: junior suites in the thani wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arguswonderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear arguswonderboy,

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation. Negative feedback are in most cases a result of a different expectation and contribute greatly to improve our service and anticipate guest needs in the future. We are however of course very glad to see that we fully met your expectations and you couldn't find anything to fault.

Once again thank you for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back on another occasion.

With warm regards from Kata Noi,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed 12 nights in late July/August 2014 at the Katathani Beach Resort in a Junior Suite.

As mentioned by other reviewers the Junior Suites are in need of an upgrade which I believe is happening later in the year. However, the rooms were clean, the king sized bed was huge and comfortable and Linda from Housekeeping not only kept our room spotless but was always happy to assist with any requests we had.

We had a room on the top floor and a great view over the Kata Noi Swimming Pool to the ocean which was pumping with a huge surf for the whole of our stay.

We were part of a large group of over 40 people attending a 50th birthday at the hotel. This was obviously the highlight of our trip and was held in the Seacret Restaurant/Wedding Gallery area.
Food layout and presentation was excellent. Service was great and the sunset views from the deck were amazing. A great night was had by all.

Breakfast in the Chom Talay Restaurant was always well presented and abundant. Num (our regular waiter) made us laugh every morning and looked after my wife with her daily request for a pot of boiling water. My fried eggs were always cooked to perfection "over hard" with a smile and the crispy bacon was delicious.

We did not eat at the hotel that often for lunch and dinner. When we did we found the food from room service disappointing, as was the meals from the Mango & Coconut Bars.

After eating out most nights earlier in our stay at Katathani, we tried the Chom Talay Restaurant one night and were pleasantly surprised. The meals were between 300 and 500 baht which seems expensive after spending a week in Thailand, but you have to factor in you are sitting in an upmarket restaurant with beautiful views of the ocean and the setting sun. We ended up having dinner there on 3 occasions with our family of 7 people and each time the food, presentation and service was top class. It made a nice change from sitting in small restaurants on the main streets in the hustle and bustle of Kata, Karon and Patong.

One restaurant we did enjoy was the Nong Karn across the road from the Katathani Resort. Meals between 100 and 300 baht. A huge menu of 90 odd pages and generally crowded from 6.30pm onwards.

We tried the "After Sunset Bar" for dinner one night as a very large group. Service was not great and food was average.

There is no mini bar as the shop on the resort and those across the road are very cheap. Beer, spirits, soft drink, chips etc all available. Also, the laundry service at the Katanoi Minimart is amazing. 80 baht for 1kg of clothes washed and folded!

The beach was closed a lot of the time we were at the resort due to rips and the big swell. However, with 4 big pools you could always find a quiet spot away from the crowd. I enjoyed the fitness room which had a good assortment of free weights, machines and treadmills etc. We also had a few games of pool and table tennis in the recreation centre.

One memorable night we got caught in a huge storm at the coconut bar. Thunder raged overhead, lightning struck and the rain was coming in from all angles as the bar staff tried to unroll the protective blinds. We got absolutely soaked, but everyone was laughing and the amazing staff kept working supplying us with drinks while mopping up!

Our family had a wonderful holiday at Katathani, it is in a great location with its own private beach but you are only 10 minutes from Kata, 15-20 minutes from Karon and 30 minutes from Patong. Highly recommended and we will return.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are good value with views over the pools to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AussieSnorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear AussieSnorkeler,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback via TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the stay and that the 50th anniversary went smooth and festive and left every member of the group satisfied. Your comments as well as recommendation have been sincerely appreciated by all our staff from the respective department involved.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back to Katathani on another occasion, until then our sincerest regards.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Staff are reasonably friendly. You cannot walk from here to the Main Street but it is nice and quiet. The rooms could do with a BIG upgrade and single beds for me and my best friend was a bit average .... Smells mouldy and definitely not a very nice room as in old and beds are hard as rock.
The breakfasts were amazing and views just as nice. My advice is to not visit the restaurants on the road close to the hotel as they are horrible!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pampower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Pampower,

Thank you for your feedback via TripAdvisor.

We are glad to see you enjoyed the location, the view and our breakfast. However we are very sorry to hear you were disappointed by the room you booked.

Since we are offering 9 different room categories, please don't hesitate to check our other room types upon your next visit to Katathani. A softer bedding can be setup by our housekeeping and we are confident to meet your expectations then in all terms for a most relaxing vacation.

Until your next visit our sincerest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel for families, you have everything you need. But I don't recommend it for couples. I stayed in junior suite room is good clean has wat u need, bed is hard and pillows are cheap quality. The grounds are very clean, but pool and outside of hotel in genereal is abit dingy and looks dated..friendly staff very helpful. Breakfast is good but not wow. Beach is very nice and always cleaned by staff. Town is a 15 minute walk up and down steep hills. You either have to rent a motorbike, or pay 200 baht each way to town. Walking to and from hotel is very tiring and no side walks abit dangerous...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Samo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Samo A,

Thank you for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor.

As you mentioned Katathani is mainly a family hotel, however for our property being so much spread out and offering such a big choice of pools, bars and restaurants, also couples can find a relaxing spot when visiting us.

About the bed in case of a preference for a softer bedding and different pillows guests can always contact our housekeeping who will be happy to arrange the bedding up to your wishes.

Once again thank you for your kind review and we are looking forward to meet your expectations better upon your next visit to Phuket and the beach of Kata Noi.

With kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Holiday Gems and Booking.com so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing