We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beach setting and pools, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent beach setting and pools, but...”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Overall, recommend the Khatatani. The beach setting and pools are excellent, and the breakfast provided also had a good selection. Service provided at the resort is very good. We stayed here with family of 5 (2 rooms) during the off season, so often had much of the place to ourselves.

On the downsides, the facilities are beginning to show their age (rooms are a bit dated). Showers are not pressure balanced between the hot and cold side, so expect some surprises when taking a shower (easily addressed, but it hasn't been). Also, the facilities are at least 1.5 km from the downtown area of Phuket (restaurants, bars, etc.), which makes it a quiet location, but a decent walk (up and down a large hill) if you want to eat or drink outside of the resort. I would NOT recommend this hotel if you or a family member are physically challenged or want ready access to downtown restaurants or bars (unless you don't mind taking a taxi each and every time).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReneN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,264
    1,247
    379
    142
    104
See reviews for
1,343
1,896
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sgtcrackers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We visited the Katathani Hotel in August 2009 and had a perfect and faultless holiday, We noticed a few people comment that the Katathani was a little out the way, well, we just loved this aspect. Going out to town at night, mixing in the bars and the colourful night scene to return to the peaceful hotel, the road is a dead end, so hey, no passing noisy traffic, taxis or drunks near the hotel. The trip back from Patong, that is 20 minutes, cost a mere £8. The hotel complex is so large you can stroll around at night upon your return and enjoy a peaceful safe walk along the Katathani Hotel beach, stunning. Regarding the staff at Katathani, after travelling extensively around the world, I have to say, the service from them was the best we have EVER experienced, nothing was too much trouble. This goes for all the staff, from the pool staff, security, house keeping and restaurants. Always a hello, always a smile. The varied choice of restaurants they offer is truly great, our favourite was the Fisherman's Wharf, stunning food, great band each night and first rate staff, consistence is everything. Make sure you treat yourself to a massage by the pool, Naowarat gives the best foot massage in Thailand. If you see her, tell her Martin and Jessie say hello, remember a tip goes a long way. The hotel has 5 swimming pools. all right next to the ocean, all in great as new condition, all with staff and bars, always space and the beach was literally a few steps away. The spa at the hotel is first rate too, great value for money and the couples massage is a dream and leaves you feeling totally relaxed, uplifted and ready for a cocktail, of which they have a huge choice and not at hotel prices too, £4 each. 5 minutes walk from the hotel is Mom Tri's restaurant, this restaurant is again first rate with a wonderful ocean view and with an amazing menu and staff to go with it. Be prepared to pay around £100 €120 $160 per couple. John Grays is by far the best trip out of all the Phuket trips and we went on a few, they won hands down in all areas, the saying 'you get what you pay for' is so true in this case. go for it, you only need to do it once. Buy the trip from the street vendors, however you may need to ask for John Grays as the sellers do not push John Grays. I understood they prefer to try and get you to go on one of the cheaper trips as they earn more from them. Don't be fooled when they say they are as good. we did not try all of them to be fair but John Grays beat all the others we did try. Great food, great staff and a very dramatic and memorable trip, caves, lagoons and informative staff, ask for Sonny, he was a true genius and very funny, just what you need on a trip like this, again tell him Martin and Jessica said hello. We will be going back definitely to the Katathani to say hi to all the wonderful staff and have another fabulous trip.
Martin and Jessica. United Kingdom

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgtcrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBkiwi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

2 travel agents kept trying to get me to stay at the Kata Beach resort, and after reading travel advisory, i kept getting a feeling of no, no,no! Well thank God i listening to that feeling and stayed at Katathani, as we visited the Kata beach resort, YUK!!! dirty looking and when I went to the toilet not nice. Crowded pool, horrible!!! Katathani on the other hand was an awesome resort. Over the hill from Kata, so a 10 or 15 minute walk to busy busy, but enjoying the more peaceful lifestyle. A Huge resort, with loads of lovely pools and a gorgeous lay out The only thing we could fault about this place was the room, we had a superior and had booked after reading the resort had been renovated, well it had, but not these rooms. The room was fine, but it was tired, and definitely was not superior. I would have rated it as a standard room that could do with being modernized in a year or two. I did have a word, as i was disappointed, and they offered a similar style with a bath. Later found out Superior is the start. (there are some newly decorated rooms, that are lovely, i found out from another holiday maker, who had paid the same price as me) Chatted to other that felt the same about the room, but soon got over that as we had a really great holiday. At the end of the beach on the left is a restaurant called the rock, it is literally on the rock of the beach and is very basic, but the food is really, really good, very cheap, we ate there about 3 times, had no tummy troubles. On the right, up the stairs is Mom Tri's villa royal restaurant, went twice, absolutely a must, a really nice experience, with amazing views, fantastic food, - much more pricey, but what you would pay for a top NZ restaurant. Breakfast was included and was lovely, best poached ever. Have traveled lots, but would definitely go back or recommend as it had all a girl could want, nice atmosphere, good food, shopping, and massage.. (not for party party time - go to Cancun for that!!)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Being our first trip over seas we did a lot of research and read lots of reviews. We are so pleased we stayed at this wonderful resort. It has a warm friendly atmosphere. all the staff were incredible and nothing was too much trouble.We stayed in the Thani wing in a junior suite on the second floor (room 5226) it overlooked the ocean and pool. Well worth the upgrade for that view. The restaurants were of a high standard and we only ate out of the resort 1 night out of 8 and was dissapointed.Our favourite resaturant was La Scale (italian) the food was amazing as was the service and grand piano,very romantic for our last night at the resort. The Tew Son spa was where we both totally were pampered, the treatments were not cheap but worth every cent . The massages and pedicures in the gardens or by the pool were just great too and very well priced.I would also recommend the hairdresser. Before flying home they washed and blow dried my hair what a godsend.we also enjoyed going up the top of the mountain overlooking the resort to the reggae bar. The view was amazing with great relaxing music. We nearly cried when we had to leave so we will be comming back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hoildayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

both me and my boyfriend stayed for 6 nights and it was not long enough!!! we loved everything about the resort. the pools were amazing, the variety in restaurants was great and the breakfast was brilliant. the hotel staff were wonerful and always smiling. the only draw back for us as said was the trip was too short. Oh and the street sellers can become a bit annoying..if its relaxation your after do day tours and leave the streets for a one of wander through...loved the kata thani!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachelbarletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This was our 3rd holiday at Katathani & we are definitely going back next year. From the moment you arrive you experience a total feeling of relaxation.
We have travelled extensively through Asia & Europe & the staff at the resort are the most friendly people that we have met. We have always stayed in the Thani wing, overlooking the pools & ocean..
A must to experience is the Tew Son Spa & the new infinity pool is spectacular..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This hotel was a fantastic experience. Being away from Kata Beach, and the other major tourist locations was a definite plus.

The staff were excellent, friendy and were attentive to whatever we needed. The location is beautiful. Kata Noi beach was pretty and a great place to sit an relax. Access to the hotel bars from the beach was only a short walk. There are no chairs on the beach that belonged to the hotel as it appears on the hotel advertising material, the ones that are there belong to a private business and the ask to use them is 200 thbt per person per day. While I wasn;t expecting that - it wasn't an issue really.

Kata is a 15 minute walk, a little hilly, but not too bad. The taxi and tuktuk drivers try to set an unreasonable price to get from the hotel to anywhere, pointing to a price list they publish., The drivers will negotiate but in peak times they aren't that willing to talk.

The food, and facilities are spectacular and the quietness of the place was exactly what we were looking for.

There is some construction work going on next to the wing where we stayed but it was not intrusive to our experience, inspite of being fairly close to where we were located.

Internet, Laundry and tour charges are riddiculously high and you are better off using providers around the hotel for these services.

The only criticism we had was that the younger staff would often be on the phone taking personal calls when you aproached them. Most times they would put the phone down and help you but I felt like I was intruding on them when it happened. On one occassion I stumble into one of the bar staff while walking to the beach, as he was hiding behind a bush on the stairs using his mobile phone.

I cannot speak highly enough of the place. it was everything we wanted when we booked.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dazzlel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,940 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing