We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A stay in paradise”
Reviewed 25 November 2009

This is the first time we have travelled to Thailand so unsure on what to expect with the people and accommodation. When we arrived at the hotel we thought we had found paradise, the reception was beautiful, staff delightful, friendly and very helpful. They took us straight away to our rooms, we had booked a junior suite, ground floor, which was amazing, lovely room with plenty of space to move, day bed and balcony, the views were stunning as we looked over the garden and onto the beach. From the garden the views of the sunset were stunning. We opted for the buffet style of eating which was great, plenty of food and just about every meat, vegetable, salad, fruit, fish and sweet you can think of, all served by very friendly staff. All staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The beach was perfect, beautiful white sand and never crowded, the only down side of this was the sea had a very strong current which could be quite dangerous if not careful. A very quiet resort with everything you needed on site. Just across the road was a small shop where you could take your washing and have it cleaned very cheaply, excellent service. Easy access into the town, the taxi or tuc tuc was very cheap. Do have a massage/manicure by the girls in the garden, very cheap and an excellent massage for 50 minutes at a very good price. The girls were also very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend this hotel for families, friends travelling together, honeymoon couples, and mature couples. Everything about this hotel is perfect, the only downside was having to leave to travel back home.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,263
    1,245
    379
    142
    101
See reviews for
1,340
1,893
68
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We stayed from 1 November to 5 November 2009. Katathani is a wonderful resort, the hotel is right on the beach. It seems that the hotel owns the whole Kata Noi Beach. So it is very quiet and removed from the busy life in Karon or Kata. We booked directly with the hotel and got a reasonable deal, staying in a 2 bedroom Suite, in the Thani Wing. The room was on the top floor, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, Lounge area and dining. There were 3 TV's.

The room service meals which I order for the children were of a high standard and nothing was a problem. Even when I ordered meals without fries and with fresh vegetables.

The restaurants were very good, we ate at the Thai restaurant and fish restaurants. They had also opened a bar called the beach club with a new pool area. This was perfect and had easy access to the beach. And close to our room. We didn't swim in the other pools more than once I think there were 3 other pools. And the beach only swam once as there was little bugs that left as all with a stinging rash. That lasted a couple of days. But this didn't seem to bother any of the other guests. The beach was very clean compared to Karon Beach.

Both kids went to the kids club for a couple of hours each day. And they had good activities like balloon painting and painting plaster figurines, playstation and a play area full of balls. And we arranged for their lunch to be delivered to kids club.

The spa is expensive but there are massage ladies around the pool and charge reasonable rates. The ladies by the beach club pool, do a 5 star foot massage and pedicure. They will even paint little flowers on your nails if you ask.

Babysitters available but a little expensive compared to Sydney prices. So we only got the babysitter for 1-2 hours instead of 3-4 hours. The free drinking water in the rooms was in recycled bottles which we thought was good but the water was a little too salty for the kids to drink. But there is a shop across the road from the hotel for water, snacks, beers, Wodka (not quite vodka it frozen when we put it in the freezer).

The staff at the hotel were very happy and helpful and even recommending best way to get to Kata Beach. Don't get a taxi in the daytime, it is just a 8 minute walk over the hill. But at night get a Tuk Tuk as the road is dark.

Overall the hotel was just what we wanted after spending 6 nights at Karon Beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Awesome!!! Located right on the beautiful beach front- little shacks to buy cold cans of drink on the beach- also people giving massages- fraction of the hotel prices and good for a sampler! But not at all crowded/ you won't get hassled by locals trying to flaunt their wares etc.

Short tuk-tuk ride to Kata village (about 70p fare- it is walking distance, but walking at night when there's no pavements and the roads are twisty isn't advisable!) to see the locals- great variety of restaurants, shops etc which I'd recommend- you get more of an idea of Thai life by actually speaking to Thai's and whilst the food at the hotel is delicious, it's pricey- Food in Kata village is cheap! Kata is geared towards tourists but it's not a clubby kind of place, so you get activity but without it having been spoilt. So location-wise this hotel is great.

For the hotel: Plenty of food choices, cocktails etc, lots of restaurants, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful surroundings, clean, tour options, the hotel itself is beautifully decorated- it feels like real luxury but without the price-tag you'd expect! Lots of freebies thrown in as it was our honeymoon.

PADI Dive shop on site for those interested in that.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHARL0TE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Spent 6 days here as part of our honeymoon and couldn't fault the place. The gardens and grounds were immaculate as was our room in the Bhuri wing. There was a wide choice at the breakfast buffet and we ate at 3 of the restaurants all of which were good. The staff were all really friendly, they even have people to help you cross the road!
I had a treatment in the spa and also a couple of treatments from the comfort of my sunlounger which I thought was great! I'd definatley recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere in
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

This was an incredible resort for a great price in September. We visited during the rainy season and it did rain every day, but only for about an hour and then it was sunny. The water was more choppy than the clear glass pictures, but for the price, that was fine. The hotel had a crib available and babysitting for $6.00 an hour. The babysitting was done by the cleaning ladies when they got off work. If you want a fully licensed babysitting staff, this may not be for you. Both ladies we had were very friendly, though one took the money I gave her for my daughter's lunch and fed her the snacks I provided as well (most of the snacks were gone, which indicated to me that was my child's meal). The other lady was great. We had one child, 20 months. They do have a play area for children with a small outdoor playground, which is also nice. There are plenty of rolling green lawns to let your child walk and play and there are some pools that are well suited for young children as well (with supervision of course). The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The room and decor of the hotel as a whole was beautiful. The hotel has a spa, but it is very expensive. As a nice alternative, there are several ladies who will give you pedicures/manicures/massages as you rest by one of the many pools for a fraction of the spa price. The hotel restaurants are average in the cuisine and high for the price... I recommend going to the little restaurants across the street for cheaper food that tastes just as good. If you wish to splurge, then go to Mom-Tri's restaurant just up the street. It is my husband's favorite restaurant. The views from the cliff side are spectacular and the 5 star cuisine was amazing, with selection from duck to barracuda to lobster. The concierge staff was great, and we coordinated a few day trips through them for a decent price. The morning buffet was good, with both western and eastern food, to accommodate even the most finicky of appetites. There is also a local artist that shows up at night and will sketch/paint portraits of you. The picture of Tom Cruise he had was amazing (not that I am a fan, but the likeness was very good). I wish we had brought some good pictures... I want to say he charged $300 for a painting. There is also a night bazaar that sells jewelry and other Thai nick nacks to help you remember your stay.
The beach is great in that the beach of the resort can only really be accessed by the resort since there is a cliff to the north. This makes the beach fairly secluded.
Overall great stay and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LivingforJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney , Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

A little piece of Paradise in Phuket !
Everything you can ask for in a top class resort - it had it .
From beautiful crystal clear swimmable beach , 6 pools , plenty of pool bars , beautiful lawns , a range of quality food & great service .
Tip: make sure you request the Thani Wing Ocean View Room . Also when booking any tours go to the Convenient Store outside the resort & you will get it half price .
Enjoy

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Achilles71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manotick
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We have made this our resort of choice in Phuket. While it has everything one might want in one location, it is also close enough to Kata Beach that you can walk into town to enjoy other food and the local sights and sounds. While we have enjoyed an ocean-front suite in the main hotel, the lower priced Buri wing offers a quieter pool area and is just a short walk to the beach. The very large facility is well maintained and the service is friendly and efficient. The food is generally excellent at a rnage of restaurants (which is unusual for a large resort) and the bar and beverage service is efficient yet informal. What brings us back are the smiles and warmth of the people employed there - from the gardener to the assistant manager from Switzerland. Everyone has time to answer your questions - or to provide a polite hello. For those like myself who must stay in touch the Internet works well at a reasonable price for Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,937 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing