We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as great as it used to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not as great as it used to be!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

This April, we stayed for two separate occasions and we were surprised to see that the service standards have really deteriorated compared to the past. Few years ago during shoulder-season, the hotel instantly upgraded us to a Junior Suite in Thani Wing at check-in, and allowed free late check-out (very different to the upsetting experience of some guests I read recently). However, this time around, still in shoulder-season, despite there were plenty of people girls behind the door seeing both of my arms were joggling with all the bags, not even one approached to open the glass door - talking about 5-star services? Upon check-in, they gave us the worst possible room in Bhuri Wing, even smaller than their online description and far away from the everything else. Later in the evening, when we asked for some misquote spray, and a pair of slipper, it took an additional 3 follow-up calls before the housekeeper turned up after 90 mins with a bottle of misquote spray in his hand, still no slipper. When I asked for the requested slippers, his response was "tomorrow okay?" as if we were bargaining in a night-market - I was speechless. So the second time after we returned after the Krabi trip, we emphasised on getting at least the standard room in the Bhuri Wing, so they did gave us the one that faces the pool, but still, you have to wait up to 60 min for an extra towel. It seems that Katathani has been in business for quite some times, with the existing clientele, they no longer need to care for their guests. It also signal the time for us to move on to explore the other newcomers!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janyvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,185
    1,192
    360
    139
    97
See reviews for
1,273
1,830
66
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

We travelled to Thailand for a friends wedding that was held at Katathani and the entire wedding group stayed. we had a great time, breaky was fantastic and rooms comfy and clean, we asked for the pillows to be changed and an extra mattrress protector ( bed was a tad hard) and they were changed immediately. Wedding was amazing! we enjoyed it so much we are infact going to get married in thailand next June! truly a magical experience.

We never really ate at the restaurants in the hotel as they were pricey and there are great little restaurants across the road and with Kata, Karon and Patong so close you dont need to eat at the hotel really....

We asked for buckets of ice to be delievered to our rooms on many occasions so we could drink our dutyfree at our leisure and it was all done free of charge which was great!

Make sure you barter with all the mini van drivers at th resort too for a good rate to patong. we did this often as we had a big group and we'd org for the driver to pick us up at a certain place a few hours later... they always turned up... and he had a great sounds system :)

Beach was lovely, pools are awesome.. there are so many of them so your never really fighting for a space! awesome.. id go back in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

When we arrived at 11 at night, 3 hours after we were supposed to arrive the welcome was still fantastic and the porters who took our bags to our room simply said "Welcome Home". this blew me away. The room was awesome but homely. The breakfasts were outstanding even though it was a quiet time of year. The bar by the beach and pool was open until midnight every night still, even though it was quiet. We met many wonderful people there, both staff and guests.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

We had a fabulous time at Katathani, beautiful beach, spectacular grounds, fantastic swimming pools. We were on the ground floor of katanoi wing and it was great but my only issue that it would have been great to have had a little gate to come directly off the balcony. The rooms are clean and were big enough , I mean you hardly spend much time in it anyway. Fabulous resort for kids and its great to be able to get a massage right there without having to go out onto the street, its the same price anyway. The beach was far better than I expected, I love Koh Samui but I have to say the beach was as good and you can go into Karon or Patong for shopping or dinner, its a short trip but far enough away from the rat race to enjoy a peaceful paradise. Kata Beach is just over the hill and is great, plenty of atmosphere and good restaurants. We would definately come back, the kids loved it, you never get bored of the selection of swimming pools and lastly a great buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed here for our honeymoon but this was not our first time to Phuket. Best thing about the Katathani is the location, it backs onto Kata Noi beach so it's practically private, but you are also only about 10mins walk from Kata main beach and the town (it's up and down a hill though). Allow 20-30mins drive to Patong which is far enough away!
We stayed in the grand suite which was only a few dollars more than the junior suite when we booked, but I also stuck my head into a junior suite while they were cleaning and it was pretty similar. Do stay in the Thani wing though as the rooms are larger, more recently renovated and have ocean views for the most part.
The room was presented beautifully with extra touches and a cake for our honeymoon (see photos). Direct view to the beach and bathroom with separate shower was huge. Natural stone used throughout so it didn't get musty. King bed and pillows were very comfortable. TV with all the usual channels but who's watching!
They have a good massage service at reasonable prices, staff very friendly and chatty. The resort is also suitable for families, lots of sporting activities (tennis, table tennis, putting green, pool, bocce and games room) and a number of well maintained pools and spas if the sea is rough. Several fitness classes, scenic walks, cooking and fruit carving classes if you are up for that.
Several restaurants on the site at reasonable (hotel) prices, there are also 3 or 4 more traditional places across the road. Each night they have a buffet or set menu, only the Friday seafood menu took our eye but it was great. Also look out for cocktail happy hour each night.
Services - a good mini supermarket there and a laundry place across the road. They also have a business centre and wifi but price is over the top at 210 baht an hour, I still think that it should be free in top hotels. Go across the road and it's 120 baht or in Kata town its 60 baht.
Overall a very relaxing time, and we will likely return on our next Phuket trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drinky_canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

In a nutshell, try another resort... this one is nothing special. They get the easy things right, but most everything beyond the basics needs improvement. My wife and I have stayed at a lot of beach front resorts all over the world and for the price, this one is not up to par. And we are not usually that picky. When talking "bang for the buck" this has been near the worst. I'm not sure why this place got such good reviews. Generally the consensus on Trip Advisor is fairly accurate, but in the case of Katathani Beach resort I completely disagree.

The GOOD:
Nice Beach Front - However, everyday we were their, red flags were up. This means there are very strong undercurrents and it is highly recommended you don't swim in the ocean. This is a bummer, especially if you have kids. May or may not happen to you.

Relatively New Resort - it is clean and well kept with decent pools. However, during our stay it was not busy so they apparently decided not to turn on the springs or fountains in the pool... this tells me it's more about money than making sure all guests have the best stay possible, regardless of capacity at the time.

Food - The food for the most part was good, but very expensive.


The BAD:
Customer Service - very poor unfortunately and it basically ruined 1.5 days of our stay. Example... We were guaranteed, via email, a late checkout because we had a late flight out. According to their website & email customer service, this was free if room availability allowed. Long story short... first, they had no recollection of the email to us, so it is a good thing we brought a print out (they wanted a copy). Second, the resort was empty, maybe 30-40% capacity at best, and they still charged us half the room rate to get the additional 4 hrs late checkout! Insult to injury... they charged us half their prime season room rate, which was 24% more than we paid per night to stay there. I tried to explain, but they didn't want to hear it and completely brushed me off (management included). Oh... and when they don't really want to do what you are asking they seem to conveniently not understand you any longer. Happened a few times during my stay and I just kept repeating until finally they just did it - paying for the return cab with a Credit Card was one example. Really frustrating. Have more examples, but I think you get the idea.

Over Priced - a mixed drink or something like a rum/coke costs 240 baht! This is almost $8 US dollars and given the really cheap costs in Thailand, they are completely ripping you off. This goes for the food as well. They give you coupons for 250 Baht off dinner; However, they only work for a set menu... meaning you have to order an appetizer, select entry (only a few sub-par options), and a desert (not their best either). Unless you are a big eater and happen to like one of the limited options... it is much better & cheaper to just order from the regular menu even with the coupon... basically the coupons are a joke and are targeted toward nothing more than getting you to stay on the resort for dinner thinking it will be a good deal. Breakfast was included so we only paid for a snack during the day and dinner along with 1 or 2 drinks a day. The cost for food and beverages (including water) ended up being more than the total we paid for the room!! ALSO... they have internet PCs, but you have to pay additional to use them. They have tennis, but you pay for that too.They beach has chairs and umbrellas but the resort does not own them (public beach) so you must pay for their us as well. Basically... everything you do will require your wallet.

Tipping - bring your wallet with you if you want good service. This is also interesting... on every menu and sign with pricing it states "service charges & VAT included in price." However, when they bring you the receipt to sign and stand over you (they really do) the first line on it is TIP. If you don't tip forget about continued service and who knows what else they might do. Shady and unnecessarily confusing tactics if you ask me.

Activities - Minimal things going on if you are into that kind of thing. They also do not rent much for activities (no boogie boards, kayaks, snorkel, etc...).

My wife and I will never go back and I urge you to try another resort unless the bad things above don't bother you. This resort was the only bad part of our two week tour through Thailand. Hope this helps and good luck planning your vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Nice place to visit but be careful of your possessions. We had some property stolen with the Katathani Beach Resort management taking absolutely NO responsibility to the point of denying anything actually was taken. Management pointed out all the (draconian) rules they have for staff and therefore stated it could not have happened. If such rules are needed to keep staff from stealing is this not an admittance that these things do go on??? We were astonished at the contempt that the management held for us. It spoilt an otherwise acceptable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibsonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing