We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an absolutely wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“what an absolutely wonderful place”
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Our family and friends, seven in total, stayed at the Katathani in May/June of 2010 for 14 nights and had a fantastic time! The Katathani is located exclusively on its own beach which is clean and by far the best beach in Phuket. Its a great location with only a short Tuk Tuk ride to Patong. The facilities are excellent, they have it all, great pools, great food, good airconditioning rooms, beach towels, water and fruit fresh every day! MUST DO'S- have a drink of an evening at the Coconut bar and watch the sunset, Eat at Chom Talay's and have a massage in the gardens!!! . The Katathani is made by having lovely, smiling and helpful staff. What a truely wonderful place with wonderful staff - we will be sure to be back! THANK-YOU :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellers207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,212
    1,210
    367
    140
    98
See reviews for
1,296
1,852
67
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We stayed at the katathani in October 2009, and had a lovely time there. The location is perfection - Katathani has essentially its own beach which is gorgeous - the most gorgeous beach we saw in Phuket. The sunsets are INCREDIBLE - make sure to have a drink by the pool one evening to see them.
This is a very big hotel, but you feel the space as oppose to the size - because it has two locations, in essence, we never felt cramped.
The morning breakfast was fantastic, and we had the buffet as well - lovely.
We originally were staying in a Junior Oceanfront Suite, but found them TERRIBLE - very dated, and our air conditioning made noises. We upgraded (they didnt do this for free, we had to pay) to a Grand Suite - which was absolutely fantastic. Gorgeous pebbled bathroom, spacious, lovely view - excellent, excellent, excellent!
Definitely worth staying at, but yes, I wouldnt book the Junior Oceanfront suite.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meliss777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleRedDot
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Katathani Beach Resort & Spa is located exclusively on KataNoi beach. No other hotel or resort is located here save for "The Shore" which is at the end of the road & built into de hillside. Beach is very clean & fabulous with rolling surf everyday of our 9days stay. Seawater was clear up to 10ft. Used travelhotel.com for 2 adjoining junior suites located at KataNoi wing 3rd floor. Brekkie was inclusive. Kids 2 & 4.5y.o. ate for free. Suites comprised of bathroom, bedroom & day area in a very spacious rectangular room. Pools (x6, partial saltwater) were mainly for a quick dip & some may not find it suitable for doing laps. Did I mention hotel is ON the beach? It was the deciding factor in choosing a hotel in PHUKET for our extended family holiday. We also used the services rendered by Khun Manop Pukpaya. Check out his website & then correspond with him via email. Very resourceful guy & informative as well. He understands that ripping off tourists is bad for business. Loyal clientele use his services repeatedly.
Hotel's location is somewhat a hit-or-miss. Unless you are confining yourself to eating in de hotel or de 3 restaurants opposite de hotel, u need to walk up n down a small hill. Its a easy n relaxing walk. There are no touts or souvenir vendors on KataNoi beach itself, so there is peace & quiet for working yr tan. No major grouses about the hotel proper. We’re happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wwsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This was what we have nicknamed our 'political escape' holiday. It wasn't planned but just 24 hours into the 'great ' political debates in the run up to the General Election we thought 'enough already ' and decided to get away. This was our third visit to Phuket and our first in 13 years, so we were expecting one or two changes and we got them.

We had intended to stay for 3 nights in Bangkok and 10 nights in Phuket but a combination of ash cloud and the four bombs in Bangkok (in the actual road where our hotel was situated) persuaded myself and Mrs Electric (not usually ones to avoid war zones...lol) to spend 13 nights in Phuket instead. We are very pleased we did.

As per usual I will split the review into the good points and the bad points although it must be said that the bad points are very few.

Good Points....

This is a wonderfully relaxing hotel at the end of a rather hilly road and it is split into three sections. These are the Thani wing, the Bhuri wing, and the Shore Club, which is a series of villas set on a hill.
We chose to stay in the Bhuri wing and we were delighted with our room which was very well appointed and spacious with the most unique shower room we had ever seen. We decided not to upgrade as this was, after all an additional holiday to escape election fever. But we feel we struck oil by chosing the Bhuri wing as the Thani wing seemed rather busy by comparison. Certainly the pools in the Thani wing were a lot busier while I think that during the entire stay the busiest our pool got was about ten people in it. And on a number of days there were long periods where we had it to ourselves...so relaxing that we almost asked for an evening meal to be served in the jacuzzi... (very rock and roll!!).

Check in was superb and although all of the staff at the hotel was very good I really must highlight Areenee as being the brightest star on reception.
Unusually for the Far East, breakfast was included in our package and it was fresh, plentiful, and of a high standard. Most of the staff were very cheerful and friendly at breakfast. A few were not, but hey...I am not a morning person so perhaps thats all it was.
One very innovative idea which I have never come across before is that you can stock your own minibar. There is a shop on site where you can sign off items to your room and the girls who staffed the shop were always helpful, and friendly. Or of course you may save even more money by shopping at a number of convenience stores very close to the hotel.
As per usual much as i adore travel, it does not always adore me and on the couple of days illness I suffered (food poisoning from a restaurant a taxi ride away...thanks guys!!!) the staff actually sent flowers and a get well soon card to my room. How about THAT for room service!!!
Talking of room service...a huge thank you to Choojit who did a wonderful job of looking after our room during our stay.
Ok..so as you can see...many, many good points about this hotel indeed. Now for the bad points...and to be fair there is only one small one.
It is the practice of the hotel to replace your pool towels with new ones for use the following day when they come to do the turn down service in your room in the evening.

It just so happens that myself and Mrs Electric think that down turn service is the spawn of the devil.

I take many pills (calm yourselves all you customs guys and girls...they are all prescribed...) so usually we are sleeping when downturn is sheduled. And we don't like interuptions. Because of this we asked if it was ok to take our towels back to reception to get replacements on the way back to our room for a nap. This was agreed upon with no problem....apart from that when there was a different member of staff on they usually started by telling us the towels would be exchanged at turndown. So we had to explain all over again, a situation I found very embarrassing as it involved usually having to admit to having some health problems in front of other guests and staff.
That was the only bad point. Would we come here again..YES...

Now onto some more general things which may be helpful to you all.

General Things

Phuket has always been a little more expensive as for many years it has been the playground of the rich and shameless. And certainly the combined effect of inflation and the variation of the Thai Baht exchange rate has taken its toll..it is not as cheap as it used to be. The taxis and tuk tuks will charge you a minumum of £3 even if you are only going on a very short journey. There is a row of restaurants and shops a VERY short walk from the hotel but to get to the larger area of restaurants over the hill you need to be VERY fit AND have had all of your sweat glands removed....or you pay £3 each way. A journey into the insanity of Patong will cost you between 400 and 500 baht each way (50 baht to one pound sterling approximately).
Patong....we had previously visited in '94 and '97 and in between those two visits it had practically doubled in size. The terrible events of 26th December 2004 put paid to that growth for a while.
And now?? Its back..and has become a wide spread metropolis of madness in only five and a half years. It is Bawdy, Brash, Frolicky, and Fun. Lots of people with questionable genitalia will want to 'love you long time'. Having said that, it is still more user friendly than that true horror of adult entertainment, Pattaya. We went to Patong on only one occasion to try the Sea Hag...no...not an ageing amphibious hooker, but a restaurant which we LOVED (see separate review ).
Many of the Thais felt that the sad events of 2004 were sent by Buddha to cleanse Patong of its sins. It hasn't worked but still remains a compelling place to visit. The Hard Rock Cafe also has a presense there now....Excellent cocktails..but not the cheapest.

Another change worth noting is that in the restaurants close to the hotel there are menu boards written in....RUSSIAN.....so obviously many Russians come here. Some people have complained that the Russians are not friendly. But I have not yet had this problem. In my experience, the vast majority of them are friendly, with a sense of humour and only the difference of language limiting communication.
Finally yet again my thoughts have drifted back to food....and Thai tiger prawns in particular. They are HUGE. Yes indeed...at last, ladies and gentlemen, a man who finally admits that size matters...these are 10 inches plus long and are once again no longer cheap. You will probably pay around £8.50 PER PRAWN....but...covered in garlic butter...its one holiday indulgence that you must not miss (even though the Thai waiter gave myself and Mrs Electric a very shocked look when we ordered three. Each...lol). AND the restaurant which serves them is within walking distance of the hotel.
On the subject of food, should you wish to eat a hamburger in a restaurant then please request that your meat is cooked well done. If you dont you are almost guaranteed to recieve a practically raw burger. You now know the reason for my two days of intestinal rebellion.
I hope this has been of great use to you all...and thank you for taking the time to read this lengthy review...I am sure that War and Peace is shorter.....

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Electricwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Great hotel on Kata beach (south of the Island) about 50 minutes from the airport.

Hotel set by itself in a stunning bay, 800m golden sandy beach - It's a huge 4* hotel which is split into 2 wings, plus the newly opening Shore Club (exclusive villas set on the hill with views of the ocean) - the accommodation standard varies in each section of the hotel so make sure you pick the right one. The Bhuri Wing is the main wing on the beach front - the best rooms in the Bhuri Wing are the Ocean front rooms (can be requested) as they are more modern. In the Thani Wing all the rooms are a higher standard (but no sea views), this wing is closer to the beach club, but as the hotel has 6 pools spa, fitness center, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, this wing is also a good choice.

The hotel offers excellent value for money from the 150 baht lunchtime menu, 300 baht Thai massages in the Garden, fill your own mini bar at supermarket prices and a 1500 baht hour full body massage in the spa.

Hotel is 20 minute (400 baht) ride away from the madness of Patong. This is a great value for money large hotel, in a beautiful location, with lots of facilities in a great spot. If large hotel with loads to do is your thing, then you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khanittha, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2010
To whom it may concern

Greetings from the Katathani Phuket Beach Resort.

On behalf of our team and management, we greatly thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at our establishment.

We are glad to hear that the entirety of your holiday with us went well and that you enjoyed everything that we had to offer.

In your comments you have mentioned the two wings Thani and Bhuri. Please allow me to clarify that the Thani wing is our main wing, this is the one with the ocean views, and the Bhuri Wing is the one with pool/garden view and the closest to the Beach Club.

Once again thank you for your comments.

We hope to welcome you for another stay at the Shores of Serenity.


Yours faithfully,

Khanittha Boonyong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The good: best beach, clean, clear waters. Cheap lunch 150 baht. 6pools. The new wing at the shore has a beautiful pool. Nice warm friendly reception. Nothing like having a massage In the plush garden environment.

The bad: dated furnishing, not much to do in surrounding area. Need to take expensive cabs 150 baht to kata beach area if u do not want to eat at the expensive restaurants.

I'd rather take my family to this resort than stay at safari beach in patong.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pssman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2010

we came here for honeymoon and was upgraded to a ocean view suite in the thani wing which we were very happy about as you can imagine! the thani wing is on the beach side of the road. you can use facilities at either wing. our room was really big and you could see the beach from our balcony. they had made swans and an elephant out of towels, and hearts out of petals on our bed when we arrived and we had fresh fruit for 2 days which was lovely.

you get 2 bottles of free water each day in your room, and also free beach towels which get collected between 5 - 6.30pm each day - normally when we were having our kip!

room has hairdryer and safe and you can borrow iron and board from reception.

don't use the melon mini market on site as it's expensive. use the 2 mini markets over the road which are cheaper and have everything.

food at the hotel was good from what we had. ate breakfast most mornings in chom allay or cinnaman. loads of choice. had lunch sometimes from the beach bars, and the hamburgers and pizzas were lovely! you can just sign for food/drinks and they get charged to your room. we had a free meal voucher for a restaurant so we ate at scala italian which was really nice. if we had to pay it would have been expensive though! there are 3 restaurants over the road which we went to and alot cheaper than at the hotel and they were very good.

happy hour at the coconut beach bar was from 5.30 - 6.30pm. we worked our way through the cocktail list!

entertainment was poor. singers at coconut bar for happy hour and singers at fishermans wharf but that was it. perhaps it was because it was out of season. also would have been nice to have some music around the main pools in the day.

beach is nice but as it's monsoon season there is quite alot of debris that gets washed in. the hotel does go along and clean it twice a day though. be careful of the sea as very choppy and strong current. only one day when there was a yellow flag flying. good fun though to jump the waves although girls, be careful of loosing your bikini!

you can have massages around the pool or on the beach. beach is cheaper. i had my hair braided on the beach for about 600baht which is cheaper than some shops in town.

quite often in the evenings we went into kata which is 150 baht in a taxi from outside the hotel. always ask taxi man price before you get into taxi and also try a tuk tuk - they are funny but not the safest! don't think they have heard of health and safety in thailand! loads of shops, bars and restaurants in kata, but be prepared to get hassled though!

went on a couple of trips - saim safari, speedboat trip to islands and thai boxing.
thai boxing is on in patong every tuesday and friday nights. good experience but barter the price as we got in alot cheaper than we should of done and it wasn't full.

the saim elephant safari was fun. you get to touch the young elephants and they do some dancing/tricks etc that i wasn't that keen on. i just hope they treat them well - they seemed to be ok. then we went on a trek through the forest for half an hour which was interesting.

speedboat trip was great apart from it was raining! it did clear up mid morning though. again, barter the price and don't use the hotel. we got it for half the price at the mini mart to the left of the hotel entrance.

use the hotel shuttle bus to take you to patong or phuket. patong is mad and a bit like blackpool but it's an eye opener! we went when the england games were on so the bars are rammed and great atmosphere although we were [-]! for some reason the thais love games, i.e connect 4, jenga - very strange! had a few games though.

there is a games room at hotel with pool table, ping pong, football tables and computer games. think the computer games you have to pay for though. also books for you to borrow to read. there is also a free gym.

thailand is not as cheap as everyone makes out so be prepared to take more money than you thought. there are some bargains to be had though if you don't mind haggling.

overall a great holiday and we would definately go back to thailand. hotel staff were great and couldn't do enough for us. thai people are so friendly and helpful and the food is great.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuneatonRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing