We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location Terrible rooms Be careful what part of the hotel you book!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I just got back from my holiday in Thailand and feel compelled to warn other travelers.
The good points:
Kata Noi is a beautiful quiet beach, cleaner than the main beach.
The hotel pools are beautiful, especially the beach front ones.
The little shopping strip is quiet but has 3 or 4 cafes,a couple of mini marts and a couple
of shops for clothing, thongs ect.. It's a very relaxing location.
The not so good.
It seems this is actually 2 hotels in one. We booked a superior room through the internet.The hotel was listed as a 5 star hotel. Our room was actually in the Bhuri wing. This part of the hotel has a different lobby (more like 3 Star). The receptionist was having a bad day and all the other reception staff were running around trying to appease her. We were assigned a room next to the lobby which had a really bad damp smell. We asked to be moved and were very politely (by a different girl) moved to an upstairs room without damp smell. The room however was small, dark, old, tired and very basic. No bathtub, no clock radio, no bottle opener, no ironing board. The soap scum in the shower was quite thick . Yuk. This was definitely not 5 star. The breakfast is also served in the 3 star part of the hotel and although satisfactory, again is 3 star standard not 5 star. We asked if we could cancel but were informed that we would still have to pay for the full period. That was very disappointing. Although the rate we got (3990Baht/AUD$140 per night) was heavily discounted it was still rather high for the room quality. We got far better rooms at half the price in other Kata hotels. The internet, food and beverage and services are all charged at 5 star rates but you are actually staying in a 3 star hotel. As other travelers have commented, it does seem to be profit driven rather than customer satisfaction . I suspect the good reviews about this hotel are from people who stayed in the 5 star part of the hotel. If you book this hotel, do clarify with the hotel prior to your arrival which part of the hotel you are staying in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunny255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,219)
There are newer reviews for Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,485 - 2,491 of 4,219 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

Just got back from 5 days here.
When we arrived decided not to leave resort as so beautiful!
Had a Junior suite OceanFront, beautiful location of room,right on beach, however expected more as it is a suite, more like a deluxe room in a 5star hotel.
What ever you do, do not stay in the Bhuri wing, it is across the road & isolated from the whole hotel, Im not sure what rooms they are, Id say standard & deluxe maybe as the Suites are in the Thani wing nearer to the beach.
Highly recommend hanging out by the Beach Club pool, although staff not as friendly as other hotels in Phuket.
All in all, service very average in this hotel, from Reception right down to the massage ladies on the lawn.
This hotel is what i would expect from a Thai beach resort, amazing pools & directly on a beautiful beach.
Didnt eat in any restaurants, except breakfast which was ok, normail selection but food just out in open so flys around & getting hot in the sun.
Make sure you go to 2 chefs & mom tris boathouse, down the road while you stay here for dinner, very nice.
Loved the Katathani, apart from service, would definately stay here again.Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigbirdbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Our family and friends, seven in total, stayed at the Katathani in May/June of 2010 for 14 nights and had a fantastic time! The Katathani is located exclusively on its own beach which is clean and by far the best beach in Phuket. Its a great location with only a short Tuk Tuk ride to Patong. The facilities are excellent, they have it all, great pools, great food, good airconditioning rooms, beach towels, water and fruit fresh every day! MUST DO'S- have a drink of an evening at the Coconut bar and watch the sunset, Eat at Chom Talay's and have a massage in the gardens!!! . The Katathani is made by having lovely, smiling and helpful staff. What a truely wonderful place with wonderful staff - we will be sure to be back! THANK-YOU :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellers207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We stayed at the katathani in October 2009, and had a lovely time there. The location is perfection - Katathani has essentially its own beach which is gorgeous - the most gorgeous beach we saw in Phuket. The sunsets are INCREDIBLE - make sure to have a drink by the pool one evening to see them.
This is a very big hotel, but you feel the space as oppose to the size - because it has two locations, in essence, we never felt cramped.
The morning breakfast was fantastic, and we had the buffet as well - lovely.
We originally were staying in a Junior Oceanfront Suite, but found them TERRIBLE - very dated, and our air conditioning made noises. We upgraded (they didnt do this for free, we had to pay) to a Grand Suite - which was absolutely fantastic. Gorgeous pebbled bathroom, spacious, lovely view - excellent, excellent, excellent!
Definitely worth staying at, but yes, I wouldnt book the Junior Oceanfront suite.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meliss777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Katathani Beach Resort & Spa is located exclusively on KataNoi beach. No other hotel or resort is located here save for "The Shore" which is at the end of the road & built into de hillside. Beach is very clean & fabulous with rolling surf everyday of our 9days stay. Seawater was clear up to 10ft. Used travelhotel.com for 2 adjoining junior suites located at KataNoi wing 3rd floor. Brekkie was inclusive. Kids 2 & 4.5y.o. ate for free. Suites comprised of bathroom, bedroom & day area in a very spacious rectangular room. Pools (x6, partial saltwater) were mainly for a quick dip & some may not find it suitable for doing laps. Did I mention hotel is ON the beach? It was the deciding factor in choosing a hotel in PHUKET for our extended family holiday. We also used the services rendered by Khun Manop Pukpaya. Check out his website & then correspond with him via email. Very resourceful guy & informative as well. He understands that ripping off tourists is bad for business. Loyal clientele use his services repeatedly.
Hotel's location is somewhat a hit-or-miss. Unless you are confining yourself to eating in de hotel or de 3 restaurants opposite de hotel, u need to walk up n down a small hill. Its a easy n relaxing walk. There are no touts or souvenir vendors on KataNoi beach itself, so there is peace & quiet for working yr tan. No major grouses about the hotel proper. We’re happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wwsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This was what we have nicknamed our 'political escape' holiday. It wasn't planned but just 24 hours into the 'great ' political debates in the run up to the General Election we thought 'enough already ' and decided to get away. This was our third visit to Phuket and our first in 13 years, so we were expecting one or two changes and we got them.

We had intended to stay for 3 nights in Bangkok and 10 nights in Phuket but a combination of ash cloud and the four bombs in Bangkok (in the actual road where our hotel was situated) persuaded myself and Mrs Electric (not usually ones to avoid war zones...lol) to spend 13 nights in Phuket instead. We are very pleased we did.

As per usual I will split the review into the good points and the bad points although it must be said that the bad points are very few.

Good Points....

This is a wonderfully relaxing hotel at the end of a rather hilly road and it is split into three sections. These are the Thani wing, the Bhuri wing, and the Shore Club, which is a series of villas set on a hill.
We chose to stay in the Bhuri wing and we were delighted with our room which was very well appointed and spacious with the most unique shower room we had ever seen. We decided not to upgrade as this was, after all an additional holiday to escape election fever. But we feel we struck oil by chosing the Bhuri wing as the Thani wing seemed rather busy by comparison. Certainly the pools in the Thani wing were a lot busier while I think that during the entire stay the busiest our pool got was about ten people in it. And on a number of days there were long periods where we had it to ourselves...so relaxing that we almost asked for an evening meal to be served in the jacuzzi... (very rock and roll!!).

Check in was superb and although all of the staff at the hotel was very good I really must highlight Areenee as being the brightest star on reception.
Unusually for the Far East, breakfast was included in our package and it was fresh, plentiful, and of a high standard. Most of the staff were very cheerful and friendly at breakfast. A few were not, but hey...I am not a morning person so perhaps thats all it was.
One very innovative idea which I have never come across before is that you can stock your own minibar. There is a shop on site where you can sign off items to your room and the girls who staffed the shop were always helpful, and friendly. Or of course you may save even more money by shopping at a number of convenience stores very close to the hotel.
As per usual much as i adore travel, it does not always adore me and on the couple of days illness I suffered (food poisoning from a restaurant a taxi ride away...thanks guys!!!) the staff actually sent flowers and a get well soon card to my room. How about THAT for room service!!!
Talking of room service...a huge thank you to Choojit who did a wonderful job of looking after our room during our stay.
Ok..so as you can see...many, many good points about this hotel indeed. Now for the bad points...and to be fair there is only one small one.
It is the practice of the hotel to replace your pool towels with new ones for use the following day when they come to do the turn down service in your room in the evening.

It just so happens that myself and Mrs Electric think that down turn service is the spawn of the devil.

I take many pills (calm yourselves all you customs guys and girls...they are all prescribed...) so usually we are sleeping when downturn is sheduled. And we don't like interuptions. Because of this we asked if it was ok to take our towels back to reception to get replacements on the way back to our room for a nap. This was agreed upon with no problem....apart from that when there was a different member of staff on they usually started by telling us the towels would be exchanged at turndown. So we had to explain all over again, a situation I found very embarrassing as it involved usually having to admit to having some health problems in front of other guests and staff.
That was the only bad point. Would we come here again..YES...

Now onto some more general things which may be helpful to you all.

General Things

Phuket has always been a little more expensive as for many years it has been the playground of the rich and shameless. And certainly the combined effect of inflation and the variation of the Thai Baht exchange rate has taken its toll..it is not as cheap as it used to be. The taxis and tuk tuks will charge you a minumum of £3 even if you are only going on a very short journey. There is a row of restaurants and shops a VERY short walk from the hotel but to get to the larger area of restaurants over the hill you need to be VERY fit AND have had all of your sweat glands removed....or you pay £3 each way. A journey into the insanity of Patong will cost you between 400 and 500 baht each way (50 baht to one pound sterling approximately).
Patong....we had previously visited in '94 and '97 and in between those two visits it had practically doubled in size. The terrible events of 26th December 2004 put paid to that growth for a while.
And now?? Its back..and has become a wide spread metropolis of madness in only five and a half years. It is Bawdy, Brash, Frolicky, and Fun. Lots of people with questionable genitalia will want to 'love you long time'. Having said that, it is still more user friendly than that true horror of adult entertainment, Pattaya. We went to Patong on only one occasion to try the Sea Hag...no...not an ageing amphibious hooker, but a restaurant which we LOVED (see separate review ).
Many of the Thais felt that the sad events of 2004 were sent by Buddha to cleanse Patong of its sins. It hasn't worked but still remains a compelling place to visit. The Hard Rock Cafe also has a presense there now....Excellent cocktails..but not the cheapest.

Another change worth noting is that in the restaurants close to the hotel there are menu boards written in....RUSSIAN.....so obviously many Russians come here. Some people have complained that the Russians are not friendly. But I have not yet had this problem. In my experience, the vast majority of them are friendly, with a sense of humour and only the difference of language limiting communication.
Finally yet again my thoughts have drifted back to food....and Thai tiger prawns in particular. They are HUGE. Yes indeed...at last, ladies and gentlemen, a man who finally admits that size matters...these are 10 inches plus long and are once again no longer cheap. You will probably pay around £8.50 PER PRAWN....but...covered in garlic butter...its one holiday indulgence that you must not miss (even though the Thai waiter gave myself and Mrs Electric a very shocked look when we ordered three. Each...lol). AND the restaurant which serves them is within walking distance of the hotel.
On the subject of food, should you wish to eat a hamburger in a restaurant then please request that your meat is cooked well done. If you dont you are almost guaranteed to recieve a practically raw burger. You now know the reason for my two days of intestinal rebellion.
I hope this has been of great use to you all...and thank you for taking the time to read this lengthy review...I am sure that War and Peace is shorter.....

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Electricwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Great hotel on Kata beach (south of the Island) about 50 minutes from the airport.

Hotel set by itself in a stunning bay, 800m golden sandy beach - It's a huge 4* hotel which is split into 2 wings, plus the newly opening Shore Club (exclusive villas set on the hill with views of the ocean) - the accommodation standard varies in each section of the hotel so make sure you pick the right one. The Bhuri Wing is the main wing on the beach front - the best rooms in the Bhuri Wing are the Ocean front rooms (can be requested) as they are more modern. In the Thani Wing all the rooms are a higher standard (but no sea views), this wing is closer to the beach club, but as the hotel has 6 pools spa, fitness center, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, this wing is also a good choice.

The hotel offers excellent value for money from the 150 baht lunchtime menu, 300 baht Thai massages in the Garden, fill your own mini bar at supermarket prices and a 1500 baht hour full body massage in the spa.

Hotel is 20 minute (400 baht) ride away from the madness of Patong. This is a great value for money large hotel, in a beautiful location, with lots of facilities in a great spot. If large hotel with loads to do is your thing, then you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetravel006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khanittha, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2010

To whom it may concern

Greetings from the Katathani Phuket Beach Resort.

On behalf of our team and management, we greatly thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at our establishment.

We are glad to hear that the entirety of your holiday with us went well and that you enjoyed everything that we had to offer.

In your comments you have mentioned the two wings Thani and Bhuri. Please allow me to clarify that the Thani wing is our main wing, this is the one with the ocean views, and the Bhuri Wing is the one with pool/garden view and the closest to the Beach Club.

Once again thank you for your comments.

We hope to welcome you for another stay at the Shores of Serenity.


Yours faithfully,

Khanittha Boonyong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
24.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,021 reviews
5.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,895 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £98 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing