We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location - Average Hotel”
Review of The Aspasia Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Aspasia Phuket
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My family and I won a 2 night stay at the Aspasia and decided to book an additional 2 nights and make a small holiday out of it. We booked a 1 bedroom grand deluxe suite. The room was huge and well appointed. It was a pleasure having the space - especially since we have a 2 year old - and the fittings all seemed relatively new. The view from our balcony (and in fact all over the hotel) is spectacular! The cleaning service staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is okay and the food tasty enough. The staff however, have limited English speaking skills which is very frustrating - especially since 80% of the guests staying at the same time as us, were foreigners! The pool area is pleasant enough. What is incredibly disappointing, is that this place has direct access to the beach. However, the access path is so damaged, run down, dangerous and filthy, that it's almost impossible to use - especially with children! The alternative is to climb a "mount Everest" type hill to get to and from the beach! Unpleasant after a long day on the beach - again, especially with children! We were told that if the hotel doesn't "own it" (as in the access path to the beach), then they won't touch it. What a ridiculous thought process!

That all said, the WORST part of this hotel/apartment living, is the management staff! They are lazy, rude, incompetent and unprofessional! They forgot to organise our airport pickup, when we finally made our own way there, they forgot to arrange our early check-in. An hour and a half later, when we did get to check-in, they forgot to organise a cot for our 2 year old! It took them 3 hours to move the TV from the bedroom to the lounge and provide one extra sheet! They messed up our spa booking by 3 hours and after booking a babysitter so that we could finally use our free spa voucher a day later, they called on the bedroom phone to let us know the sitter was there - literally outside our door - and woke our child minutes before we were supposed to leave. When we asked why they hadn't just knocked, their reply was the standard reply for Thai's - aaahh, sorry!

Would I recommend this hotel to friends or family or even return myself - Absolutely not! There are far better places to stay in Thailand that this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SashAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

This was our second stay at the Aspasia, as we loved our stay the first time. It is located at the top end of Kata, which is convenient if you want to walk to Karon. There are 2 sections of the hotel, the main older part which has the lobby and restaurants, and an newer extension which we stayed in. The new rooms are like mini apartments and are very large with beautiful balconies. This section also has its own pool area with gym. The breakfast layout isn't huge, but they will cook you up what you request. The restaurant food is average, much better to walk down the hill to the restaurants near the beach. The massage was sensational and the staff did go out of their way to help. If you are unfit don't book this hotel though. It is a very steep climb up the hill - it is a tsunami evactuation point!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummytotwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Stayed in the Aspasia for 1 wk whilst travelling around Thailand. Enjoyed our stay, but the hotel is showing signs of ageing and needs renovation.
The good:
- very spacious rooms, big bathrooms and big balcony (coming from Europe, it is huge!)
- nice pool with sea view. Pool isn't huge, but big enough to do some laps. Small pool on the top with nicer view.
- nice breakfast: fresh fruit, all types of bread, excellent warm choices, etc.
- extremely friendly staff, very much try to make your stay a success
- good location. Yes, it's on a bit of a hill. But honestly, this did not bother us in the least. The location is calm and quite, we slept extremely well. Kata is not Patong, and that's a good thing! Patong is just too packed and the beach is not all that. Kata is relaxed, has everything you need (7-11, restaurants, tour agencies, you name it)
- Free wifi
- Being low season, the hotel offered us a free meal and massage if we extended our stay to 5 nights, a very nice gesture.

However, I almost gave the hotel 3* rating for the following reasons:
- the hotel is showing it's age, and needs some renovation. Eg cracked sink, older shower, etc
- we didn't have hot water for 2 days in a row. The staff jumped to try and fix it (appreciated, of course), but fact is, it's a 5* resort without hot water. Not good.
- Safe in our room broke (and was repaired)
- Breakfast starts at 7am. As we had a early departure I asked if it would be possible to get some toast & coffee at 6:30, this was out of the question. When we checked out at 6:45, the breakfast was open with several couples eating. This miffed me a bit, as we left hungry and could have had a bite to eat if the staff had been so kind to let us know that it does actually open at 6:30...
All in all, a good stay, and I would go back.

As for Phuket, good to stay for a while, but there are nicer islands out there. In high season it is just too much. Out of season is ideal, but the hotels are veeeerrrry calm.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I stayed at this resort for 2 weeks last summer in a suite and had a great time surfing at the nearby Kata beach. It was 5 star luxury for 3 star prices. The regular rooms are so-so but the suites are fantastic and huge. One thing to note is that the suites seem to be vacation rentals that are owned. Thus each suite has completely different furnishings depending on the owner. We moved around to a few different suites during our stay and found quite the range from charming French to tacky Hong Kong depending.

The concerns that other reviewers have been raising about it being on top of a hill and walking to the beach seems to be a minor issue at best. It's only a 15 minute walk to the beach, but most people should rent a scooter during the stay in Phuket for like $15 day or so it was never an issue for us. Walking wasn't too bad either.

The free breakfast in the mornings were great with good food, the pool was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonkeymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Pros:
1: Nice view from restaurant
2: Nice pool

Cons:
1: Located far from everything beach/airport/Rassada pier
2: The beds are not comfortable
3: The staff is ok at best
4: We had to kill the bugs when we got into the room (spiders and roaches)

All in all, I wouldn’t recommend this hotel, it’s really far from everything (airport, beach and Rassada pier), nearly impossible to walk to the hotel, as it is located on top of a cliff and the road is really really steep.

The rooms are huge but they felt empty and cold, the hotel has no soul. This hotel looked better in the pictures/brochure. The hotel is tired and unwelcoming. We also had to kill a couple of bugs when we got into the room. Thank god we only stayed there 1 night on our way to majestic Koh Phe Phe where we stayed at Villa 360.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WEB_Stir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

The rooms was spacious, clean and modern. The lobby was beautiful. Far more than I expected and i cant wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concretejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed in the Aspasia for 4 nights in August 2010. We found this hotel to be fantastic. Our room was very spacious with a great view . The pool area was very nice. The staff in the hotel were excellent - they were very friendly, helpful and attentive. BReakfast each morning was very nice and as part of our deal we received a complimentary dinner which was also really nice. We also received a complimentary massage in the Spa which was great. The only drawbacks I would have, have already been mentioned by other reviewers....the hotels location at the top of a very steep hill and the hotels (lack of)proximity to the beach, but apart from that it was top class and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe77Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#48 of 55 in Kata Beach
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#17 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Impiana Private Villas Kata Noi
0.9 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
834 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 55 in Kata Beach
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aspasia Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aspasia Phuket

Address: 1/3 Laem Sai Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £201 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aspasia Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently created in the south of the island of Phuket, The Aspasia is a stylish boutique resort reflecting an unusual retro-deco design with hints of Mayan style architecture. The muted yellow and green hues of the buildings blend exotically with the colours of the lush forest that sweeps down to Kata Beach. Each secluded apartment has stunning sea views, and guests only have a two minute walk to the white, sandy beach below.With the accent firmly lying on tranquility, comfort and contemporary style, The Aspasia Phuket offers a choice of superior accommodation and facilities that includes restaurant, a wine and cigar shop, two swimming pools, a gymnasium, business centre, meeting room, high-speed wireless Internet access and spa. Original paintings and antiques are displayed in the spa, restaurant and lobby, complementing the style of decor. There is easy access between the twelve buildings and facilities forming the resort. The property is set amongst beautifully landscaped gardens, filled with colourful tropical planting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aspasia Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aspasia Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Aspasia Phuket Kata
Aspasia Phuket Hotel Kata
The Aspasia Phuket Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing