We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay, a bit far out though.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boomerang Village Resort
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay, a bit far out though.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here for y boyfriends birthday during of travels in Thailand. We payed quite a lot for the room, but we wernt disapointed. On arrival we recieved cold towels and fruit juice, we arrived 2 hours before check in but they got our room ready within 10 minutes of us arriving.

We had a superior room near the pool, it was amazing. We had a huge four poster bed, the towels were all arranged into flowers and elephants, there were flowers scattered around. The bathroom was huge and very tastefully decorated. It was exactly what you expect when paying a bit more in Thailand.

The pool is very nice and relaxing. They play relaxing sounds and music quietly around the pool which creates a very peaceful atmosphere.

The restaurant serves amazing food at reasonable prices. Thai dishes were around 150 baht, which seemed ok as we'd just come from patong which was more expensive. Breakfast was ok. A man was on hand to make fresh omelettes and there was a good selection of hot and cold food.

The place is a bit far away from anything, however it advertises itself as a relaxing resort, and being in a secluded spot is great if all you want to do is unwind. They do offer a taxi service, which costs around 200 baht to get to kata Noi beach, and 400 to patong. So it's not like you are stuck there if you do fancy venturing out.

Overall, great service, great food, amazing room and resort, just a bit secluded if you are someone who appreciates being in the mist of things.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    232
    55
    22
    7
See reviews for
158
550
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

back again after a yr, this time with family in-tow,
group size 4 adults + 2 kids (5&4 yrs old)

booked the garden suites double room and triple room.
the double room could use a little table for drinks etc

requested for the higher floor and was given the 2nd floor, which has a nice view of kata town.

same recep guy greeted us when we arrived, soft-spoken and friendly gentle guy :D

breakfast menu didn't changed much from what i remember

had the pizza there and it was awesome. a must try.

if i have to pick on something, i would still say the breakfast buffet menu need some work and effort put in...

Room Tip: if u hv eldly folks with problem movin ard, request for rooms on the lower ground. resort is on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

You don't need a beach location in Phuket because the beaches are not very nice here. So, we choose this beautiful place close to Kata restaurants :) I enjoyed the lights around the pool in the evenings, it was very idyllic!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandarinGoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel is removed from the hubbub, which was nice. When we checked in their was a slight problem-we booked the hotel through IndoChina tours and the receptionist at Boomerang state we hao have a voucher (we prepaid months prior). She wasn't very helpful in offering to call IndoChina to rectify the problem; this created some stress for us. However, everything else was great about our stay. Beware-even though reception says it opens at 7 a.m. it was never open on time during our stay. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The restaurant was good. The staff was great-an Italian gentleman and Nye (sp), and James were all terrific (especially Nye who is a ray of sunshine!).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments.
We apologize for the inconvenience with our reception. We have already taken steps to make sure that from now on it will always be open at 7 am as it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at BVR. Naing (I hope I spelled that right) on the front desk gave absolutely superb service and always had a friendly "hello, how's my sister" for my daughter.

There was no problem booking all our tours and activities for us and they were able to negotiate us a discount on occasion for certain tours. I disagree with previous comments about transport and costs as, particularly compared to home, and as I was traveling by myself with my 9 year old daughter, I found the taxis and BVR's transport efficient, safe and cheap. I didn't use tuk tuks as preferred to pay more for safety. Definitely make use of the BVR service to the Phuket town night markets, cheaper deals than at Patong.

Breakfast was absolutely fine and by the end of the week the chef was making my daughter's omelette as soon as she walked in as he knew her order.

My only comment was that housekeeping could happen anywhere from 10am to 4pm so, in the middle of the day when I wanted to retreat to my room with air con out of the heat, I had to skedaddle while they made up the room, but really only a minor inconvenience.

Big thanks to everyone at BVR.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MissMel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your input. We look forward to serving many more omelettes to your daughter in the future. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

the boomerang village resort is a real gem some 10 minutes (walking) away from kata beach (which is by the way a really ugly place). most of the rooms are small bungalows situated in a lovely garden. i had a deluxe room with sea view, nice bathroom and a huge and comfy bed. the staff is really friendly and helpful and you can tell that they try to make your stay as unforgettable as possible. oh yeah, and the pool area is lovely. there are unfortunately a few things that could need some improvement, the first is the wifi, which is not really working. the first two days the connection was very, very slow. they told me they would "make it better" which resulted in not having any internet in the room at all.. but as there's a business center next to the pool area with two pcs, printer and tablet, which all work perfectly, the internet problem was soon solved. another thing that could be a bit of a nuisance is that the english skills of some of the staff are somewhat "adventurous", something that would normally not be too much of an issue but when i wanted to book a taxi to the airport (in very clear and simple english) the young lady at the reception seemed to be totally overchallenged and although she answered "yes, yes" to my question if all was clear, my suspicions about her not having understood about at least 50% of my inquiry was confirmed when some time later another lady from the reception called my room and asked some details to my booking. but in the end everything worked out fine, so that was just a minor incident. the breakfast buffet is ok, but could get a bit boring after a while. do NOT take the fruit juices, they literally taste like undilluted syrup. nevertheless it was a pleasant stay and i would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasDattelbecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your comment. We can assure you that we will try our best to keep our resort as the "gem" you described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Boomerang in a Pool Suite.

The room was large with a nice deck area out the the front. The bathroom is large too. The hottest water temperature in the shower is really only tepid. My fiancée likes hot showers so was a bit
disappointed about this.

The service at the hotel is mostly friendly but the execution can be a little bit hit and miss at times. Everything is done with a smile though.

There are some odd policies too, like having to lock your room key in a box when leaving the resort only to have to take a key to that box with you instead of the room key - and they give you a re-usable card for breakfast and then make each guest sign a register recording attendance for breakfast even though as far as I could tell all rooms included breakfast in any event.

The pool area was nice and the gardens are also very nice.

The hotel is located up a steep but short hill and about 10 minutes walk out of the main areas of Kata. The benefit is that it is quieter and, and only a small resort. Scooters can be hired direct from the resort for 250B. I think a scooter is a requirement if staying at Boomerang.

The breakfast is adequate but not in the same league as other places we stayed in Thailand.

Overall I felt "BVR" was fair value for money but not exceptional. If you want a quieter option in Kata then it is worth a look.


  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwiatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 57 in Kata Beach
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 57 in Kata Beach
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#6 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#19 of 57 in Kata Beach
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boomerang Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Village Resort

Property: Boomerang Village Resort
Address: Patak Soi 10 | Mueang Phuket District, Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boomerang Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket. Surrounded by greenery and colorful environment characteristic of the island of Phuket, an oasis proper. Virtually dipped in the nature of a tropical garden. The property boasts panoramic views of Kata and is located approximately 80 metres above sea level, is situated about 950 meters from the lovely Kata Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boomerang Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boomerang Village Hotel Kata Beach
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing