We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dolce is the life at Boomerang Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boomerang Village Resort
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Dolce is the life at Boomerang Village”
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Phuket Island has its share of too many tourists and crowded uninteresting hotels. However this italian run resort is a real oasis in the island. It is true value for money. Elegant and chic without being pretentious at all. It is a little bit of heaven. From the moment you arrive you have that feeling of being in a paradisiacal island. The rooms are perfectly decorated for you with several orchids being adequately placed just to create a romantic atmosphere. The staff is excellent, always available and with a welcoming honest smile. All in all we have loved this hotel. The best we have stayed in our 22 days holiday in Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmeirinhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    231
    55
    22
    7
See reviews for
157
550
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Just returned from 5 wonderful nights at Boomerang Village. Paolo, Paolo and Staff have created a wonderful oasis from the craziness of Phuket. The rooms are a great value. It is especially nice to be at this boutique location because you get personal service. They treat you like friends. This is why the place is very popular. Book early!!

Boomerang is located away from the beach and on a hillside. This gives peacefulness and removes you from the tackiness of Phuket/Kata. My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay (two kids 8 and 10 years old rated this a "5 Star"). If we return to Phuket will stay again at the Boomerang.

Highlights of Boomerang: Quiet location, large rooms (highly recommend the Suites), excellent decor, full breakfast including eggs/meat/latte/cappucino, friendly staff, happy hour at the pool.

Although we recommend Boomerang based on our personal experience, be forewarned on a few points:
* Not near the beach access or shopping. Shopping and restaurants are only a 10 minute walk.
* Many tuk-tuk drivers will add a small surcharge once they hear you're staying at the Boomerang. It is a VERY steep hill going to Boomerang and their little motors struggle.
* Our kids loved the place but not good for small kids (2 to 6 years old) because no playground or kiddie pool.
* In the mountainside so do get mosquitos, bring some spray or buy cheaply at pharmacy.

Overall Phuket was a small disappointment. It has grown too much and caters to a large crowd of hedonistic men looking for Thai women. The beaches are great and the islands are even better. Next time we'll return to quiet Krabi.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikekSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Awesome place Boomerang! Paulo and Paulo and the staff really make your stay fantastic....everything was fab: the room (17), the pool, the restaurant, the service, the staff.... We had a pickup from the airport (recommended) and upon arrival we had things "explained" to us re: breakfast (included), pool, (free) transport to the beach, etc etc. Paulo had a wonderful flower layout in the room for our honeymoon arrival which was really special for my wife. The food at the restuarant is excellent....Boomerang is an Italian owned place and thus the Italian food is amazing. The Thai food is just as good - so it is the best of both worlds, definately try it out when you're too tired to head to Kata for some eats. The Boomerang is indeed off the beach and "up a hill", a huge hill. But don't be daunted! Rent a motorbike and off you go! We were scared to death to do so but it was an absolute hoot and certainly allows you to putter about Kata very easily. Alternatively, Boomerang will take you down to the beach in the morning and bring you back at a certain time in the afternoon -- and of course you can walk one way and take a tuk tuk back - although they will charge you more because it is "up a hill". Great stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

I stayed for a few days here on the basis of other TripAdvisor reviews. The reviews are correct, it's a wonderful place and has some style at a good price. They even came to save me when my hired moped broke down!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

A piece of Italy in Kata. Very popular, book ahead. We paid 53 euro per night for a superior cottage, was very good value.

We stayed in no 13. Room was great, nicely decorated in Thai style. Great bathroom. No terrace though, as stated on the web site. I would ask for another room next time, mainly because the best view was from the bathroom - for obvious reasons not possible to enjoy. The bed was extremly hard, and I usually like it too be, but this was just too much. (The sun beds by the pool were heaven compared to the bed.) Got used to it after a while but would bring my own pillow next time. They were rock hard too and very big.

Tropical garden and pool area were beautiful. Pool was not crowded at all, until people started to return from the beach at around 4 pm. The happy hour deals were somewhat confusing. Had pizza by the pool one day, was fine but not a good choice if you don´t like lots and lots of mozzarella cheese.

Also liked how they´ve decorated the restaurant. The music (same as on their web site) gave the place an international feel to it. Italian food was okay, but a much better option is Capannina in Kata Beach, located on Option Soi 1, close to the Kata Beach Resort. Food and house wine (red) is fantastic and reasonably priced. There is usually a waiting list but we never waited longer than 10 minutes. Great vibe, could have been in Rome our New York!

Breakfast at the Boomerang was okay, but got a bit boring after a few days. Bread and croissants were not that good. Great cappuchinos though, order (complimentary) at the bar. Breakfast is available until 1 pm - great! Staff very sweet.

You can get a free ride to Kata beach until 2 pm. A much better option in our opinion is the Kata Noi beach, a 10 minute tuk-tuk ride away. Cost was 250 bhat. The beach is clean and not as crowded as Kata beach.

We walked to Kata beach for dinner a few times, took about 15 minutes. Took a tuk-tuk back which was usually 200 bhat. We decided against renting a motorbike - the traffic is crazy, on the wrong side for us, and the road from Boomerang is very steep. Maybe next time.

Would definately stay here again but opt for one of the suites on the upper floor. The view must be amazing.

  • Liked — Design, vibe, pool and location (away from the more touristy part of Kata)
  • Disliked — Beds were too hard, same with pillows but I can live with this
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

I would have to stay that the Boomerang Village in Phuket ,Thailand is a hidden gem for the price they are offering. We arrived at the location with no expectation whatsoever and where surprised with the service and accommodation which was given to us. The rooms where clean and had a modern theme to it, the employee professionalism and kindness made us feel at home along with being relax. One of the great perks was the complimentary breakfest which was served between 8am to 1pm. This helped us at alot since a large portion of our group always had a tendency to wake up at 10am. I also have to mention about the crazy steep hill which the hotel is located on. The road which takes you up the hill is not very favorable when it comes to walking or riding a bike. Get ready for a major huff and puff ordeal when you plan to walk up that crazy hill. I highly recommend renting their scooters or find a scooter location at the bottom of the hill. Don't bother even utilizing the taxi drivers let alone the Tuk Tuks, because the price of renting a scooter is much cheaper than utilizing outside services.

  • Liked — The rooms with the view
  • Disliked — The steep hill
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Nixon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We loved Boomerang Village. Our cottage was beautiful with a town and ocean view. The hotel is located on a hill away from the noise and trafic. The setting and decoration was lovely and with good taste. Breakfast was great and their restaurant menu for snacks and dinner had a nice variety. The location was perfect and walking distance to Kata Beach about 15 minutes. Free shuttle is also provided by the hotel to the beach as well. We highly reccommend this wonderful place in Phuket for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyagerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#5 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boomerang Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Village Resort

Property: Boomerang Village Resort
Address: Patak Soi 10 | Mueang Phuket District, Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boomerang Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket. Surrounded by greenery and colorful environment characteristic of the island of Phuket, an oasis proper. Virtually dipped in the nature of a tropical garden. The property boasts panoramic views of Kata and is located approximately 80 metres above sea level, is situated about 950 meters from the lovely Kata Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boomerang Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boomerang Village Hotel Kata Beach
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing