We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boomerang Village Resort
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I have just returned from a week staing at the Boomerang Village Resort. All I can say is absolutely superb.

On arrival we were met by Paulo and taken to the beautiful open air living room where he explained the features and amenities of the resort. All this whilst siiting in a lovely breeze overlooking Kata and out to the sea.

Our bags were taken to our rooms for us and we were taken to our cottages and shown the facilities. The cottages are wonderful and extremely clean. Everything is spotless and the surrounding gardens are bright and full of flowers and birds. No massive buildings overhanging or crowding your views here. Just wonderful jungle/rainforest behind and a great view of Kata and the ocean out the front.

The pool is beautiful and great relaxing music is gently piped to this area.

The restaurant is excellent. The included breakfast had everything you could wish for and more. The best coffee I had in all of Thailand from Chiang Mai down. We ate several times in the restaurant for dinner, with both Thai and Italian food ordered. All being first rate and not over inflated prices like most resorts. The pizzas were a standout.

The staff were wonderful. Naa and Ying in the restaurant could not do enough to assist and even helped me with some on the go Thai lessons. Lovely girls. Paulo the supervisor was very friendly and any requests were never a problem.

The resort is approx 2km back from the beach on a large hill. This is excellent as you are out of all the noise and people and it is very quiet. They offer a car service down to the beach but we hired a moped for the resort which was the same price as everywhere else. You also get the benefit of a lovely breeze to cool things down and you have ocean views which you dont get in most resorts in Kata.

If you go to Phuket to party till 5am every night then go to Patong. If you want to stay in first class accomodation, surrounded by gardens, with great rooms, excellent staff and fine food then STAY AT THE BOOMERANG VILLAGE RESORT. I will defintely be returning and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ello10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2009

We stayed at the Boomerang village with our family and friends as we were getting married.
Everyone had a fantantastic stay here. The rooms and grounds were emmaculate, The directors Paulo 1 and 2 were great, very helpful.
Our room had fabulous views of Kata and is about 10-15 min walk from the beach. If you have transport this is a much nicer place to stay, as it is not in the hussle and bussle of the main resort. But there is a hill that is very steep and hard to climb- so i would say transport by car or tuk tuk is required.
We would stay at this resort and recommed it to anyone.
The breakfast was very average- but to be fair, towards the end of our stay, we requested omletes and scrabbled egg which they were happy to make for us.
The staff were very friendly, expecially in the resterant- the girls that worked in the evening were lovely- happy to teach us Thai and really made us feel welcome. We would always have 1 last drink at the Bar/Resteraunt before heading to bed- and even if they were closing for the night they would still be happy to make them, nothing was to much trouble.
The food from ther resteraunt was lovely, and good value for money. The only critisism is that the food took ages to come and when your in a group the food did not come all together- several nights we ate there, it was 20-30 minutes from 1st to last dish coming out.
The pool was great- very relaxing, and we made good use of it- Can't beleive that it didnt have one ( the pool is a new addition)- money well spent!
Will be going back next year, and will definately stay here again.
Thanks to all of the staff for making our stay at the Boomerang pleasurable- and hopefully see you all next year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisafuller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

First and foremost I have stayed in hotels all around the world (both budget and luxury) and this was by far the best resort I have ever stayed in. My husband and I picked this place, due to the great trip advisor reviews and stunning traveler photos. Let me just say that the online photos both on trip advisor and on the website do not come close to the beauty of the hotel grounds that you see in person upon arrival. Our stay was from April 16th-23rd. This resort is top notch, 5+ stars in my book and an incredible value! At a cost of only 53 euro a night, we felt like we were staying in a luxury resort of 200+ euro a night. We stayed in one of the suite rooms (suite 14), which was on the ground level, right by the pool. We had a nice terrace that we enjoyed sitting out on and soaking up the beautiful jungle views. Make sure you do bring bug spray though - you are in the jungles of thailand and there are mosquitos.

We organized a transfer from the airport to the resort with the hotel, upon arrival. Right as we walked out of the airport there was our transfer waiting for us. I would totally recommend doing this for 19 euro bc it is a good price and saves you the hassle of trying to barter with a tuk-tuk or taxi after a long international flight. We arrived early evening and were greeted by the lovely receptionist who escorted us over to the beautifully thai decorated outdoor living room. It was also a special touch to be greeted with a fresh flower lei and delicious fresh squeezed orange juice. She showed us around the resort, explained all of the tours we could set up and showed us around the room. We were blown away by such a warm welcome!

Our room was gorgeous! Tastefully decorated in thai style and was very spacious. We had a beautiful king sized bed and the flowers they sprinkled over our bed upon arrival was a lovely touch (and it wasn't even our honeymoon). The bathroom was also beautifully decorated in Thai style and had a big open shower that we very much enjoyed. Also, the a/c was a great escape from the heat of Phuket!

The hotel grounds are meticulously groomed and there are coy fish ponds, flowers and "Thai style" sculptures everywhere. It was very exotic and I felt very far away from reality. The pool area was great! The fountains into the pool and night time lighting made it feel very romantic. This is a very quaint resort and many times it was just my husband and I in the pool...nice romantic touchI also recommend taking advantage of the happy hour and enjoying drinks by the pool....it was the relaxation we needed after a busy day touring or at the beach.

The restaurant was great too. We ate here 4 nights during our stay. We tried the pizza one night and it was delicious! We never tried any of the Italian food, but the Thai food is top notch and the Thai waitresses are very friendly. Try the spring rolls for an appetizer...we got them every night. The breakfast buffet is included in your package as well, which we took advantage of every morning. The fresh fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice is out of this world! It is also open from 8 a.m. until 1 p.m. which was nice for the days when we wanted to sleep in.

Sorry to go on and on, but this place was amazing and I would totally recommend it to anyone of all ages. The service was top notch too. Being a quaint resort, they accommodated any of our wishes. They helped us arrange all of our tours and transport (I recommend doing James Bond Island and the Phi Phi Islands tour). In addition, we had a late flight at 9 p.m. and they extended our check out time from 11 a.m. until 1 p.m. and then arranged for our luggage to be in a safe place. Any time we had a question or concern, they were there to make our stay absolutely perfect.

The location was great too. It was away from all the craziness of the resorts directly down by the beach. It was quiet, peaceful and very tranquil. Instead of falling asleep to the sounds of cars and motor bikes (as I would suspect the hotels by the beach have a problem with), we fell asleep to the peaceful jungle sounds of crickets, frogs and other random jungle sounds. Don't be concerned about the resort being a 15 min. walk to the beach. The hotel staff will drive you to the beach anytime between 9-1 p.m. and will pick you up at 4 p.m. We took advantage of this the first day, however we enjoyed driving the motor bikes to and from the beach (200 baht a day, or 4 euro a day). The bikes were safe and loads of fun!

I am not going to ramble on anymore, but if you are looking for an amazing, exotic, peaceful holiday, look no further than this resort. My husband and I are looking forward to coming back here again in the future. Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay special!

ps-they give you these fabulous silk robes that we loved wearing around the room :)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mccannon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We stayed here from the 14th to the 19th of April and had a lovely time. We stayed in a Superior cottage, no 1, and we enjoyed it very much. The design of the rooms is very thai, with lots of small things to admire everywhere you looked (lighting, desk, bed top, pillowes... ). Attention to details and nothing to spoil the lovely perfection of the room.

The view from the cottage and the restaurant is very lush and nice.

The sunset on Kata Beach is postercard perfect.

The food at the restaurant was excellent, and with acceptable price. Comming from Romania, where we have a lot of italian restaurants i can say i have eaten there some of the best pasta's in my life :)

Small things that one should now before going to ( ...i guess) any hotel located in the full tropical forest :) is the noise made all day and night long by crickets and frogs ... a continous concert, but you will get used to it. + sometimes you might be visited in your room by small mosquito eating geiko's (lissards).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_Filip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Having picked this hotel on reviews posted on trip advisor, we were a little disappointed by our stay.
Several emails with the manager before coming confirmed that we wanted to stay in one of the suites (I actually requested his best one as it was a special occasion). On arrival we were charged for a suite and then taken to a room that wasn't anywhere near as spacious as we'd hoped. However, being typically English, we didn't complain. I am now confident that the 4 rooms next to the pool are suites and in fact we were in a superior room at the top of the hill, which had had the sign removed from outside the door.
The room itself was pretty enough for lowish budget accommodation but the bed was like sleeping on an ironing board, not helped by very low quality pillows. Neither of us had a good nights sleep during our stay. Our room also smelt quite like a urinal when we first arrived, probably due to the fact the roof on the toilet/shower was partially open to the rest of the room. The manager didn't comment on this showing us round the room but when we went out soon after he nipped in and lit a scented candle to hide the smell.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the staff are very helpful. However the other problem, for us, was the other guests at the pool. When we were there, every afternoon when we came back from the beach the small pool was full of men who were 'entertaining' local guests. Now I'm not small minded or ignorant to the appeal of Thailand to single men, but it made both myself and my girlfriend uncomfortable sitting by a pool that on any given afternoon had a variety of different Thai women wrapped around western men.
Maybe we were unlucky at the timing of our stay as this is a pretty hotel however the possible dishonesty over our room, the uncomfortable beds and the clientele means we won't be back.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
8  Thank bennyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

After the hot, dirty cities of Bangkok and Chiang Mai, coming to the Boomerang in Kata was wonderful. The pool is great and just what we needed! The restaurant is pretty average - the building looks good but the dinner was overpriced and really average. I expected the pasta to be good considering the owner is Italian but it was terrible. However the staff are great and really helpful. We didn't do our research and spent our one day walking the streets in Patong instead of hanging out at Kata beach and regretted that immensely. I do recommend this place for the most part, they do on the whole a great job.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MananaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Boomerang Village has justifiably garnered great reviews from its visitors, and I must admit that I was very satisfied with my stay. Several features make the hotel a great value and ideal staging ground for Phuket excursions. First, the hotel is not a sprawling resort but instead infuses every gesture with a personal touch. The staff greeted us individually when we arrived, escorted us from our taxi to our room while shielding us from the rain with an umbrella, and provided us with some general instructions and contact information. Second, the hotel is situated on a hill overlooking Kata Beach. The walk from the hotel to the beach takes about fifteen minutes, but Boomerang Village provides complimentary bikes to guests. The bike trip takes about five minutes. Finally, the somewhat secluded hillside location is close to the nightlife, but distant enough to offer peace and quiet. Boomerang Village is not an all-inclusive resort, but it provides great value, a great view, and a personal touch. The only downside is that the breakfast buffet tends to repeat the same menu. But at least it has some delicious Italian meats thanks to the Italian proprietors!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnymackjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#16 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Orchidacea Resort
Orchidacea Resort
#17 of 55 in Kata Beach
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boomerang Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Village Resort

Address: Patak Soi 10 | Mueang Phuket District, Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £77 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boomerang Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket. Surrounded by greenery and colorful environment characteristic of the island of Phuket, an oasis proper. Virtually dipped in the nature of a tropical garden. The property boasts panoramic views of Kata and is located approximately 80 metres above sea level, is situated about 950 meters from the lovely Kata Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Boomerang Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boomerang Village Hotel Kata Beach
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing