We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location - One of the best in Kata Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Albury
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Location - One of the best in Kata Beach”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

16th March - 24th March 2011. Absolutely the best postion in Kata, no more than a 2 minute walk to beach. Rooms are Hotel style, small fridge which is stocked daily with fresh water and other drinks. You receive two free bottles of water free a day and other drinks you pay as take, yet still very cheap. Love the "Rain Shower" and bath, The shower area is huge and there is plenty of hot water. Very clean and the housekeeping is done on the room daily. Spacious Bedroom area with good size LCD TV and the air conditioning works very well. I found the bed very firm, but after a couple of days I got used to it.Good pool view from the balcony and the room also comes with a safe so you can lock passports away etc. Fresh beach towels are provided when required and also umbrellas in the case of rain or the sun being to hot. Has a vey good tour desk which we booked tours from and even received discount since we booked a couple of trips through them. The Gym, Spa and massage areas we never used but the pool we did. The pool was very refreshing after spending the day at the beach, cooler than the sea water but it's exactly what you need, nothing worse than a hot pool. The pool sunning area it self is rather small, but there's not much they can do because of the layout, but hey, your there to see Island. Staff were all very friendly and a welcome drink on arrival. We chose the breakfast included in the price and glad we did, as in the morning you just go down to the dining area and choose from fresh fruits, cereals, eggs cooked the way you like, rice, stir-fry, juices, different breads, coffee, tea you name it they had it. WiFi worked very well throughout the Hotel. They also have around 5 computers downstairs for Internet access as well. I liked this Hotel as it's the only one we noticed (once we got there), had the easiest access to the beach, straight out reception and less than 2 minutes. Unless you stayed in some of the actual beach resorts, access to the beach from other places is restricted because of them and you can't cut through the resorts to get to the beach. After looking at Karon and Patong, Sugar Palm Resort Kata is definitely worth the stay because of easy access to all. Connecting rooms were also available.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    341
    127
    42
    35
See reviews for
120
310
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the Kata beach. There are some nice restaurants very close by and the 'center' of Kata is within walking distance.
Our room was big with basic three star hotel facilities. Bed linen and towels were clean, but otherwise the cleaning was quite superficial. Hotel staff wasn't as friendly and smiley as in other hotels I've visited in Thailand, but they got the job done. There's free use of computers and Internet in the lobby and also free wifi. The security was what it was as anybody could've just walked in, but the Kata beach area is quite safe and peaceful, so we didn't have any problems with that. We paid a super offer price for the 7 nights stay and that was the maximum we would have paid for the room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiinalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Expected a 4 star hotel, however price/quality ratio was not great, unless the high price we paid was to justify location. Room size was fine, however the feeling was that the place was falling apart. Bed sheets and towels were clean, but the room was cleaned only on the surface. The room did not appear that was ever thoroughly cleaned, not from the previous guests, not while we were there.

The staff is very polite and helpful, we were upgraded the next day to a better room, after we complained that the room was dirty and the shower was not functioning. The new room had better view, however it was only slightly cleaner.

Great location, around shops and restaurants, and only a couple of minutes to the beach.

Overall, if you pay about the same as on a 4 star hotel room in a beach resort in let's say France, do not expect matching quality.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cromos05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Nice hotel, but nothing too great. This was our last stop in Thailand, and after staying in some great hotels with amazing staff, Sugar Palm was a bit of a disappointment. From the very beginning, the staff were a bit offputting. We had requested separate beds (we were two guys traveling together) and paid for a room facing the pool, and the initial room they tried putting us in had neither. When we immediately mentioned this to the girl checking us in, she snapped that there were no other rooms available. We began to complain, showing her the reservation which clearly stated separate beds and a pool view. Shortly thereafter, a room suddenly became available. It only took us a few hours to realize that the hotel was far from booked, as we were the only people on our floor! The guy they sent in to separate and remake the beds for us was incredibly rude as well, rolling his eyes at our request to have additional sheets brought in (were we supposed to share a blanket?)

The room was decent, a bit sparse in comparison to some of the other places we stayed. It was fairly clean, though there were definitely some ants crawling around. It is the beach though, so I guess this can be expected.

Overall, Sugar Palm is nothing special, a fact that is only magnified by the staff's poor demeanor. For the money, there are certainly better places to stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSolar36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, location is quite good.
Only a 2 minute walk to Kata beach and central to all the shops/restaurants in Kata area.

Found the hotel very expensive for what you get.
The rooms were clean and very big but quite empty and needed a few repairs.

We chose this hotel mainly because from the website it looked like it had a great pool however when we arrived we realised that it didnt ever get much sun and the hotel seemed to be a wind trap!!
So we hardly ever even used the pool- just went to the beach instead where it was guranteed to be much warmer and sunnier.

The hotel provided free internet & wi-fi which was good. But if you wanted to use the computers at the night time beware of all of the mozzies around as there was a water feature in the reception area which just attracted them.

Would definately stay here agian if they lowered their prices but wouldnt pay the full price from the website again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVicster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Stayed at the Sugar Palm April 2010. Very welcoming staff, stylish accomodation, great location and really value for money.
Highly recommend this hotel for young and older couples, families....anyone really.
The surrounding nightlife is engaging, but not as aggressive and in-your-face as other areas of Phuket (Patong for example).

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Overall, I was disappointed of my stay at Sugar Palm Resort.

The service is friendly and helpful, no question about that.

When it comes to the room, it is another story. We first got a "Superior" room. It was not clean, especially the bathroom (and the water drain of the shower was clogged). Everything was falling appart, which is quite a shame for a hotel this new. We complained to the staff, and they upgraded us to a "Deluxe" room, for no additionnal charges (hint : if you plan to stay there, get a deluxe room). It was decent, but definitely not worth the price we paid, and definitely not matching what to expect from a 4 stars hotel....

The location is great if you plan to "beach" a lot, since its 100m from Kata Yai beach.

Breakfast was ok, but again not worth of what you expect for such a price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le_Sig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing