We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

Delayed review but just a quick world I loved Suga Palm. It was lovely place to rest and relax after long flight from London. It's nice and clean hotel.

There's lots of good restaurants around and the kata beach was fantastic. You also must visit the reggae bar at the beach!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    341
    127
    42
    35
See reviews for
120
310
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Not terrible but not great either – just sort of meh.
Pretty good value I must admit – but you get what you pay for!
Service quite unhelpful and disinterested bordering on rude.
Rooms are modern but starting to look a bit shabby – especially the bathroom.
Location is good although not directly on beach, it’s about 2 mins slow dawdle away.
Definitely get a pool access room though – straight into the pool from your balcony.
Lots of kids, especially around pool.

Kata beach was the pick of places in Phuket – but still a bit too ‘package tourist’ for my liking.
We cut our booking short and headed to Krabi for a week of perfection.

p.s. Not surprised someone has had security issues here - didn't feel hugely secure, our door lock was a bit dodgy and easy to slip into the room via the balcony.

Room Tip: pool access room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel has no security and lets drug affected people wonder around the hotel. Could not wait to check out.

2nd in charge is a witch of a woman.

stay elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Macca000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I've made a lot of research on Phuket and found out that this hotel offers some advantages compare to the others like location, amenities, comfort and facilties. We've stayed there for 3 nights and there was nothing wrong with this hotel accept that my booking website (hotels.com) had let me down very much. They have messed up on our breakfast which is not as what it has advertised on the website. I've managed to contact hotels.com and they will reimburse me with the breakfast costs providing a receipt/ invoice from the hotel. Additionally, I just realized that the advertised rate on hotels.com has not include service charges and taxes. I've booked so many reservations with this reputable website while I was living in America and never had this happened. Perhaps, I need to source for another booking site for Asia.

It takes about 45 minutes from the airport to Sugar Palm Resort. If you want a happening Phuket, you should consider Patong Beach area. This resort located in a beautiful white sand beach which is across the street (walking distance), Kata Beach. It will take you about 15 minutes to get to Patong Beach and will cost you about 400 bhat (if I'm not mistaken). Not much nighlife here except if you want to go to spa and relax by the beach. If you are a surfer, you will enjoy the beach here.

Breakfast is not our favorite at all. It's totally not worth it to pay 350 bhat for the breakfast. We enjoyed 7-11 around the corner for breakfast. You can easily get anything from here and bring it to the beach and have a mini picnic!

The room was spacious and clean. The bedsheets and pillows were comfortable. Our towels and sheets were changed on a daily basis. Unfortunately, we didn't have much time to spend on the balcony. But it has a great view to the pool and that's pretty much your scene. We didn't manage to use the pool facilities though.

The opening hours for spa was confusing and they closed early. We went to Kata Big Rock Massage which is located before the resort entrance and they were really good in accomodating our late request though they closed at 11pm.

Even though they provide computers for you to use, they were really hopeless. I cannot even load hotels.com website. It took forever and kept disconnecting every 5 minutes. The room wi-fi works well with our smartphones. Thus, I think there was something wrong with the computers in the lobby.

In addition, there was a local bus terminal in front of the municipal office that you can go to Patong or Karon. There is a time schedule located there. Next to it, is a taxi and tuk tuk terminal. They have standard pricing on where you go. Hardly we got any bargains for transportation.

I must say that even though the elevator has a stinky smell, it was used to prevent mosquitoes. Not that anyone of us were bitten by mosquitoes, but it was good a good prevention.

The staff were friendly and helped us a lot. They really tried to help us in anyway that they can.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meahsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The four of us stayed there for 5 nights. The only problem we had was that when I booked the rooms the website (hotels.com) said the breakfast was included, but when we got there, they said it was not. The staff there were really helpful trying to figure this out for us, so we found out that it was the website's mistake. We got the pool access rooms which we thought it was the best choice. As we went during the rain season, it was nice to have rooms where we could just chill and jump into the pool from our balcony. The best thing about this hotel is the location, less than 5 mins walk to the beach, right by the local bus station to the town. Overall, we really enjoyed staying at Kata Palm resort and will definitely consider staying there again next time.

Room Tip: Pool Access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NisaTLSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel is located a two minute walk from Kata beach. The hotel is not large but has all that you will need. The pool view room that I had was quite large with a big bathroom, LCD TV and DVD player. The room was well kept and everything worked well.The breakfast was O.K with a reasonable selection of foods.The staff are very helpful and friendly. Would happily stay again. I would rate this hotel about a three and a half star, but good value for money. The hotel surrounds could do with a bit of a spruce up. but that is a minor critiscism.

Room Tip: Motor bike hire available from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I had a short stay in this resort in 2008. We chose to return to Sugar Palm Resort in 2012 because of the resort's competitive room rates; it's very ideal location (less than 3 mins to beach, amenities, bus terminal); spacious boutique stylised rooms; well maintained spa & pool facilities etc. But above all these, the main draw for the return is to relive a happy & memorable stay made palpable by one most remarkable staff member of this hotel - Mr Phisut. At every morning breakfast we were greeted with his welcoming smiles and gestures and were most impressed with Mr Phisut's finical attention to our needs. After a day or two he even remembers our likes and dislikes just like a personal butler! We are both seasoned travellers and have encounter many friendly service staff along the way especially in Asia but this particular individual is unparalleled to all. It is with regrets that I have not post this review much earlier but i hope it is not too late to give Mr Phisut's his well deserved compliment and recognition of his genuine and gracious work attitude in the hotel industry . I do hope any future guest of Sugar Palm Resort will get to enjoy the 5 star service of this young man like we did :) Mr Phisut now works at the Restaurant at the front of the Sugar Palm Resort and we greatly missed his presence during our recent stay. In our opinion Mr Phisut would be a gem for any 5-Star Hotel worldwide!

Room Tip: The left side of the hotel is permanently in the shade - so for those sun seekers they will need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank R8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#19 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#40 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing