We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most friendly hotel staff ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I had the most wonderful and memorable time at this hotel, the staff was friendly, the food was good and the spa and massage was heavenly! i can't wait to go back again and maybe this time stay for a lot longer!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanwilliams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

It's my first time in Kata beach because sister-in-law preferred that to Patong. We decided to spend two nights here before we moved to Patong.

SIL chose this hotel because she was there around three or four years ago (it just opened then) and she loved it. We arrived at around 11am and were allowed to check-in. Cold tea and towel were served while we are waiting for the staffs to do all the paperwork. They were very friendly and warm. We had pool access rooms and were told there is a mac-mini in the rooms (surprise!) and a free mini bar (another surprise!!) with two bottles of water, coke and singha beer topped up daily for us. The room however, is a disappointment. The floor was very sandy as we walked in. SIL even had to ask housekeeping to mop the floor again and it was good and clean again! Does that mean it was not done before that?

The bed was very hard. The bathroom has missing shelf (I was staying in room 2012) and the tap of the bathtub is rusty. Breakfast is very disappointing. There is not much selection and the coffee is cold. I barely eat and prefer to eat elsewhere instead. Internet is non-existence unless you sit in the balcony area all day.

The location, however, is awesome, It's less than 5 mins walk to the beach and there's a lot of restaurants at the door step. The in-house massage is also very reasonable and the ladies are skilful.

Still, I would not stay there anymore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chriskoh7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We spent a few nights at Sugar Palm Resort & Spa in February 2013.
The location is nice, very close to the beach and in the area there are a lot of shops and restaurants.
The hotel itself is not very clean, the rooms look ''poor'' and the quality of food served for breakfast is not good - we used to eat breaakfast somewhere else, even if it was included in our room rate.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniele1984_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for two nights, sugar plan is a nice hotel, location is pretty good. Very close to shops and beach. Price is okay for service. Not a bad place to stay :) I wouldn't mind staying there next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arun m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Within walking distance to the beach, easy access to restaurants. The hotel was clean, functional and had wifi access. We had the pool access room so it was quite nice and peaceful in the mornings just to sit by the pool to have breakfast. The massage place outside the hotel is cheap and good. Overall, not a bad place and I would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kerrylllau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Reception staff and porter on arrival very helpful, we checked in early without a problem, The room was very clean and the free mini bar was superb. (never had a free mini bar before) the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was good but could have been a bit better, they let people smoke, while you are still eating, to me that really lowered the place, also there was a constant smell of cigarettes all around the hallways. The swimming pool was clean but because it's black tiles it looks dirty. The location is superb for Kata beach and surrounding restaurants and bars.
I would stay there again, and I would recommend it to my friends, I think it's value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bangkokscubadivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have stayed here on 5 occasions, the first 2 times in 2009. Loved it , the staff were so nice and the location was ideal , the price was just right. I had even recommended the sugar palm to family and friends who have all enjoyed their time there, but not any more. When a certain fraction of the public began to invade phuket they also brought their bad manners and aggressive behaviour with them. Not sure why staff can't tell them that's it's not acceptable to party by the pool at 2 & 3 in the morning. The shine has gone we now stay elsewhere .
The staff are still very nice, and I would love to stay here again, if only..............

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#15 of 56 in Kata Beach
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#25 of 56 in Kata Beach
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: £26 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing