We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel close to Kata Beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to Kata Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

Pretty nice hotel very close to Kata Beach. Friendly staff, although not very fluent in English. We stayed there for 2 nights as found a special price on the internet. Guest computers in the lobby. Our room was very spacious, but the view was towards another building. We did not use the pool. The hotel provides beach hotels. The location is very good if you want to be close to the beach. We found Kata Beach too quiet for us, but if you like Kata Beach, this hotel is a good choice for you. Massage and beauty parlours right next door, as well as nice affordable restaurants.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Merikrotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    335
    125
    40
    34
See reviews for
117
304
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

Bricks and Bodies is what makes the value of a stay.
Brickwise the hotel is definately chique...bodywise: where are the smiles?

During our Aisa trip we stayed over New Years in the Sugar Palm expecting a relaxing couple of days.
The Sugar Palm has been the only hotel during our trip where the staff has not been friendly and full of smiles...don´t know why but from the start, we did not have the feeling to be welcome.
What has been the most annoying thing is that we had from the beginning the feeling that they try to trick you out of your money...the bell boy waiting with an open hand and "expecting" to be tipped just as an example. They worked with asterix´s in their offers to make you buy their "compulsory" New Year´s Eve dinner and doublecharged our credit card. Not very pleasant and very annoying (still did not get the money back).

New Years Eve time is an expensive period in Thailand with hotel prices comparable to Europe. If you get a super cheap deal, book over a big agent and ignore the staff the hotel could be a nice option. If not, we would´nt recommend it.

Hope that they can get their smiles back at this hotel since the bricks are all right!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamRast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

My boyfriend and i stayed at the Sugar Palm in Dec 09. This was our first hotel in Phuket and we werent disappointed. It is near the beach and local bars and restaurants, so never very far to walk!!!

Hotel staff were always friendly and helpful. The room was always clean, we stayed in pool view room which was lovely! would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in kata and not pay a fortune!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie09Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

My husband and I stayed here last week and overall were very dissapointed with the hotel. There are so many problems with this hotel.

Firstly, of a hotel of this class I found the rooms were not as clean as expected. There were suspicious marks on the shower walls and on the shower curtain. The toilet seat also did not fit the bowl which was not nice. Each day the maid seemed to forget to add certain amenities and we had to call down to reception for them.

The second huge problem is that the staff just simply do not understand English. We asked how long it would take to the airport and they asked when we had a table booked for! Either they didnt listen or them simply could not understand. It was incredibly frustrating everytime we had to deal with the staff especially as our very first encounter was when they forceably took our bags and only made conversation with us for a tip. you expect this everywhere but I had never seen it so much in a hotel.

The pool area is also an issue because it is over looked by ALL rooms so you feel exposed but there is no point going down there as the surrounding rooms shield the sun and you cannot get in the pool or jacuzzi which is at freezing temperatures (trust me).

Lastly, we only booked this hotel because of the free WIFI available in each room. Please note however that THERE IS NO FREE WIFI. The signal is too low to get online for more than a few seconds. We complained about this everyday during our stay but nothing was done. We understand others had also complained about the same issue.

All in all very bad for the star rating and the cost. Stay somewhere else in Kata or venture to Karon or Patong both of which have much more choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiMoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

This hotel is in the perfect location, right down the street from the beach, right in the center of the town. The lobby is beautiful with lots of outdoor seating and an outdoor pool and an outdoor computer lab for emailing. Our room was nice, small, but fine. Friends' rooms were a bit of a hike and more dorm-like than welcoming, with odd restrictions on keys (only one key per room). I liked the hotel a lot though, lovely lobby area, reliable internet, nice location, nice staff. I would stay there again, but I would get a room on the left of the pool (facing it), not the right.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ybroccoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We arrived in Phuket at 1:30am after an 18hr journey and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel. The rooms were modern and clean. The location was excellent. There was free internet computers and the buffet breakfast was the best that we had while we travelled thru Thailand. We paid about $55 Cdn per night during peak season which we felt was good value while we recovered from jet lag etc... Lesson learned in Thailand though.....do not book ahead as the walk in prices are much better.....as well as you have flexibility to leave one location if you are not enjoying it. There was still lots of availability at different hotels even during peak season.

Another recommendation is to go to Kata Noi beach which is about a 20 minute walk or 5 minute from Sugar Palm. The beach is beautiful, less crowded and not as many people trying to sell you their trinkets.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candiceleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

Me and a buddy stayed here for a few nights. I was very please, felt like I got my moneys worth. Only problem was the hot water pressure was terrible. But it could have just been my room and it wasn't enough to make me try and even change rooms or complain. Two thumbs up...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.1 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, TravelUp, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing