We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, Excellant service!”
Review of Kata Minta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kata Minta
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Modest hotel close to beach.

Reasonably priced, clean rooms.

The best thing about this hotel is the attitude of the staff, which can sometimes be hit and miss in Thailand. Friendly, courteous and attentive.

I have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

I really liked this hotel. The staff are super polite and helpful, which was a rare occurrence on my three-week trip in Phuket. The hotel is basic on all fronts, but it serves well as a place to sleep and it's a short walk to the beach. The bed was comfortable, air con was fully functional and the room is spacious. The shower is good and has hot water, somewhat of a rarity in Thai hotels. The room was cleaned on a daily basis, but it could have done with a good scrub. The breakfast was just ok. Free beach towels are available from the front desk (they must be returned at the end of the day). I couldn't connect to the wi-fi for some reason. Overall, good value and great location!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garysco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

we seen such good reviews on this place we went for it even though it doesn't look great. we couldn't get over how nice the people are who work there. Location is excellent literally 5 minutes walk to the beach, nice restaurants nearby... I really dont have a complaint, if i was to be really really fussy, in between the tiles needed a good bleach, there was a slight build up of milldew, and the water was rarely warm never mind hot in the afternoon.
I remember leaving the room with all my personal belongings everywhere, i forgot to put out the sign to not clean the room, when i came back everything had been tidied very very well and my expensive belongings had been set on the bedside including my passport and cash, i was so impressed with the housekeeping that we left a very substantial tip, the only tip we left a housekeeper on our trip in over ten hotels!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NeilskyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Such a nice and hidden place in crowded Kata Beach, Phuket. Only a few minutes walk to the beach. We stayed here for one night during our holiday in Thailand. Rooms are clean and furnished in Thai style. Also the staff was very friendly and coorperative.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MvHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Just perfect location and awesome staff. Location suberb, just 5-7 min. walk to the beach, only 1 cross the street. Breakfast is not so wide, but enough to fill your stomach to go on :)
Only one thing that bothered was AC -roof, which had a bit mold. My sister sneezed but I didn´t had any problems. Rooms are very big, well cleaned and every day different towel art on bed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WiiNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Kata Minta is a lovely traditional style small hotel. The hotel is situated on a busy road and opposite a bar and restaurant, and whilst we had concerns about the noise it was not an issue at night. Our room 302 was a at the front of the hotel, centre point under the Kata Minta sign with a nice big balcony to watch the world go by.

Good location, 5mins walk to Kata beach, 15mins to Kata Central [the really busy bit], 20mins to Karon, 10min walk to Kata Noi. 5mins walk to the main hub of Kata bars and restaurants.

The rooms are a decent size, large bed, clean and tidy. The only issue we had was that we felt the bathrooms were very old and dated [needing a refresh], and the design of the sink / basin meant that if Mr Mitch was shaving I could not get in – although if he moved and I walked in there was plenty of room – just a small gripe for us.

Breakfast is nice, but if you are into the large American fare then this is not for you. It does the job and is served with a smile.

The staff are very happy and friendly!

Well priced and welcoming!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel over look the main road, so have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Kata Minta is truly a hidden treasure, near to the beaches of Kata and especially Kata Noi, but away from the typical tourist rumble. The traditional boutique style (which is actually northern Thai or 'Lanna') and friendly staff will make you feel almost like a family member.
The excellent manager, Wee, deserves a special compliment, for outstanding service and making every guest feel at home.
A few meters up hill there is a traditional English Pub, The Griffin, where this small intimate style tourist strip comes to its completion, in contrast to the much larger resorts and somewhat banal bars elsewhere in Kata. Kata Minta and The Griffin are for those who are looking for authenticity and excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the backside for optimal quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raimond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#36 of 56 in Kata Beach
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#49 of 56 in Kata Beach
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#26 of 56 in Kata Beach
672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#47 of 56 in Kata Beach
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Natalie Resort
Natalie Resort
#40 of 56 in Kata Beach
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Minta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Minta

Address: 156,158,160 Moo 2, Patak Road | Kata Beach, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range: £29 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Minta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sawasdee, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kata Minta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minta Hotel Kata
Kata Minta Hotel
Kata Minta Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing