We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa del Thai”
Review of Kata Minta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kata Minta
Ranked #46 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Oxford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Costa del Thai”
Reviewed 8 April 2009

ROOMS

Our room was OK. On the plus-side it was clean and well made-up, on the downside, the bed was not a double, but two singles pushed together, and it faced onto a noisy street. The road noise was tolerable, the incessant whistling of the parking attendant who worked across the street was less so.

LOCATION

It took, at a purposeful march, just over 2 minutes to walk from the beach to the hotel, and it's a similar distance into the town centre. Kata Beach is nice, and enjoys particularly good sunsets, largely as a product of the picturesque island of Ko Pu that lies just off it. Contrary to the claims of our guide-book, it isn't within swimming distance. Much better is the smaller Kata Noi beach to the south. It takes ten minutes to walk to, but is most definitely worth it if you're not questing after hawkers and water sports.

FOOD

We only stayed in the hotel for breakfast; you could choose between an American breakfast and a Continental breakfast. It was acceptable, although not great. Fruit juices are particularly sweet, and it wasn't quite substantial enough. The restaurant was usually bustling in the evening, but we didn't visit then.

SERVICE

The staff weren't particularly good English speakers, but then, I wasn't a particularly good Thai speaker. They were keen to help with what they could, and usually proffered a smile as we came to-and-fro.

VALUE FOR MONEY

It's difficult to evaluate. We paid just over £40 per night, which, were this hotel in England, would be good. However, given that the hotel is in Thailand, and hotels in Asia are normally significantly cheaper than there Western counterparts, the hotel didn't represent particularly good value for money in that respect.

OVERALL

The hotel was an average to good place to stay that isn't too expensive and is relatively hassle free.

KATA BEACH

A note to those considering visiting the Kata Beach area: it's very, very touristy, and very, very commercialised; doe-eyed 10-year old locals will try to sell you roses at every opportunity, men will try to entice you into their 'real Gucci and Armani' shops, old ladies will try to sell you arts/crafts/lanterns, and eating in the centre of town will normally see you bothered 8-12 times per meal. Obviously many people don't mind this, and even enjoy it, but from our perspective, Kata Beach was simply too commercialised and touristy to merit another visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adamp_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    18
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

.....the value for money paid made the whole Kata Beach area over-priced. The Kata Minta had very friendly and helpful staff and the rooms were satisfactory basic rooms although much higher priced than in other areas in SE Asia. The hotel fronts on a busy street and has restaurants and bars in the area so the front rooms can be noisy. The location is great, however, close to the beach and shopping areas and there are lots of really good places to eat - two of them right next door to the hotel. Breakfasts were freshly cooked. Beaches are crowded - wall-to-wall umbrellas line the whole bay as far as the eye can see. Great people watching! Good tours to surrounding islands available from street vendors.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We stayed at the Kata Minta for a week. It is 5 minutes walk to the beach and close to all the amenities you might need - coffee shops, restaurants, corner shops.
The room was large and clean, though worn I suppose. The bathroom was servicable, if not luxurious in any way. We had airconditioning (this actually broke down one afternoon and they gave us a floorstanding fan and fixed the aircon first thing the next morning which is great service!)
The staff were always friendly and helpful - they made all the tour/trip arrangements for us and were happy to add it to our bill for payment on checkout.
All in all, the kata minta is a pleasant place to stay and excellent value for money. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need all the frills.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orpheus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Closer to 3.5/5

- 2 minute walk to the beach
- Sauna and jacuzzi
- Nice food
- The staff are very friendly but it would help to know the area a little more. No map of Kata or Phuket provided.
- Showerhead and taps were covered in some mould. I did ask for this to be cleaned but nothing was done.

Travellers who go to Thailand for a more cultural experience may find Kata, and Phuket, a little bit to western or "touristy".

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

Kata Minta was a fantastic value. To get clean and nice rooms that are only a few minutes walk from the beach was great! The staff was friendly enough and it was quiet.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — good quality for value
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TeachL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

We stayed at Kata Minta for 4 nights and overall the stay was very pleasant. It was kind of home away from home. Greatest part was close proximity to beach. Not more than 3-4 minute walk.

The staffs were excellent. The lady at the reception was attentive. Another one who cleaned the room was thorough in her job. After usual cleaning, she used to keep hand towels in different styles (at times she will make Swan of that).

Also, one first day when I complained to hotel staff about the untidy toilet seat (some spots), they changed it the very next day.

We had good American breakfast at hotel restaurant.

Few negatives (these can be overlooked though):-

1. There is hardly any parking space. However, there is a decent public parking near by (around 3-4 minute walk).

2. The balcony of the room faces the wall of another building. And one can hear the conversations of other building if balcony is left open. So, better to keep it closed.

All in all, I will stay there again and would recommend it to people who are not looking forward for luxuries of the big hotel. If you are looking for neat/beautiful room at a convenient location and this is the place to be.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mini15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parainen, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

We stayed in Kata Minta only for one day/night, while waiting for our Liveaboard crew to pick us up.
The hotel was recommended by the Dive corp. and for a good reason! Stylish Thai decor, warm and hospitable personnel and neat location. Very well worth the money!

  • Liked — The Thai decor
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FinnishCoupleOulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.0 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kata Resort
The Kata Resort
#7 of 8 in Karon Beach
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#34 of 56 in Kata Beach
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa e Mare
Casa e Mare
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Minta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Minta

Property: Kata Minta
Address: 156,158,160 Moo 2, Patak Road | Kata Beach, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Minta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Sawasdee, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kata Minta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minta Hotel Kata
Kata Minta Hotel
Kata Minta Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing