We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kata Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$104
US$87
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foto Hotel(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metadee Resort and Villas(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beyond Resort Kata(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Flora Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Andaman Cannacia Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palmery Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
117
141
66
17
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
141
66
17
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub medbeach towelsbusy roadbungalowkatarenovationfrogs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

For the past 10 years I've been to 3, 4 and 5 stars hotel in Spain, France, Austria, Portugal, Egypt, Mexico, India (twice), Turkey, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Vietname, Cambodja, Morocco (twice), Italy... I've never seen anything like this.

It shouldn't even be considered a 3* hotel. Drunks hanging around at night... We arrived there at 2am (with my 78 years old grandmother) and we couldn't stand the room, the smell... even though we were so tired. We left.

I posted some pictures, please, make sure you check them before you make a reservation. They speak for themselves.

Description of the pictures I posted: 'the wardrobe', 'open sewer next to rooms 36, 37, 38', 'horrible bathroom', 'very poor standart room', 'tin roof in the awful dining room'.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rebeca_PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The overwhelming stench of tired drains pervades this resort. The mozzies are everywhere and the rooms are not free of them either. Breakfast is plentiful if very boring and dessicated and presented in an unappetising manner. Staff are surly, except for Mr Title, the assistant general manager, who knows how to smile and to provide freindly and prompt service. The pool is very warm and not refreshing for a dip at any time. The Russian tourists love this hotel and they are not very friendly either. The lotus lake, a work in progress looks like a dried out bog, very ugly. The entrance to the hotel is vile, a good clean down might help and sympathetic decor in the restuarant might help too. We had dinner there once, and found it quite bland. Dont worry if the bed is comfortable the air conditioning will keep you awake all night, so loud but over efficient, the room was a fridge!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

This will be my shortest review to date..

Stay elsewhere as it is just not worth being eaten alive by Mosquitos and using the wifi in the foyer only and the horrible breakfast in a dingy cafeteria.

We stayed in a cabin which is just ok but they have new rooms opposite that look a lot better.

If you have to stay here maybe try them instead of the cabins as they are terrible.

As a couple cheap is definitely not always the best wAy to go.

We checked out after our first night as my wife was covered in mosquito bites and the place was quite dirty. Eventhough we paid for a week no refund or apology was given for the poor presentation of our "deluxe cabin" so to be honest absolutely disgusted by the way we were treated and would not recommend this hotel to anyone as there is sooooo many other options available that are far better value for money than this one.

Stay away!!!!! Or trust in the other reviews which I can not understand how there stay was so different to ours.

We stayed at 4 hotels during our 4 week stay in Thailand and this was by far the absolute worst experience we ever had.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mdjwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

If you are looking for above average affordable Mid -Range resort accommodation in family friendly Kata Beach then "Kata Country House" ticks all the boxes. Very clean, servicable rooms, attentive staff, nice grounds and pool area (with the mandatory swim up bar and poolside dining) with an affordable restaurant. Couldnt complain..want better then pay a lot more.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Just finishing three weeks in Thailand, and this was our worst hotel experience! Stayed in about 10 hotels this trip. Check in was smooth, but upon arrival to our room, it smelled as if someone just finished smoking a cigarette in there, and the toilet was clogged and would not flush. We went back to the front desk and after some haggling they did offer another room which had a good toilet and no cigarette smell, and we settled in for one night.

We went out for a short walk to explore the area, and when we got back, the electricity (and air conditioning) were off, in our room, and half the property. It was hot and humid too! No one came around to tell us anything, offer flashlights or candles - and upon visiting the front desk, they said they expected it to be back on in about 3 hours (around 8:30pm) so we were forced to go walking again, as there is no air conditioning anywhere on the property - except in your room.

The property has many pools of stagnant water around and lots of plant life in a jungle like setting. While this looks nice, it also makes for a mosquito haven! (Which is why we couldn't sit out in front of our room when the electricity went off, we were getting eaten up!) The pool was almost unusable due to the amount of mosquitoes; you had to remain in the water. Further, the room was full of mosquitoes making sleeping difficult. We never had the door open after our arrival (we were careful to quickly close it upon entering and leaving the room) but they were there already somehow. I realize there are lots of mosquitoes in Thailand but this problem is manageable as our other accommodations had managed them better. We killed as many as possible and went to bed. My husband awoke at 2am with at least 10 bites around his head and lips and face, the only exposed area, and I had the same. We were then unable to sleep the rest of the night because of the constant attacks. We even put on DEET repellant which stopped them for awhile, we fell back to sleep... but they came back and we awoke with more bites. This hotel is doing nothing to control them it seems.

On a positive note, the front desk staff was helpful in arranging a taxi (turned out to be their private air conditioned car) to the Rassada Pier the next morning for 500baht. And the included breakfast was good (though no eggs).

Paid $93 USD for this room and it was only worth maybe $50 USD. No safe in room, safety deposit boxes at front desk. WIFI only available in Lobby/restaurant area. The sheets were a dingy white, couldn't be sure they were clean, and our bottom sheet had been repaired/sewn, with a three foot seam in it; Didn't make me feel any better about this hotel. This is a 1 or 2 star hotel at best! Can't recommend it.

Room Tip: There are newer rooms towards the front of the property/on the right side as you walk through it; I would try those for sure! (Also those rooms' electricity did not go out when ours did)
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSS949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews