We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like living next to the back of a Wal-Mart or Carrefour”
Review of Kata Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kata Country House
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like living next to the back of a Wal-Mart or Carrefour”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Everyone starts a review off by saying how nice the staff was. Yes, the staff was nice, but it must be remembered that almost everyone in Thailand is polite and kind, almost to a fault. We rented a bungalow for five days, close to the front but still fortunately far enough away from the traffic noise. It was roomy, but as basic as a tent -- no phone in room, no electrical outlets in bathroom, with a small TV still festoned with showroom stickers. There were chinks in the walls, providing a freeway for mosquitoes to pour in throughout the night. The bathroom was also semi-open, which meant that it couldn't be air conditioned. The safety latch on the door was hanging by a single screw, so we were careful to always use the free safe deposit boxes at the front (large enough for a laptop), although it was a bit of a pain to always be asking the staff to open the boxes. A driveway extends through the middle of the facility, and all day long there is an endless variety of trucks and cars -- laundry trucks, food trucks, garbage trucks, pickup trucks, landscaping trucks, delivery trucks going in and out, just like it was the back of a shopping mart. You have to go to the front desk to use the wireless, and the staff never could get it to work with my Mac. Bed was OK, but probably needs replacing, along with the frayed towels. Breakfast was also basic -- only plain omelets, no cheese, ham, onion, green peppers, etc. Even fruit, which is cheap and plentiful in Thailand, was limited to pineapple, watermelon and bananas. I would have given it three stars for passable but a last-minute incident soured me on the place. We had left a small drinking glass from the room by the pool, and the hotel insisted on charging me 100 Baht. I live in Malaysia, and travel frequently to Thailand, and this was the worst mid-range hotel I've ever stayed at. Bottom line: You won't have a bad experience here, but neither will you have an experience that matches what you are expecting from a wonderful vacation to Thailand, which I love immensely.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aspennow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    128
    59
    12
    25
See reviews for
84
134
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

If you want to be in the heart of the Kata action this is a great location. Having said that we were at the back of the resort and it was very quiet.

I thought the rooms, especially the bathrooms were a bit tired and in need of some refurb. We had a concrete bungalow as we like the point of having a room that is not part of a hotel block.

For the price, good location, restaurant and poolside area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbuckle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I echo the several proceeding reviews to mine --- great place, the country-like setting truly removes you from the busy main streets of Kata Beach. The grounds are absolutely lovely, lots of attention to detail. The location is good, not far from the beach and several restaurants nearby. 7-11 is nearby and useful for water and beer! Staff are fantastic and were really sweet. Breakfast was adequate, the restaurant good but the food a bit bland for Thai food as they likely cater to the Northern European palate. Our bungalow room was very nice, I've posted some photos of the bunglow and grounds. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackDahlia47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

I stayed 2 weeks in Thailand in various places and Kata Country House was by far the best! I loved the garden environment, the extremely helpful and gracious staff, and my room was perfect. You can rent a scooter from them for just 300 baht a day (about $9 US) and have the staff arrange all your tours and activities. I went specifically for snorkeling and Kata Beach had some good spots on the northern tip of beach. It takes only a couple minutes to walk there from the hotel. Location and hotel is very serene and quiet... which is rare in Phuket!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skailines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Convenient location and yet the hotel grounds make you feel like you've stepped away from the hustle and bustle and into a forest. Rooms are fairly basic but comfortable and tasteful. They are extremely clean and have great great air-conditioning! Staff are very cheerful and helpful. Two nice pools and there's always a spare deck chair - don't need to get up early! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yonyonPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springwood, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We only experienced friendly and helpful service at Kata Country house - we stayed for five days while we shopped and sorted out tailoring, and to return to the quiet and calm of KCH was just lovely. We had a poolside room which was perfect for us - with kids in and out of the pool when we were there - but many other rooms were just as appealing - the ones around the small lagoon at the back would leave you feeling a million miles away from markets and tuk tuks. We couldn't fault the cleaning, or service, but communication issues at the in house spa (good value) led to some misunderstandings. The breakfast buffet was basic, but adequate - as was the restaurant. The location was handy to the beach and all the main business activity of Kata, including a bookstore and 7-11 right out the front, and markets a block away. Given that it was so lush and that there were so many ponds I expected mozzies, but the twice weekly spray seemed pretty effective. I'd stay there again, not expecting big resort facilities, but for quiet, efficient service in beautiful surrounds - close to the action, but not immersed in it. For quickest route to the beach turn right then left, and walk along the canal at the edge of Club Med. Less interesting, but slightly quicker.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evermorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

The hotel is really great. Situated first you don´t expect such a beautiful garden. There are even two terrific pools! The rooms (even our Standard Room) are clean and lovely decorated!
The beach is a five minute walk and 7 eleven ist just beside the hotel. On the way to the beach you can find very easily Tuk Tuk driver and little shops, restaurants and many more!
I almost forgot the breakfast... it´s buffet and you can get as much coffee and juices and food as you can eat! Fresh fruits and a lot more provide you a good start in the day! :)
Go there and enjoy! BTW, we didn´t try it, but the restaurant is supposed to be very delicious (there were every evening a lot of people in there!)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simsl950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.3 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#28 of 56 in Kata Beach
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#25 of 56 in Kata Beach
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#91 of 134 in Karon
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rico's Bungalows
Rico's Bungalows
#45 of 56 in Kata Beach
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#49 of 56 in Kata Beach
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Country House

Property: Kata Country House
Address: 82 Kata Road | Tambon Karon, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Country House Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Country Hotel
Kata Country House Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing