We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kata Sea Breeze Resort
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Filthy pool”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and staff at reception friendly, however the room had a musty old smell to it and the pool was so full of chemicals and chlorine our bathers were ruined by the bleaching from the chlorine while having a short swim!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    210
    87
    45
    21
See reviews for
225
205
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights
Rooms are clean and maintained.
Some staff friendly. Some have attitude like on restaurant.
Massage staff very rude and not friendly. So we had massages outside hotel.
Excellent food.
Pools might need more maintaining and cleaning.
Reception staff speak good English and very nice and helpful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Showtimetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A nice and good place to stay during your trip to Kata Beach, the cleaning could be better in the areas around the pools . Please respekt the opening hours for the pool area
But after all I will recomend it with both hands.

Room Tip: get one in building four or five :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bentepedersen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Really nice and good place. Room was clean and big. Had some problems with shower - as soon as i managed to inform information then it was fixed really fast. Close to the beach. Breakfast was good. Recommend it with both hands.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank purejenkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotell is à katastrofe. The resepiton staff is so rude it. is unaccetable!! We have to wait until one a clock at night to get bed linnen For the children. IF you sant to book this hotel make sure that you get à room in the new part because the old buildings have mildue in the walls. This has been the worst hotell i have stayd in ever because of the staff. They do not evan speak english!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadjakvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Checking in early morning after a long flight was effortless and customer-friendly. Smiling reception staff (girls) were efficient with minimal fuss.
The hotel is made up of at least 5 buildings stretched out along a green, tree-lined park walkway interspaced with swimmingpools for adults and kids (with bars, jacuzzi and sunbeds). My building, E-block, was the end building about 5 minutes' walk from reception. The lifts were always working well and my floor was the 5th - the top floor.
My room was spacious - I had a double as single - and was minimalistic, modern and comfortable. The balcony overlooked the pool area and across the neighbouring field and then ending with a nice view of the Big Buddha hill. The A/C worked well and the bathroom was equipped with bathtub and shower, plenty of towels (also blue towels for swimmingpool and beach use), complimentary cosmetics excluding hair conditioner, and a hair drier in the drawer in the bedroom. Storage space was adequate and with a safety deposit box. Complimentary water was provided and could be used when making tea or coffee using the water-cooker. The fridge was very useful for storing drinks and food and there was no minibar in my room (and who really needs a minibar in Phuket?). The bed was enormous and comfortable (maybe a bit hard) and the TV had 50 channels including foreign language programmes (mainly sport and news). If you found the lack of chairs in the bedroom a problem when watching TV, the 2 chairs on the balcony could be used. Room massage was available as well as full laundry service. I missed free WiFi in my room (apparently available at an extra cost) but used the free internet in the lobby.
I ate breakfast each day in the spacious but busy restaurant and breakfast for me was adequate with cereals, egg and bacon, toast and jam, coffee, tea, juice, milk, etc. I think most people found what they liked but sometimes the buffet area was overcrowded and hectic. Incidentally I was surprised at how greedy some people were with 3 tongfulls ("handfulls") of bacon but I guess they wanted to fill up for the day and save having to buy lunch.
There were special evening dinners with a theme: Thai, Italian or just musical, on alternative evenings (350 bht for an adult) but there were an amazing number of excellent restaurants surrounding the hotel and all over Kata so who would want to stay and eat in the hotel restaurant anyway? I noticed many groups of Russians in the hotel who ate shop-bought food on the green areas surrounding the pools in the evenings and there was a 7-11 very near as well as stalls selling all sorts of Thai food at street prices.
The location was perfect with 10 minutes' walk to the beach (turn left, follow this road and turn right when you see the stone elephants outside a big hotel almost on the beach). If you turn right when exiting the hotel you come to the town center. Do not take the short cut from near the town center to the beach!!!! If you do you will walk along a contaminated stream that smells vile and empties into the sea as this will put you off swimming there!
In fact I would suggest you either use only the left-hand side of the beach at Kata or even better, take a tuktuk to Nai Harn beach instead as this is a pretty beach with clean water and everything you could want with regards to buying food and drinks.

Room Tip: I suggest a room in a building near reception as building E is a bit inconvenient - at the end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vikingdave100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review on our last day in the hotel. We have been to this hotel many times before as a couple, and now we are here for the first time with our 3 small children. We had a flight from Sweden to Phuket and wanted to stay a couple of days here before traveling on .... Turned out we stayed here the whole 14 days ! Kids loved it and we did . Sure the breakfast can be a bit better but the rooms and hotel areas are superb. Pools , free wifi in the reception and all services in the hotel are professional and up to any standard. If you order food in the restaurant , or call In Room service there is no extra charge! Very friendly staff and very good value , but I have the urge while reading bad reviews from other guests in this hotel to say that if you want European food and empty European smiles go to Spain , don't come to Asia ! Great great hotel !!! And we are Swedish so we demand quality !

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Norbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kata Beach
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Sea Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Sea Breeze Resort

Property: Kata Sea Breeze Resort
Address: 72 Kata Rd. | Karon District, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kata Sea Breeze Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Sea Breeze Resort is perfectly nestled between the golden sands of Kata beach and the green inland hills. Offering excellent value for money, Kata Sea Breeze Resort is a cozy place to stay with 330 guest rooms and suites, 4 swimming pools (one with a swim up pool bar), pool bar and restaurant dining, signature 'Z' bar and a relaxing indoor and outdoor spa. A few moment s walk will bring you to centre of Kata and the beach just beyond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Sea Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Sea Breeze Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Sea Breeze Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing