We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay near Kata Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Fried Rice
Ranked #2 of 60 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good stay near Kata Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed there 2 days this august. Weather was bad so we didn't get out much. The hotel keepers are really nice and helpful which I'd say is the best about this hotel. The room was great as well, absolutely no noise, comfy for a cheap hotel too. There were only two bad points: some clothes had run onto the others, and we had troubles on the bus we booked from the hotel to get to Surat Thani, the ride was total hell and in addition we got robbed just like everyone… Minus that our overall stay was good!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmogwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    60
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
97
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
katikati
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

From the begin our experience was nice, enjoying lovely meals at the restorant ( the best Chicken cashews nut that i tried in my stay in Thailand ) , we stayed 6 nights at this hostel. Everything absolutely clean and really safe, such a big room and bathroom. Nice breakfast at the morning, good company and interesting talking with the owners, really cheap scooter rental. They are always helpfull, definetly a good place, can't wait to come back. Good location close to the beach and everything around. In resume : Lovely stay, totally reccommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmaEdelweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Nice place, liked the kitchen, if your vegetarian make sure to tell the chef!

Nice owner aswell. all good!

I was solo backpacking and didnt like phuket very much, but kata is a nice beach and all the other accomodations around where meh.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merijn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay at Southern Fried Rice a few weeks ago. The room that I booked was unavailable, but the owner put us in a nicer suite for the same price. Free breakfast and pool table were also pluses.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
226 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Taxi driver had a little trouble finding the place and ended up dropping us outside the night plaza and leaving us to our own devices. Saying that if you ask to be dropped at the night plaza it is really easy to find. The plaza itself is nice and away from the road, Kata itself is a great place and the perfect base from which to explore the island.

Hotel was good over all. Had some trouble with communication when we asked for help booking the local bus to Bangkok instead of the tourist VIP but apart from that they were friendly and accommodating. The rooms are decent, clean and decent sized. The bathrooms are also good and spotlessly clean.

The pool table downstairs is a nice touch.

Room Tip: We had room one and there was building work going on outside the window. It didn't bother us but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in September 2012. Terje, the guesthouse owner, is great! He sent for a driver to pick me up at the airport, and even called my home phone to confirm the time. He is a very interesting and knowledgeable man. He took me out shopping with his son and we played many, MANY games of pool together. He can book you trips for a discounted price and even drove me around the island a couple different times. He offered that if I ever needed an emergency taxi he could call his driver for me.

I never felt alone during my stay. There are always other people staying there to chat with. I unexpectedly made a friend with an Aussie guy staying there.

The food is good at the restaurant. I believe you get free continental breakfast. However, the price of water is much cheaper at local convenience stores in the area than it is from any restaurant! Save yourself some money!

As others have said its a 2 minute walk to the beach. You just exit the guesthouse, and walk across the street and there's a path that goes directly there. It's a very lovely beach, especially if you visit during the low season like I did.

The guesthouse also has three computers with internet that you can use for free as a guest. I didn't bring a laptop with me and these computers were my connection to my friends back home.

Did I mention that my ATM card wasn't working and that Terje waited over 48 hours, letting me sleep in the room, before collecting his payment? That's right, he granted me a FREE bed and meals, while trusting that I would pay him back. Furthermore, whenever I ate at the guesthouse restaurant he would have the kitchen staff "add it to my tab". And then I would pay for a couple night's rent and several meals all at once, whenever it was convenient to me.

Terje is a great guy, and a world champion of sorts at speed chess. I was amazed at how comforted I was in his presence, being an introvert and relatively inexperienced travelling. I think anyone who stays here will feel like they have a true friend caring for them and willing to help out and do and share whatever he can.

I highly recommend staying here. Even though I was in Phuket studying abroad for 4 months, the first 5 days that I stayed at Kata beach in Terje's Southern Fried Rice Guesthouse are among my favorite memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

After a bit of confusion at check in we were shown to our clean, spacious room. Great air-con and
a comfy bed.
There were tiny ants by the sink and in the fridge (which smelt awful, probably because when you take the key out the power turns off-including the fridge).
Our safe broke but we were told 'we were just doing it wrong'.
Really friendly woman who seemed to be running the place and nice to have the option of fruit and not just toast for breakfast.
Sadly when we ate at the restaurant the food took an hour (no exaggeration) to come. The food was nice but the dishes came at different times.
The friendly woman booked our onward travel, which was really easy but we were told the wrong pickup time so could have missed the bus-not sure who was at fault there.
Great location but beware the airport mini-bus doesn't know where it is so make sure you have info to hand.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixpix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kata Bai D
Kata Bai D
#1 of 60 in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Fried Rice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Fried Rice

Property: Southern Fried Rice
Address: 100 / 14 - 15 Kata Road | Kata Night Bazaar, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Southern Fried Rice 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Fried Rice is a recently established guesthouse situated at Kata Beach, the most beautiful beach on Thailand's idyllic Phuket Island. Moments from the beach, and featuring spacious, clean, comfortable rooms, modern en-suite bathrooms, outstanding Thai and international cuisine, free wi-fi high speed internet and many more attractions, Southern Fried Rice is the ideal hostel from which to explore Phuket. We have PC stations in our property and it is Free of Charge as well. There is a top quality pool table, 42' plasma TV screen with surround sound and a computerized sound system with all your favourite music. For intellectual stimulation we are hosting the Phuket Chess Club, with frequent blitz tournaments and we are planning regular Thai language lessons. There is access to Kata Day Spa, and a great variety of nightlife available within walking distance of the guesthouse. We also hire out motorcycles for the more adventurous to range out over Thailand's biggest island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Southern Fried Rice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Fried Rice Hotel Kata Beach
Southern Fried Rice Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing