We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
386
13
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
386
13
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews janie and mike hot tub the main house attention to detail private garden cake other guests free standing bath romantic break lost gardens of heligan self contained family wedding made us feel huge bed the wow factor by chance sat nav
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We enjoyed a lovely week in the Garden Suite, having been made very welcome by Janie and Mike, our room was very comfortable, the fresh milk and coffee a particularly nice touch. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the home made granola. We look forward to going back soon.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Hi guys thank you so much for your kind words we really appreciate them. Have a great year
x janie mike jake jazz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is a lovely part of Cornwall with quaint village, Mevagissey, nearby and stunning coastal cliff walks. The guest lodge is so pretty and very special. We had a delicious meal in the outside stone building warmed by a log fire and decorated with fairy lights, bunting and fur rugs. Absolutely stunning. We had a great outdoor hot tub too, with a view of the pretty garden. Janie and Mike are friendly, interesting and welcoming. We got a chance to get the 4x4 muddy too on one of the roads used by tractors usually! There is also a normal easier route however!

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words we really appreciated them. Thats why we love having you guys to stay . Have a good year x janie mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

From the time I arrived i felt at home, Jaynie the host was warm, friendly and eager to ensure my stay was the best it could be. I opened the bedroom door and said WOW, the vibrant colours enticed me in and the ecclectic mix of furnishings gave it a homely feel. I dined in and the good hearty home fare did not disappoint. The chocolate cake was to die for! Breakfast was fab, thick bacon and butchers sausages made it a real treat.
At present there is expansion afoot, it did not interfere with my stay and after walking around the next phase which should be complete by mid April, I cannot wait to book again and try it out. Both Jaynie and Mike were brilliant hosts, this place deserves to be full 365 days a year, AMAZING!

Room tip: The whole place is immaculate, Nook and Cranny which is currently being finished is going to be a real love nest, I shall be trying it out :)
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

It was so lovely to meet you, May your journey be a good one on which ever path you choose . Thank you for your wonderful words much appreciated. x janie mike jake and jazz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We had a great relaxing break at Lower Barn! We were warmly welcomed by Mike & Janie who showed us to the Hideaway just a short walk from the main house. The room was large with a great en-suite fitted with a huge bath and plenty of quality toiletries which we were keen to try out. The room was quirky with bright and cheerful quality furnishings that made it a fun place to stay. Location very good, close to Heligan on a quiet lane. Breakfast great with nicely presented local produce and a very tasty starter of a fruit platter and tasty homemade granola. Janie really looked after us and we could see they put their heart and soul in making sure guests have everything they could possibly want during their stay. (including dvd's, dressing gowns, toiletries, tea/coffee and bottled water, and even a torch for venturing to the car in the evening) We would love to go back one day and we wish them well during the season!

Room tip: Hideaway was very cosy with an amazing bath!
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Sorry its taken me a while to thank you but didn't relies i could .We appreciate your time.

Janie mike lower barn x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This was just the most AMAZING place, I don't know where to start! Stunningly beautiful and peaceful surroundings. Gorgeous rooms and décor, clean, cosy, quirky just amazing. We made good use of the hot tub, were made to feel ever so welcome. Had dinner in the barn which was so beautiful I genuinely was taken aback! Stunningly done, everything from delicious food, hot water bottles and blankets by an open fire, I really can't recommend this place enough. This may not be the most articulately written piece, but I really can't put into words how fabulous this place is in every way!!!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews