We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem just off beaten track”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint Ewe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem just off beaten track”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Fed-up with reading long reviews, so gonna keep this short! (plus lots of the other guests have already covered our points!).

Room was excellent (superking bed, big tv and unusual decor which really worked). Everything was really good quality, from the hot-tub to the locally sourced food.

We were made to feel really welcome and found Janie was a lovely host and the little family dog was sooo cute, we could almost have dog-napped her!

The location is amazing, because it is wonderfully remote, yet only a few minutes from the main roads and there are plenty of pubs and restaurants in the local village to please most people.

Room Tip: Ask for sat-nav coordinates as postcode doesn't always pick it up easily!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Just a little thank you for your kind words we really appreciate them and loved having you stay at lower barns x janie mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
233
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a lovely weekend away in Cornwall, having stayed in the garden suite room. Lower Barn is in the middle of nowhere, but is still easy to find and it is in a beautiful and tranquil setting. The first thing you experience on arrival is the fantastic and well kept garden, which on a sunny day, you could relax in, or if its a bit chillier, pop into the hot tub for some more relaxation. The host, Janie goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome. She showed us to our room which was clean, warm and welcoming with lots of quirky features. The garden suite is situated within the main house, and has a super king sized bed, en-suite and conservatory area with two comfy chairs and a tv. The conservatory area has a pitched glass roof, allowing lots of light into the room. At breakfast you sit with other guests at a large table in the main living area and a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice awaits you each morning. There is plenty to eat, from fresh fruit and yogurt, to home made granola and a freshly made full English brekkie. We used it as a base to explore most of Cornwall, from Lands End, St Ives, to New Quay and Port Isaac. If you are looking for an excellent quality, clean, friendly, quirky and relaxing place to stay, you need to look no further. We will definitely be coming back!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fulltimetourist79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Just a little thank you guys for your kind words we really appreciate them. janie mike x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We enjoyed a lovely week in the Garden Suite, having been made very welcome by Janie and Mike, our room was very comfortable, the fresh milk and coffee a particularly nice touch. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the home made granola. We look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSGrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hi guys thank you so much for your kind words we really appreciate them. Have a great year
x janie mike jake jazz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is a lovely part of Cornwall with quaint village, Mevagissey, nearby and stunning coastal cliff walks. The guest lodge is so pretty and very special. We had a delicious meal in the outside stone building warmed by a log fire and decorated with fairy lights, bunting and fur rugs. Absolutely stunning. We had a great outdoor hot tub too, with a view of the pretty garden. Janie and Mike are friendly, interesting and welcoming. We got a chance to get the 4x4 muddy too on one of the roads used by tractors usually! There is also a normal easier route however!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words we really appreciated them. Thats why we love having you guys to stay . Have a good year x janie mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAR, CORNWALL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

From the time I arrived i felt at home, Jaynie the host was warm, friendly and eager to ensure my stay was the best it could be. I opened the bedroom door and said WOW, the vibrant colours enticed me in and the ecclectic mix of furnishings gave it a homely feel. I dined in and the good hearty home fare did not disappoint. The chocolate cake was to die for! Breakfast was fab, thick bacon and butchers sausages made it a real treat.
At present there is expansion afoot, it did not interfere with my stay and after walking around the next phase which should be complete by mid April, I cannot wait to book again and try it out. Both Jaynie and Mike were brilliant hosts, this place deserves to be full 365 days a year, AMAZING!

Room Tip: The whole place is immaculate, Nook and Cranny which is currently being finished is going to be a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
It was so lovely to meet you, May your journey be a good one on which ever path you choose . Thank you for your wonderful words much appreciated. x janie mike jake and jazz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Devon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We had a great relaxing break at Lower Barn! We were warmly welcomed by Mike & Janie who showed us to the Hideaway just a short walk from the main house. The room was large with a great en-suite fitted with a huge bath and plenty of quality toiletries which we were keen to try out. The room was quirky with bright and cheerful quality furnishings that made it a fun place to stay. Location very good, close to Heligan on a quiet lane. Breakfast great with nicely presented local produce and a very tasty starter of a fruit platter and tasty homemade granola. Janie really looked after us and we could see they put their heart and soul in making sure guests have everything they could possibly want during their stay. (including dvd's, dressing gowns, toiletries, tea/coffee and bottled water, and even a torch for venturing to the car in the evening) We would love to go back one day and we wish them well during the season!

Room Tip: Hideaway was very cosy with an amazing bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janie C, Owner at Lower Barns Boutique B&B, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Sorry its taken me a while to thank you but didn't relies i could .We appreciate your time.

Janie mike lower barn x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Elle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This was just the most AMAZING place, I don't know where to start! Stunningly beautiful and peaceful surroundings. Gorgeous rooms and décor, clean, cosy, quirky just amazing. We made good use of the hot tub, were made to feel ever so welcome. Had dinner in the barn which was so beautiful I genuinely was taken aback! Stunningly done, everything from delicious food, hot water bottles and blankets by an open fire, I really can't recommend this place enough. This may not be the most articulately written piece, but I really can't put into words how fabulous this place is in every way!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ewe
3.0 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
453 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
5.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
14.3 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
173 reviews
15.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Barns Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Barns Boutique B&B

Property: Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Address: | St Ewe, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Saint Ewe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lower Barns Boutique B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a romantic and rural hidden corner of Cornwall, Lower Barns is a boutique hideaway unlike any other. The perfect escape from the world outside, Lower Barns promises a magical retreat for you. Enjoy fresh breakfast, countryside walks, watch movies from large comfortable beds and indulge in a therapeutic massage or facial. As day turns into night, sample sumptuous dinners by the open fire in the intimacy of The Shack, followed by gazing at shooting stars while soaking in the open air hot tub.Ours is a place unlike any other. For an elopement wedding, hen party with exclusive use, honeymoon heaven, rekindling the romance or simply a sanctuary away from the world outside. Turn up, switch off, kick back and enjoy a boutique escape in Cornwall at Lower Barns, an indulgent idyllic retreat....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Lower Barns Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Barns Boutique B&B Cornwall/Saint Ewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing